Dr. Melissa Nirenberg MD, PHD Patient Reviews

  • Neurology New York, NY

Overall Rating

4.1
  • 23 patient ratings
  • 12 comments

Last 12 months:

3.8 (-0.3)

23 Patient Reviews

  • Excellent
    70%
  • Great
    0%
  • Good
    4%
  • Poor
    22%
  • Bad
    4%
  • Friendly Staff
  • Promptness
  • Wait Time 15 minutes
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Bedside Manner
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Easy Appointments

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

2.0 of 5
March 10th, 2017
Knowledagble but rigid and robotic
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr Nirenberg is very well respected in the field of Parkinsons and she clearly knows her stuff. BUT this does not make her a great doctor. She has a technical response to everything ,but there is never an emotional support or word of comfort. She is not creative at all and rarely offers recommendations that go beyond the text book. I feel like I am speaking with a robot. She has a tendancy to explain off whatever is going on that may be typical for most Parkinsons patients as specfic to you. So you feel like you are the only person with that problem, when with further research you learn that what you have is very prevalent in Parkinsons patients. This creates for a very lonely and insolating feeling. She also has terrible follow-up. While she is very professional and even temptered and knows her stuff I dont feel at all like she really cares; like she has put any extra thought into you as an individual. And yet having said all of that, what does one do? Try to find another Doctor that also has the perfect degrees? Its all about the human touch and, in this case, it is missing.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 6th, 2017
A truly kind caring neurologist.
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
April 16th, 2015
Needs a better bedside manner, especially for her patient population.
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Needs a better bedside manner. This is a doctor who is very rigid in her treatment planning, not very imaginative or flexible and gets irritated when her patients require more understanding. Also spends a lot of time talking about the patient to her residents/medical students as though the patient is not in the room. There is no problem with teaching trainees, but please be sensitive!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

3.0 of 5
March 29th, 2015
Clinically competent but not a very thoughtful individual
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.3 of 5
January 10th, 2015
don't use her
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
She is basically a robot. Very by the book with no creative thinking.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
February 15th, 2014
Parkinson's patient
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Nirenberg was very patient with my mother, an elderly Parkinson's patient, and me. She listened patiently and clearly explained things to my mother and was able to adjust her medicines (prescribed by anither neurologist) to be more effective with less side effects. When my mother was sick in the hospital, she promptly returned calls for consultation and called to check on her progress. She prescribed walkers and therapies that other doctors had not. Dr. Nirenberg has made a significant positive impact on her quality of life. I have recommended her to friends who have parents with movement issues and will continue to do so. And my mother travels from Baltimore to see her - not an easy thing for a 79 year old with advanced Parkinson's! A true testament!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.3 of 5
December 28th, 2013
NEVER HAVE TO SAY YOUR SORRY
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
HER STAFF NEVER FORWARDED MY MESSAGES TO HER AND FOR THAT SHE SAID SHE WAS SORRY. SHE TOLD ME THAT I WAS HAVING HEART ATTACK AND GO TO MY PRIMARY DOCTOR .....I WENT TO MY CARDIOLOGIST WHO TOLD ME MY HEART WAS JUST FINE. HER FELLOW WAS MORE PROFESSIONAL THAN SHE WAS

5.0 of 5
July 12th, 2013
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr very knowledgeable and has an excellent bedside manner.She stands out as a model physician.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
January 9th, 2010
Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I have been to many movement disorders specialists, and she was by far the best. I would recommend her to anyone.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
January 28th, 2009
excellent parkinsons specialist.
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
I find Dr. Nirenberg to be an excellent, compassionate, available doctor. I am so glad that I found her. I would recommend her to anyone.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
September 12th, 2008
Outstanding, outstanding, outstanding
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
July 6th, 2008
The best there is for Parkinson's Disease
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Melissa Nirenberg, MD, PHD is similar to these 3 Doctors near New York, NY.