Dr. Melvin Roat MD Patient Reviews

Overall Rating

4.7
  • 23 patient ratings
  • 12 comments

Last 12 months:

3.7 (-1.0)

12 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    87%
  • Satisfied
    0%
  • Neutral
    9%
  • Dissatisfied
    0%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    4%
  • Wait Time 15 minutes
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

3.0 of 5
May 31st, 2016
Wait time
25 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I have now been to see Dr. Roat on three different occasions. He is an excellent professional who takes time to explain what the particular problem is and in a language that a layman can understand. I have no desire to see any other opthalmologist but him.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 12th, 2016
Extraordinary knowledge
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Extraordinary knowledge of the field - always puts patient first and I utterly trust him
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 3rd, 2016
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I would recommend Dr. Roat to anyone, no matter what level of eye care they need. He has been my ophthamologist for 5+ years now and I am always glad I am in his care. Dr. Roat approaches patients as if it were his first day on the job: full of interest, concern and advocacy. When you are with him you are his sole focus. He listens to your questions and answers them all with respect and expertise. He wants to know the whole story of why you are seeing him. Your overall health background and your specific vision needs are equally important to him because he wants to make an informed diagnosis and recommendation for how to proceed with treatment. You come away with the sense that Dr. Roat excels in ophthamology and that he is an excellent communicator who loves his work. Every visit is a positive learning experience. I envy any medical student who would have Dr. Roat as their professor. Any medical school would be fortunate to have him on their faculty. By the way, he has an expert, courteous and friendly support staff. Top grades all the way.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
October 5th, 2015
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Terrific guy and doctor.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
September 3rd, 2015
A rare find.
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
In the time of big hospitals it is not often you can find a doctor who can give both meticulous and comprehensive attention to your care in a timely fashion. Dr Rout has somehow maintains the ability to both treat and educate his patient and he does so with both with dignity and caring.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
November 4th, 2014
12 years of help
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I have been a patient for 12 years receiving treatment for an ongoing issue that has included a number of emergency visits. Dr Roat has been available weekends holidays and evenings for either a visit or a detailed phone assessment. Dr Roat has a calm way that even when treatment is complicated creates a feeling of well being. All phone messages are answered promptly by his very pleasant staff.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
August 8th, 2014
Superb opthamologist
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Caring staff, clean office environment, doctor is incredibly knowledgeable and takes the time to (1) get to know you and (2) explain the purpose of every procedure. Really a terrific doctor -- can't say enough positives about him.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
November 27th, 2012
patient for 10 years
Wait time
35 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Due to an ever evolving/complicated issue visits have been on average every 4-8 weeks for the last 10 years. Any time I have required phone contact or a visit including evening and weekend Dr. Roat has been prompt in response. Dr. Roat and his staff are detail oriented and this has provided a feeling of confidence and safety.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
June 13th, 2012
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Roat saved my vision in my right eye. I had a horrifically bad and fast growing eye infection. Dr. Roat quickly diagnosed the infection and set me on my path to heal it. He explained every step with compassion and professionalism. I can't say enough great things about him. Thank you Dr. Roat!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 21st, 2012
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
He is exceptional with respect to answering questions and following up and facilitating interactions with other physicians in complex situations.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 15th, 2011
Very thorough eye exam!
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
The most thorough eye exam I have ever had. Dr. Roat, a cornea specialist, diagnosed a problem with my retina and referred me to a retina specialist. The retina doctor was very impressed that Dr. Roat had accurately diagnosed the problem. He is very caring and explained everything to me. I will continue to see Dr. Roat for my routine exams.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
August 31st, 2009
Great Cornea Specialist
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Roat takes time with his patients. He explains everything to you and answers all of your questions. At the end of my visit with him he walked me out to the checkout desk and continued to talk to me aboue my cornea condition. He is very caring and compassionate.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Melvin Roat, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Media, PA.

Doctor

Dr. Anthony Antonello Jr

32 years experience

5.0 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Maria Mcneill

11 years experience

5.0 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Richard Jahnle

35 years experience

4.6 of 5