ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr

The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Melissa Chappell Is this you?
  • 17
  • 2
  • 4
  • 0
  • 8

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
10 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Melissa Chappell?


31 Ratings with 12 Comments

1.0 Rating

April 27th, 2015

Dr. Chappell is not caring and misdiagnosed me.

She is a heartless professional that should not work with people. She told me that I needed to get myself together and return to work. Gave me meds that made me loopy. She even asked me which one I wanted Prozac or Zoloft. I don't know about you but I went to her for help duringa period in my life when everything was falling apart. She ruined my experience with doctors and delayed my treatment because I couldn't open up to another doctor after my experience with her. I ended up being diagnosed with Bipolar. If you care about yourself, family, and friends, do not send them to her. She made me feel like my employer at the time was paying her to downplay my illness. All of these events put myself and my coworkers lives at risk at the time.

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

February 10th, 2015

great doctor

Dr. Chappell has been a very empathetic and caring doctor for me for over two years. I would recommend her to anyone. She is very receptive towards your feelings and emotional state as a psychiatrist should be.

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

May 24th, 2013

Former Patient

I met with Melissa 3 or 4 times. I found her intimidating initially -- very regimented. Then I realized she could be a real danger to a person already in a vulnerable state. I contacted the Little Company of Mary several times about my experience with her, but no one followed up with me. Melissa proved to be downright cruel. I think she is more suited for the job of euthanasia. I actually think she might even enjoy it. THIS WOMAN IS DANGEROUS PEOPLE, STEER CLEAR OF HER!

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

July 24th, 2012

Horrible experience!

I have seen Dr. Chappell several times. She is not a very warm and caring doctor. She is very matter-of-fact and to the point. I would put up with that, but then at my last appt. she refused to see me. I arrived 9 minutes late to my appt. and the receptionist repremanded me for being late. Then told me I would probably have to reschedule. She called the dr. whispered something, then asked me if I could come back in 3 hours. There was no one in the waiting room and no one with the doctor! Unvelievable! For being in the field of psychiatry she really should lose her sense of entitlement and try to actually help people. A psychiatric patient should never get denied for being 9 minutes late. That is unacceptable. So I found another psychiatrist who is warm and caring and won't deny me for being 10 minutes late.

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

April 9th, 2012

Been seeing her for 5 years....

I really like Dr. Chappell and find her to be very professional. Keep in mind, she is a pyschiatrist and internist, not a counselor. She is there to properly diagnose and treat, not talk about your problems like a psychologist would. She is excellent about following up to make sure everything is still going well, and when it hasn't been she has adjusted meds. She is a bit reserved, but I find it to be more professional than I do rude. I have recommended her to several people and will continue to do so.

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

March 25th, 2011

Escellent doctor and a caring human being

Dr. Chapel started by taking me off of a medicine that had had negative effects on me. After two weeks, I felt the improvement. I continue to see her and appreciate her professionalism, and her expressions of caring. Yes, she is a bit withdrawn, but I know that she cares. I feel that I am in the care of a top-rate doctor.

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

February 10th, 2010

Dr. Chappell is a phenomenal doctor. She has helped me immensely in the last six months, prescribed the right medications and I've never felt better. She is very kind too. I feel like she's known me for many years. Her staff is also very helpful and kind too. I would recommend Dr. Chappell as highly as possible.

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

December 31st, 2009

What's her job

When I go see Dr. Chappell I don't expect her to become a babby sitter to me. Her job is to be my DOCTOR and nothing else. To that end I must say that she does her job of being a DOCTOR very well. I have learned that she always matches my effort when it comes to me trying to get better.

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

3.7 Rating

December 17th, 2009

She need to be more caring

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

3.7 Rating

October 29th, 2009

True that she is not what you could describe as warm - she puts you in a chair by the door and sits at the other end of the room - but has a reassuring gravitas when it comes to your status as her patient. I believe that she does care and takes me seriously; Her role is to assess my needs and determine how best to meet them. Her treatment appears to be results oriented and I would say that in my case she is achieving results.

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

July 22nd, 2009

As Above

I am afraid the other review for this doctor is very accurate. I am not accusing her of being rude but she is far from friendly. Her diagnosis was what I already knew. I do not to in any detail about the treatment she recommended but it was wholey innapprpiate. I was very dissapointed for on the face of it Dr Chappell is a dream doctor treating both body and mind in a holistic way.Lastly I want to warn everyone of her immature habit (by her own admission) of asking her Caucasian patients if they are racist.

Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

April 20th, 2009

Very uncaring, not one bit friendly, very distant and unapproachable. Seemed bored, would not even use my name. Made me feel like she did not want to help me at all. Horrible experience. She's in the wrong field. Mental Health people should be caring.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Melissa Chappell is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Evergreen Park, IL.

  • Dr. Eno Nsima-Obot

    Dr. Eno Nsima-Obot

    Internal Medicine

    Evergreen Park, IL 0.01 mi

    5.0
    (1)
    30
  • Dr. Stanley Polit

    Dr. Stanley Polit

    Gastroenterology, Internal Medicine, Geriatric Medicine

    Evergreen Park, IL 0.01 mi

    5.0
    (5)
    36
  • Dr. Samir Shah

    Dr. Samir Shah

    Cardiovascular Disease, Geriatric Medicine, Internal Medicine

    Evergreen Park, IL 0.01 mi

    5.0
    (1)
    36