Dr. Michael Gunn MD Patient Reviews

  • Obstetrics and Gynecology Nashville, TN

Overall Rating

3.8
  • 40 patient ratings
  • 9 comments

Last 12 months:

no change

40 Patient Reviews

  • Excellent
    55%
  • Great
    10%
  • Good
    10%
  • Poor
    8%
  • Bad
    18%
  • Friendly Staff
  • Promptness
  • Wait Time 43.8 minutes
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Bedside Manner
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Easy Appointments

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

1.0 of 5
April 2nd, 2016
I called my regular ob at 31 weeks with contractions and back labor, Dr.Gunn was on call so I spoke with him instead of my normal dr. He proceeds to tell me there is no such thing as back labor and if i feel like I am in labor go to the er because i dont want my baby to just fall out. I was shocked then he says i cant tell you if your in labor over the phone so you decide to come in or not. He is absolutely rude. Stay away ladies i will never let this man deliver my daughter, even if he is the dr on call
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
February 27th, 2016
DONT GO TO THIS DOCTOR
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
In 1992 Dr. Gun delivered me so I was excited to have him be my obgyn and deliver my baby...until I actually met the complete jerk!! He was extremely rude as soon as he walked through the door he never once shook my hand or introduced himself or even cared to ask me my name. I called and made an apt to hear a heart beat and was told on the phone that's what my apt would be for so I arrive wait two hours for a tech to take my vitals and put me in a room and tells me to get completely undressed I didn't say no assuming it was for the heart beat after a third hour Dr. Gun came in my room and he and his nurse were just awful. He started by saying he had rules to being my doctor and told me before he did anything he would tell me he has me lay down flat(he told me too) then he proceeds to grab my breast WITHOUT TELLING ME HE WAS then starts pushing on my stomach hard and when I said oww! He called me a weenie and told me to toughen up bc I'm pregnant and then his nurse looks at me and said legs up! Really for what??? He said he was gonna feel my uterus to see how far along I am then proceeded to insert a speculum inside me WITHOUT TELLING ME HE WAS then I realized I was having a pap smeer that I didn't ask for and wasn't informed ever that's what I was gonna be seen for or have done to me and then worst of all the doctor lied and said oh I'll tell you before I do anything releases the speculum off my cervix and starts pulling it out without telling me so the immediate pain had me tense up and start crying and I asked why he didn't tell me he was gonna take it out he just said look I can't help it if your too sensitive there's nothing I can do about people who are too sensitive!!! Excuse me you are the worst Doctor ever he has no bedside manner he is a rude person and if I could go back I would throat punch his nurse for making hateful comments under her breath during my exam!!!! Ladies never go see this awful man!!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
February 25th, 2016
Dr. Gunn is an experienced OB/GYN
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Upon the necessity of a hysterectomy I was referred to Dr. Gunn who actually delivered my only child 20 years prior. He is definitely going to tell you the truth with no chaser. He is not going to sugar coat the facts and is just a shoot from the hip old school dude. The wait times in his office are excruciating and literally almost unbearable, but I outweigh this with his experience and Id rather him to be the one cutting this intruder out of my uterus because of the number of hysterectomies he has performed. So it does come down to what you need as a patient; I need his experience and I appreciated his brutal honesty with such a serious surgery. Dr. Gunn took the time to make sure I understood and answered my questions and concerns, BUT yes OMG the wait times are horrible 20 years later!!!!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
April 14th, 2015
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
dr gunn was my doctor for the beginning of my pregnancy. He was nice but his staff was rude and not helpful at all. Every appt was a total of about 3 hours. There were so many people in the waiting room there was hardly ever a place to sit and it was a pretty big waiting room. I found a much better obgyn and when that office was trying to get my records after I signed a release They kept refusing to send them over for weeks and after numerous attempts. DO NOT WASTE Your TIME!!!!! There are much better doctors with a wonderful staff in the nashville area that will make you have a much better experience!!!

5.0 of 5
September 29th, 2014
A Caring Professional
Today was my very first time to seen as Dr. Michael Gunn's patient. And I must say...Dr. Gunn made my 1st time experience with him to be one that was very comfortable and easy. He was gentle, careful, considerate, and informative throughout the whole pap and examination process. The staff is courteous and polite. Dr Gunn shoots straight from the hip but he does it in a caring, compassionate, and CONSTRUCTIVE manner.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
September 12th, 2013
Great doctor all around
Wait time
35 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I have been going to Dr.Gunn since 1992 off and on. He has delivered 2 of my children and will be there to deliver the one I'm carrying now if gods willing. He has never been rough with me. He has always been very blunt and honest. I'm very thankful for that. Most doctors beat around the bush. He is a wonderful doctor and his staff is great. I love the fact that I go in and still see his same MA there since before I started going to him along with the same receptionist. The wait maybe a little long at times. But what can you say if he has to run and deliver a baby. He's a OB doctor that's his job.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
May 27th, 2012
AWFUL
Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Gunn was rude, condescending and very rough during the exam. Both pap smear and breast exam where excruciatingly painful because he was so rough with me. When I asked him to stop because he was hurting me so badly (I was in tears!), he wouldn't stop and then he proceeded to insult me for being "too sensitive." I literally felt like I was sexually violated by Dr. Gunn. He 's a terriable Dr.Ladies, do yourself a favor and do NOT go to this doctor.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.3 of 5
April 17th, 2011
Excellent care
Wait time
25.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Gunn is an excellent doctor. Very good In explaining everything. yes he is busy, but he takes good care of his patients. Every patient is given his undivided attention. In just come prepared to wait.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.3 of 5
April 5th, 2011
Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
He was TERRIBLE! I waited over an hour at each appointment, I was nervous about getting a papsmear he told me "You think you're grown enough to have a baby, you should be grown enough to get a papsmear!" ( I was 20 and married at the time).He was heavy handed and rough. He was rude and on top of that, I almost had to deliver the baby with a Nurse because we were WAITING FOR HIM! She even told me to stop pushing because the baby was about to come out!!! Other posters were right, this was an awful experience that has traumatized me from seeing a male doctor ever again!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
May 25th, 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 27th, 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
February 1st, 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Michael Gunn, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Nashville, TN.