ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr

The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Meredith Hixson Is this you?
  • 12
  • 3
  • 7
  • 6
  • 16

Quality Rating

Neutral

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments
Wait Time
31.3 min

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Meredith Hixson?


44 Ratings with 13 Comments

1.0 Rating

December 7th, 2016

She knew my son was going to be handicapped and didn't tell me. Instead she highly insisted I tie my tubes at the age of 22 and two kids, who does that.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

July 5th, 2016

Wonderful Doctor, AWFUL staff. Every woman who answers the phone is beyond rude. I am considering switching doctors just for that. I've been with Dr. Hixson for years. I made an appointment far in advance because I know OB/GYN doctors get booked fast and I called to reschedule and the appointment didn't exist. Awful staff.

Wait time
25 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

3.0 Rating

February 23rd, 2016

Dr. Hixson is o.k. but her receptionist is the WORST!!!!! She is rude and not helpful at all! I have never seen such an unprofessional receptionist in my life. If you don't like your job..... Get another one, maybe a correctional officer might suit you better. She does lack P.R. skills yet it still maybe another career option for her!!!!

Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

August 21st, 2015

Absolutely love her.. She has been my doctor for over 6 yrs now. Very personable and professional

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

September 1st, 2014

One of the best OB I've had. I have 4 kids and she has delivered 2. She made my pregnancy and delivery experience amazing each time.

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

December 12th, 2013

doesn't care about her patients

I have been having heavy bleeding for months was given a prescription of lo loestrin that caused significantly more bleeding. Called office during regular business hours several times got answering service. When reached the office staff would direct me to wait until patients were all seen before my issue could be handled. Even tried to call answering service leaving messages thinking it was just office personnel problem, doctor did not return any calls or office staff. I called several times daily till they said just go to emergency room per doctors request. I went to er which in turn said that really nothing they could do other than redirect back to Dr. Er doctor spoke with Dr. Hixson who said the procudure which was supposed to be schedule 3 weeks prior was delayed due to insurance requiring prior auth. I called insurance company who state doctor never contacted for prior auth. and procedure did not require prior auth anyway. So she lied. When doctor office called after er visit to say they finally schduled d&C that should have been schuduled 3 weeks prior, i had already contacted a new doctor. Can not have someone do a procedure I don't trust and who won't bother to follow up if I have problems. Beware if you are looking to be her patient. Btw got with new doctor who schedule the next morning and had d&c scheduled by 3 pm that day, procedure to be done less than a week from time I went in.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

July 3rd, 2012

avoid if at all possible

The Dr is rude, has no respect for others time and is not very interested in you or why you are there. You are told that it is problems you just need to live with rather than find a way to fix them. I have never had such a rude and uncaring Dr.

Wait time
60.0 minutes
ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

May 16th, 2011

Dr Hixson saved my sanity

I was in extreme pain constantly and had pain during sex. No other Doctor would do anything about it but tell me to live with it. I had been to numerous specialists over a period of several years and had many different procedures (including one that insisted that I had irritable bowel syndrome). I had extremely heavy periods too. Dr Hixson accurately diagnosed that I had pre squamous cells and large fibroids and recommended a total hysterectomy. She performed the surgery and I have never felt better in my life. I found her to be compassionate, professional and caring. I have no complaints at all about her and would recommend her.

Easy Appointment
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

March 22nd, 2011

I have been a patient of Dr Hixson for over 6yrs now and I absolutely love her. My mother and daughter both see her. She is very thorough and takes time to explain my health care to me. She is very personable and friendly. I'm not sure about the other ratings listed here but I have had nothing but pleasant experiences. Maybe some of the other patients should consider that they may be the problem not Dr Hixson

Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

December 29th, 2010

She was my doctor for my first pregnacy!

Well i've held this in for 5 years yall! I was having a hard pregnacy and I was sent to bed rest in the hospital for 11 days to wait for my baby to be born still born! She gave me an option either I could wait for the baby to die naturally or cause the baby to pass with the strain of labor. I decided to wait for the baby to decide when it was time. I waited 11 days n the hospital on my one year wedding anniversary night. I finally got discharged to go see a specialist at LSU which I requested weeks before. Well we went to the appointment and the doctor at LSU determined the baby passed! I went back to Northshore Hospital to delivery my baby under Dr. Hixons care and she sat there while I got induced and then she said you have 2 options either you can be delivered by another doctor or wait to deliver your dead baby when I get back from VACATION! OMG please ladies don't go to her I beg of you don't she has no heart and doesn't have any children of her own! I switched doctors that day and will never forget what she said to me! Wait to deliver my baby? That i've been waiting in the hospital for him to pass on his own! Sorry but this really upsets me still! After I delivered I got pregnant again and now have a healthy 5 year old son! God is good! Thank you for listening!

Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

August 10th, 2010

I switched to another doctor when I was 4 months pregnant because I felt that I deserved better care from Dr. Hixson and her staff.

Wait time
45.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

August 25th, 2009

THE WORST!

I cannot believe this Dr has a degree and that people actually keep her as their Dr. What do you call the person who graduates at the bottom of their Medical school? A Dr! Find another Dr to go to and save yourself the agravation. If I could pick NO stars I would have.

Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Meredith Hixson is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Slidell, LA.

  • Dr. David Hebert

    Obstetrics and Gynecology, Urology

    Slidell, LA 0 mi

    4.2
    (18)
    39
  • Dr. Noel Duplantier

    Dr. Noel Duplantier

    Obstetrics and Gynecology

    Slidell, LA 0.06 mi

    4.7
    (6)
    20
  • Dr. Dimitri Yanez

    Dr. Dimitri Yanez

    Obstetrics and Gynecology

    Slidell, LA 0.06 mi

    3.7
    (6)
    34