ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr

The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Melissa Nirenberg Is this you?
  • 17
  • 0
  • 1
  • 5
  • 1

Quality Rating

Highly Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments
Wait Time
15 min
Appropriate Followup

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Melissa Nirenberg?


24 Ratings with 12 Comments

2.0 Rating

March 10th, 2017

Knowledagble but rigid and robotic

Dr Nirenberg is very well respected in the field of Parkinsons and she clearly knows her stuff. BUT this does not make her a great doctor. She has a technical response to everything ,but there is never an emotional support or word of comfort. She is not creative at all and rarely offers recommendations that go beyond the text book. I feel like I am speaking with a robot. She has a tendancy to explain off whatever is going on that may be typical for most Parkinsons patients as specfic to you. So you feel like you are the only person with that problem, when with further research you learn that what you have is very prevalent in Parkinsons patients. This creates for a very lonely and insolating feeling. She also has terrible follow-up. While she is very professional and even temptered and knows her stuff I dont feel at all like she really cares; like she has put any extra thought into you as an individual. And yet having said all of that, what does one do? Try to find another Doctor that also has the perfect degrees? Its all about the human touch and, in this case, it is missing.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

March 6th, 2017

A truly kind caring neurologist.
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

2.0 Rating

April 16th, 2015

Needs a better bedside manner, especially for her patient population.

Needs a better bedside manner. This is a doctor who is very rigid in her treatment planning, not very imaginative or flexible and gets irritated when her patients require more understanding. Also spends a lot of time talking about the patient to her residents/medical students as though the patient is not in the room. There is no problem with teaching trainees, but please be sensitive!

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

3.0 Rating

March 29th, 2015

Clinically competent but not a very thoughtful individual
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

2.3 Rating

January 10th, 2015

don't use her

She is basically a robot. Very by the book with no creative thinking.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

February 15th, 2014

Parkinson's patient

Dr. Nirenberg was very patient with my mother, an elderly Parkinson's patient, and me. She listened patiently and clearly explained things to my mother and was able to adjust her medicines (prescribed by anither neurologist) to be more effective with less side effects. When my mother was sick in the hospital, she promptly returned calls for consultation and called to check on her progress. She prescribed walkers and therapies that other doctors had not. Dr. Nirenberg has made a significant positive impact on her quality of life. I have recommended her to friends who have parents with movement issues and will continue to do so. And my mother travels from Baltimore to see her - not an easy thing for a 79 year old with advanced Parkinson's! A true testament!

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

2.3 Rating

December 28th, 2013

NEVER HAVE TO SAY YOUR SORRY

HER STAFF NEVER FORWARDED MY MESSAGES TO HER AND FOR THAT SHE SAID SHE WAS SORRY. SHE TOLD ME THAT I WAS HAVING HEART ATTACK AND GO TO MY PRIMARY DOCTOR .....I WENT TO MY CARDIOLOGIST WHO TOLD ME MY HEART WAS JUST FINE. HER FELLOW WAS MORE PROFESSIONAL THAN SHE WAS

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

July 12th, 2013

Dr very knowledgeable and has an excellent bedside manner.She stands out as a model physician.

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

January 9th, 2010

I have been to many movement disorders specialists, and she was by far the best. I would recommend her to anyone.

Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

January 28th, 2009

excellent parkinsons specialist.

I find Dr. Nirenberg to be an excellent, compassionate, available doctor. I am so glad that I found her. I would recommend her to anyone.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

September 12th, 2008

Outstanding, outstanding, outstanding
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

5.0 Rating

July 6th, 2008

The best there is for Parkinson's Disease
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Melissa Nirenberg is similar to the following 3 Doctors near New York, NY.

  • Dr. Jose Torres

    Neurology, Internal Medicine

    New York, NY 0.01 mi

    5.0
    (2)
    8
  • Dr. Nunzio Pomara

    Psychiatry

    New York, NY 0.01 mi

    5.0
    (2)
    40
  • Dr. Cen Zhang

    Neurology, Residency

    New York, NY 0.01 mi

    5.0
    (1)
    6