Dr. Mazen Itani MD Patient Reviews

  • Vascular and Interventional Radiology Hackettstown, NJ

Overall Rating

3.3
  • 16 patient ratings
  • 8 comments

Last 12 months:

4.0 (+ 0.7)

16 Patient Reviews

  • Excellent
    50%
  • Great
    6%
  • Good
    6%
  • Poor
    0%
  • Bad
    38%
  • Wait Time 23.6 minutes
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

5.0 of 5
May 3rd, 2015
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Diagnosed my wife and fixed her hernia
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 25th, 2015
Great doc
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Came in with twisted intestines nobody could figure out the problem except for Dr Itani, Kudos for him
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
February 5th, 2015
Read the fine print and watch your purse!
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Beware of this doctor!! He is as specialist at what is termed "Balance Billing". This means that if he is performing an emergency surgery as an out of network surgeon (which he is for just about everyone) he will hold YOU responsible for any amount your insurance company won't pay. About 5 months later, along with a bill, his office will then send you a form letter with instructions and an actual dialogue on how to fight with your insurance to get them to pay more. If you have a self-funded plan like many private companies do, legally they do not have to pay him the full amount that he wants - even if it is an emergency! This means you are on the hook for the rest and it can be quite a lot of money - much more than what is considered usual and customary. My advice; if the Hospital calls Dr. Itani in to perform any emergency surgery and you have an employer-funded plan, tell them you want someone else. And don't believe him if he says it all has to be covered by the insurance company. He did that with me and it was a lie. That is only if you have Medicare or Medicaid. If it is a private employer funded plan, they are under no legal obligation to pay and you are liable. Also, he makes you sign a contract with him right as you are going into surgery and will tell you it's just routine paperwork giving him permission to operate. A lot of his reviews mention that. Read the bottom paragraph, that is where you are agreeing to be "balance billed". Consider yourself warned....
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
October 3rd, 2012
Saved my life
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I went to the ER at Morristown Med Ctr. With abdominal pains. X-rays showed an intestinal obstruction. We tried relieving it with the naso-gastric tube, which sometimes works, to avoid surgery since I was a poor risk. I did need the surgery which was very complex due to adhesions. It was successful and my life was saved. He correctly predicted a long recovery but kept us informed in a timely manner. I had Medicare and had no insurance problems.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
September 6th, 2012
VERY Good Doc
Wait time
40 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I ended up on this page to confirm his address for the hacketstown location since I always see him in the Newton location. And was blown away with the nasty comments that were left. I have had only an EXCELLENT experience with Dr. Itani. He was highly recommended by another Dr. to me. The comments below reflect problems people have with insurance and payment and not the quality of this Dr. which is a shame. They did not have coverage and blame the doctor for their financial shortfalls and expect him to cover their shortfalls. Dr. Itani has done a great job with me and I would highly recommend him to anyone.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
September 5th, 2012
Human
Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Look for a better doctor..
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
January 3rd, 2011
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
A very intelligent doctor who listens to his patients. He takes the time to articulate what he's doing thoroughly and answers every question you may have.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
June 8th, 2008
Unhappy
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
What you think that you are getting is not the case here. What was discussed is not done and the front desk is rude. You are charged more if you don't pay in cash. Unless they decide to just take your copay. Nothing is upfront,you are told one thing then something else is done almost like a bait and switch.

4.0 of 5
February 12th, 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 23rd, 2016
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
December 8th, 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes No

3.0 of 5
May 4th, 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Mazen Itani, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Hackettstown, NJ.