The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Melanie Altizer Is this you?
  • 20
  • 1
  • 5
  • 2
  • 10

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
35.5 min
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments
Appropriate Followup

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Melanie Altizer?


38 Ratings with 18 Comments

1.0 Rating

July 7th, 2017

INCOMPETENT

Ignores painful conditions if they don't suit her narrative. Will treat you like a drug seeker when you're incapacitated by recurrent ovarian cysts. Dismissive and judgmental. Go see someone who will actually investigate your symptoms--and treat them.

Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

June 27th, 2015

Former Patient

Here is a doctor who would do anything for money. She lies about her experience and practices on you. She is the one with no conscious at all! Save yourself from pain and heartache.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

April 8th, 2015

Doctor with professional/personal issues

Look for another Doctor unless you need a Doc that operates sloppy

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

April 6th, 2015

She is super easy to talk too, very thorough with procedures

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

July 11th, 2012

The best doctor in the world

Dr. Altizer is the best doctor in the world. Everytime I go to see her see always takes care of me. I have been seeing her for about a little over six years now and never had a problem. She is always kind and very helpful, caring, sweet and I couldn't ask for anything more. I wish she could be the a doctor for kids as well as my doctor that way my whole family could see her. She truly is in one word amazing. I hate to see her move to Roanoke because its like 45 minutes away but I guess ill be drving there to see her because I refuse to see any other OBGYN but her

Wait time
20.0 minutes
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

February 9th, 2012

Dr Altizer is a very compashion driven ob, she listens and cares. Tha says a lot about a Dr. She is always giving you 110% of her attention when it is your appointmnet time.

Wait time
30.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

June 15th, 2011

Doctor always on the phone, waited too long,rescheduled my appointments 3 times in my pregnancy. Not the case with her other partners. Not respectful of ethnic backgrounds like mine. Would not recommend her, seemed to always second guess her diagnosis, asking other people what they thought.

Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

April 18th, 2011

Knowledgeable and caring OB that takes time to listen
Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

2.3 Rating

April 9th, 2011

Misdiagnosis

Misdiagnosed with VIN and had skinning vulvectomy. Turned out to be mild displasia, though an untreated yeast infection turned out to be the cause of my symptoms. I had surgery and diminished sex life because she didn't catch the yeast infection and over emphasized VIN (which mine wasn't yet).

Wait time
35.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

March 24th, 2011

Dr. Altizer is a WONDERFUL doctor. Yes, when you schedule an appointment with her you may have to wait, but totally worth it. She knows what she is doing, and is very conscious to make sur eshe gives you all the information you need. I read the previous reviews about her front office staff, and I have never noticed them to be rude. I would imagine it gets hectic at times in the office with 4 doctors, and the front office staff may get overwhelmed at times, but I would have to say they are nice. Dr. Altizer gets my recommendation 100%!

Wait time
30.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

March 2nd, 2011

Other than the 2.5 hour wait, I was very pleased with my experience. When it was finally my turn and I had the attention of the Dr. I felt like I go the attention that I needed in a timely manner.

Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

3.7 Rating

January 3rd, 2011

Her office staff is rude when scheduling your surgery times. Good luck getting any type of statement for your work. I have waited several times on the doctor and she always gets called out or is not in the office for my scheduled times. she does care and knows her stuff, but good luck getting a call back to go over test results. Her nurse is very nice and knows what she is talking about. I'm not sure about her accuracy in diagnosing a problem because no one will call me back to let me know. overall nice doctor, but if you are looking for good support staff to help you look somewhere else.

Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Melanie Altizer is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Roanoke, VA.

  • Dr. Emily Evans-Hoeker

    Reproductive Endocrinology and Infertility, Obstetrics and Gynecology

    Roanoke, VA 0.01 mi

    5.0
    (1)
  • Dr. Sterling Ellsworth

    Obstetrics and Gynecology

    Roanoke, VA 0.01 mi

    5.0
    (1)
    29
  • Dr. Eduardo Lara-Torre

    Dr. Eduardo Lara-Torre

    Obstetrics and Gynecology

    Roanoke, VA 0.01 mi

    5.0
    (1)
    20