ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr

The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Mazen Itani Is this you?

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Mazen Itani?

Lung Cancer

Get the facts about lung cancer, including how many people get it and what increases your risk for developing it.

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Mazen Itani?

Ratings and Reviews

16 Ratings with 8 Comments

  • Excellent
    8
  • Great
    1
  • Good
    1
  • Poor
    0
  • Bad
    6
  • Excellent
    8
  • Great
    1
  • Good
    1
  • Poor
    0
  • Bad
    6

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
23.6 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Showing 16 Ratings with 8 Comments

5.0 Rating

May 4th, 2015

Diagnosed my wife and fixed her hernia

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

March 25th, 2015

Great doc

Came in with twisted intestines nobody could figure out the problem except for Dr Itani, Kudos for him

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

February 5th, 2015

Read the fine print and watch your purse!

Beware of this doctor!! He is as specialist at what is termed "Balance Billing". This means that if he is performing an emergency surgery as an out of network surgeon (which he is for just about everyone) he will hold YOU responsible for any amount your insurance company won't pay. About 5 months later, along with a bill, his office will then send you a form letter with instructions and an actual dialogue on how to fight with your insurance to get them to pay more. If you have a self-funded plan like many private companies do, legally they do not have to pay him the full amount that he wants - even if it is an emergency! This means you are on the hook for the rest and it can be quite a lot of money - much more than what is considered usual and customary. My advice; if the Hospital calls Dr. Itani in to perform any emergency surgery and you have an employer-funded plan, tell them you want someone else. And don't believe him if he says it all has to be covered by the insurance company. He did that with me and it was a lie. That is only if you have Medicare or Medicaid. If it is a private employer funded plan, they are under no legal obligation to pay and you are liable. Also, he makes you sign a contract with him right as you are going into surgery and will tell you it's just routine paperwork giving him permission to operate. A lot of his reviews mention that. Read the bottom paragraph, that is where you are agreeing to be "balance billed". Consider yourself warned....

Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

October 3rd, 2012

Saved my life

I went to the ER at Morristown Med Ctr. With abdominal pains. X-rays showed an intestinal obstruction. We tried relieving it with the naso-gastric tube, which sometimes works, to avoid surgery since I was a poor risk. I did need the surgery which was very complex due to adhesions. It was successful and my life was saved. He correctly predicted a long recovery but kept us informed in a timely manner. I had Medicare and had no insurance problems.

Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

September 6th, 2012

VERY Good Doc

I ended up on this page to confirm his address for the hacketstown location since I always see him in the Newton location. And was blown away with the nasty comments that were left. I have had only an EXCELLENT experience with Dr. Itani. He was highly recommended by another Dr. to me. The comments below reflect problems people have with insurance and payment and not the quality of this Dr. which is a shame. They did not have coverage and blame the doctor for their financial shortfalls and expect him to cover their shortfalls. Dr. Itani has done a great job with me and I would highly recommend him to anyone.

Wait time
40.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

September 5th, 2012

Human

Look for a better doctor..

Wait time
30.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

January 3rd, 2011

A very intelligent doctor who listens to his patients. He takes the time to articulate what he's doing thoroughly and answers every question you may have.

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

June 9th, 2008

Unhappy

What you think that you are getting is not the case here. What was discussed is not done and the front desk is rude. You are charged more if you don't pay in cash. Unless they decide to just take your copay. Nothing is upfront,you are told one thing then something else is done almost like a bait and switch.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

4.0 Rating

February 12th, 2017

5.0 Rating

April 24th, 2016

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

1.0 Rating

December 8th, 2015

3.0 Rating

May 4th, 2015

  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Mazen Itani is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Hackettstown, NJ.

  • Dr. Eric Gross

    General Surgery

    Hackettstown, NJ 0.09 mi

    4.1
    (14)
    25
  • Dr. Ping Liu

    Dr. Ping Liu

    Internal Medicine, Hospitalist, General Surgery

    Hackettstown, NJ 0.12 mi

  • Dr. Jason Portnof

    Dr. Jason Portnof

    Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery, General Dentistry, General Surgery

    Hackettstown, NJ 0.14 mi

    4.7
    (23)
    7