inactive

Max Van Gilder MD Patient Reviews

Vitals cannot verify whether or not this professional is currently practicing. We recommend that you attempt to contact the provider to verify their status. Please email us at support@vitals.com if you have any additional information.

Overall Review

3.9
  • 19 patient ratings
  • 8 comments

8 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    68%
  • Satisfied
    5%
  • Neutral
    0%
  • Dissatisfied
    5%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    21%
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Wait Time 15 minutes

Showing 1 - 8 reviews

1.0 of 5
October 31st, 2014
Misdiagnosis, mismanaged practice
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
We stopped taking our child to Dr Van Gilder for a number of reasons: he as a creepy, awkward bedside manner; his staff mishandled basic school vaccination forms; he misdiagnosed a speech delay in our son. Need I say more?
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
August 26th, 2014
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Van Gilder is awesome doctor. He is attentive and so knowledgeable and very update in modern medicine and medical technology. His level of accuracy in diagnosising illness is one of his key attributes for me. He would be an awesome psychologist as well. My children are now young adults (they just turned 20) and both my chilren and I are having a difficult time of letting go of Dr. Van Gilder.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
September 29th, 2013
14 years of good care
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Our son has always liked Dr. Van Gilder from the time he was a baby. Dr, Van Gilder has a comfortable relaxed manner and has always had time to listen to our concerns. He was also completely comfortable with adopting new approaches when we brought in a recent hot off the press research article. When our son's adenoids and tonsils were swollen to the point of causing sleep apnea, he quickly referred us to a great pediatric ENT. Personally I'm not as comfortable with the younger pediatricians who are sometimes too quick to recommend treatment without listening as carefully. One of the younger pediatricians unnecessarily sent our son to the dermatologist about a possible skin infection. I'm wondering if it was due to the comments of the reviewer below whose infant had the infection in question. While I can understand the parents of an infant being alarmed, it really is not a serious disease. The dermatologist pretty much confirmed what is on Web MD when he was baffled at why we had been referred to him. Yes you can treat it but it often goes away on its own.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 3rd, 2013
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I'm surprised by the negative reviews here. I have completely trusted Dr. Max since he first examined my son on the 2nd day of his life (he is 7 now). He totally gets my son's special needs. He has been both reassuring and helpful.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
November 12th, 2012
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
BEST DOCTOR IN THE WORLD HAS A LOT OF PATIENCE AND WILL TAKE AS LONG AS YOU NEED DURING A VISIT.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
June 7th, 2012
Wait time
25 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Van Gilder misdiagnosed a fairly serious infant skin disease (molescum) and insisted there were no effective treatments for it. The case got much worse and we went to a specialist who treated it quite quickly and effectively. This would suggest that he is not up to date and his manner in dealing with it was arrogant and uncaring -- a bad combination when accompanied by incompetence. The other doctors in the office seem better and younger. The office is something of a zoo.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
December 31st, 2010
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr Van Gilder is thoughtful, kind and sweet doctor. He has been enormously supportive of breastfeeding, and supportive of a natural approach to parenting. I like how intuitive he is with my newborn and very reassuring to us when there was a medical problem.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
April 13th, 2010
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
terrible bedside manner, scary to children, narcisstic, poorly groomed
Was this review helpful? Yes No