The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Max Shapiro Is this you?

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Max Shapiro?

Ratings and Reviews

10 Ratings with 5 Comments

  • Excellent
    4
  • Great
    0
  • Good
    0
  • Poor
    0
  • Bad
    6
  • Excellent
    4
  • Great
    0
  • Good
    0
  • Poor
    0
  • Bad
    6

Quality Rating

Neutral

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments
Wait Time
18 min

Showing 10 Ratings with 5 Comments

1.0 Rating

October 17th, 2016

Questionable Prescription Practices

He's very awkward first of all, which I can deal with. But he was about to prescribe me a life altering blood pressure medication for the rest of my life without trying any other alternatives like diet and losing weight. And I was two points over the normal range. This prescription has bothered me so much so that I decided to see a cardiologist who called the diagnosis "preposterous." I don't know why he is so obstinate in his ways but I'm glad I don't have to see him anymore. At least for blood pressure, get a second opinion.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

March 5th, 2015

Change PCP

He's awkward and not personable at all. He didn't explain thoroughly explain a procedure I was having done and seemed single-minded in medication versus lifestyle changes. One of the worst doctor experiences I've had.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

January 16th, 2015

AVOID

The entire staff is completely incompetent.

Wait time
35 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

November 8th, 2011

Ms. Dee C.

Dr. Max Shapiro has been my primary care physician for 23 years and he's a blessing in my life. He does speak very quickly and at times may be difficult to understand. Over the years I've gotten accustomed to it, but I do count him as among the 2 or 3 best things about my HMO.

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

October 25th, 2011

Either Dr Shapiro has too many patients or he simply doesn't care

When sick I found he is very difficult to reach. Doesn't return phone calls or has his nurse call several days later. Also, I am a confident person, but felt uneasy with Dr Shapiro during the physical. Strikes me as a wierd person. Anyway: I recommend finding another Dr.

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

January 5th, 2017

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

1.0 Rating

August 15th, 2016

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

5.0 Rating

January 22nd, 2015

5.0 Rating

May 10th, 2011

Wait time
25.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

1.0 Rating

August 31st, 2010

Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Max Shapiro is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Hawthorne, CA.

  • Dr. Nishanie Chalmers

    Family Medicine

    Hawthorne, CA 0 mi

    10
  • Dr. Jennifer Chan

    Dr. Jennifer Chan

    Family Medicine

    Hawthorne, CA 0 mi

    2.3
    (1)
    12
  • Dr. Derek Williams

    Family Medicine

    Hawthorne, CA 0.07 mi

    4.0
    (12)
    19