Dr. Maurits Wiersema MD Patient Reviews

Overall Review

4.2
  • 37 patient ratings
  • 13 comments

Last 12 months:

4.4 (+ 0.2)

13 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    73%
  • Satisfied
    8%
  • Neutral
    0%
  • Dissatisfied
    5%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    14%
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Wait Time 25.1 minutes

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

5.0 of 5
June 6th, 2016
He is top-notch!
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr Wiersema set himself apart from the start. He told me what he thought my problem was, what to expect, and to call if. He is thorough and unhurried. I actually feel like he is personally concerned about his patients. He is also on the cutting edge of technology. He is one of the best if not the best doctor I have seen and I have seen a lot.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 25th, 2016
A great Dr.
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Wiersema was instrumental in saving my life and finding out my Pancreatic tumors were benign and referred me to a good surgeon who definitely saved my life.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
February 4th, 2016
Mad!!
My dad was in CICU at Lutheran Hospital. Dr Wiersema was called to my dads room because of a swallowing problem. Dr Wiersema literally yelled as my dad, told him he didn't want to hear my dads "stories" and virtually called my dad a liar! This was very unprofessional in the least. Yelling at a cardiac patient?? I wouldn't recommend any doctor who treats their patients in this manner.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
August 12th, 2015
Wait time
56 minutes
After driving 60 miles one way, being poked, prodded and hooked up to IV's etc., the nurse comes in and says they are out of Anesthesia and will have to reschedule for next week. I have never known a hospital to be OUT OF Anesthesia. Family members were told the doctor had to go to another hospital. So which lie is it? Our appointment was over a month in advance.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
April 1st, 2015
Charged unfairly
Wait time
50 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I went to the hospital with flank pain and was referred to Dr. Wiersema. I was in terrible pain, and his nurse couldn't get me scheduled for an appointment until 2 months after my ER visit. They eventually worked with me on a cancellation and thankfully got me in sooner. Dr. Wiersema ordered an upper endoscopy and specifically told me that we would not do a biopsy because I am so young. I arrived for my procedure and was told THAT DAY that I had to pay $575. I did. It was also not explained to me that I would be billed from not only the office he works at, but the hospital they are affiliated with. I waited for over an hour in the waiting room before I was called back. The nurses were all very friendly. When I was in recovery Dr. Wiersema came in and said "Good news. It's a structure you've always had." That's it. That is ALL he said to me. He didn't explain any further what he meant, he just walked out. A few weeks later I received two bills in the mail and on one from his office was a huge charge for a biopsy. When I called the billing office and explained I was told I didn't get a biopsy, they referred me to his office. His normal nurse was out of office for the day, but another nurse told me they did, in fact, do two biopsies. I hadn't received any information other than the bill for them! I asked her if he spoke directly with patients and if I could ask him personally about this mix up and she said no! I will absolutely never use Lutheran Medical or Dr. Wiersema in the future. I have already paid over $700 out of pocket and am being unexpectedly billed for over $300 more.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
December 13th, 2013
Distal Pancreatectomy
I am sure Dr. Wiersema saved my life by diagnosing the removal of my distal or tail end of the Pancreas. I had a Psuedocyst ( lesion? ) Non cancerous but was growing quickly. He is one of only a few Dr.s that can do Endoscopic procedures for Biopsy of the Pancreas. He recommended One of the best Laproscopic Surgeons for this type of Surgery in the Midwest,which Dr. Sloan did in the Lutheran Hospital in Ft.Wayne, IN. Dr. Sloan removed the Distal portion of my Pancreas Laproscopically on a Monday and I was released on a Thursday. I can't say enough praise for these Dr.s.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
August 29th, 2013
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
He is an excellent physician highly regarded by other members of the medical community. He is incredibly intelligent with years of excellent experience. Would absolutely recommend him to anyone.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
October 4th, 2011
A WONDERFUL MAYO CLINIC TRAINED DOCTOR!
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Wiersema is awesome! He goes back to the Mayo Clinic every six months to catch up on what they've learned. We need more Mayo Clinic trained doctors in our area!!!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
December 2nd, 2010
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
tall handsome easy to talk to, great listener
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
September 8th, 2010
Highly recommend
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Overall provided excellent care and was extremely helpful in sorting out a rather difficult problem. Would recommend him to my family.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 10th, 2010
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Wiersema is a great doctor. He accurately diagnosed me after listening to my symptoms. He did a great job on my colonoscopy and really took the time to answer all my questions. He's very intelligent and anyone would be lucky to have him as their doctor.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
April 12th, 2009
Dull Personality Doctor
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
This is the worst bedside manner, non-friendly, non-smile doctor I have ever gone to see.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Maurits Wiersema, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Fort Wayne, IN.

Doctor

Dr. Vatche Israbian

29 years experience

5.0 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Tammie Stinson

17 years experience

4.2 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Srinivasan Devanathan

28 years experience

5.0 of 5