Dr. Melanie Altizer MD Patient Reviews

  • Obstetrics and Gynecology Roanoke, VA

Overall Rating

3.6
  • 38 patient ratings
  • 18 comments

Last 12 months:

3.0 (-0.6)

38 Patient Reviews

  • Excellent
    53%
  • Great
    3%
  • Good
    13%
  • Poor
    5%
  • Bad
    26%
  • Friendly Staff
  • Promptness
  • Wait Time 35.5 minutes
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Bedside Manner
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Easy Appointments
  • Appropriate Followup

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

1.0 of 5
July 7th, 2017
INCOMPETENT
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Ignores painful conditions if they don't suit her narrative. Will treat you like a drug seeker when you're incapacitated by recurrent ovarian cysts. Dismissive and judgmental. Go see someone who will actually investigate your symptoms--and treat them.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
June 27th, 2015
Former Patient
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Here is a doctor who would do anything for money. She lies about her experience and practices on you. She is the one with no conscious at all! Save yourself from pain and heartache.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
April 8th, 2015
Doctor with professional/personal issues
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Look for another Doctor unless you need a Doc that operates sloppy
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 6th, 2015
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
She is super easy to talk too, very thorough with procedures
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
July 11th, 2012
The best doctor in the world
Wait time
20.0 minutes
Dr. Altizer is the best doctor in the world. Everytime I go to see her see always takes care of me. I have been seeing her for about a little over six years now and never had a problem. She is always kind and very helpful, caring, sweet and I couldn't ask for anything more. I wish she could be the a doctor for kids as well as my doctor that way my whole family could see her. She truly is in one word amazing. I hate to see her move to Roanoke because its like 45 minutes away but I guess ill be drving there to see her because I refuse to see any other OBGYN but her
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
February 9th, 2012
Wait time
30.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr Altizer is a very compashion driven ob, she listens and cares. Tha says a lot about a Dr. She is always giving you 110% of her attention when it is your appointmnet time.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
June 15th, 2011
Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Doctor always on the phone, waited too long,rescheduled my appointments 3 times in my pregnancy. Not the case with her other partners. Not respectful of ethnic backgrounds like mine. Would not recommend her, seemed to always second guess her diagnosis, asking other people what they thought.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 18th, 2011
Knowledgeable and caring OB that takes time to listen
Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up

2.3 of 5
April 9th, 2011
Misdiagnosis
Wait time
35.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Misdiagnosed with VIN and had skinning vulvectomy. Turned out to be mild displasia, though an untreated yeast infection turned out to be the cause of my symptoms. I had surgery and diminished sex life because she didn't catch the yeast infection and over emphasized VIN (which mine wasn't yet).

5.0 of 5
March 24th, 2011
Wait time
30.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Altizer is a WONDERFUL doctor. Yes, when you schedule an appointment with her you may have to wait, but totally worth it. She knows what she is doing, and is very conscious to make sur eshe gives you all the information you need. I read the previous reviews about her front office staff, and I have never noticed them to be rude. I would imagine it gets hectic at times in the office with 4 doctors, and the front office staff may get overwhelmed at times, but I would have to say they are nice. Dr. Altizer gets my recommendation 100%!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 2nd, 2011
Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Other than the 2.5 hour wait, I was very pleased with my experience. When it was finally my turn and I had the attention of the Dr. I felt like I go the attention that I needed in a timely manner.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

3.7 of 5
January 3rd, 2011
Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Her office staff is rude when scheduling your surgery times. Good luck getting any type of statement for your work. I have waited several times on the doctor and she always gets called out or is not in the office for my scheduled times. she does care and knows her stuff, but good luck getting a call back to go over test results. Her nurse is very nice and knows what she is talking about. I'm not sure about her accuracy in diagnosing a problem because no one will call me back to let me know. overall nice doctor, but if you are looking for good support staff to help you look somewhere else.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Melanie Altizer, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Roanoke, VA.