Dr. Michael Wong MD Patient Reviews

Overall Review

3.3
  • 52 patient ratings
  • 16 comments

Last 12 months:

4.9 (+ 1.6)

16 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    44%
  • Satisfied
    13%
  • Neutral
    2%
  • Dissatisfied
    4%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    37%
  • Wait Time 39 minutes
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

1.0 of 5
March 4th, 2015
Dr. Wongs Staff the Worst
Wait time
35 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I have been going to Dr. Wong for about 30 years, I like him a lot that's why I keep going back. His front desk staff is the worst though, especially Natalie. I called and asked a question and she could never give me a straight answer. Then she gets a attitude, and when you raise your voice she tells you to calm down after she provokes it. I wish Dr. Wong would put his staff through a patient training program, because obviously by reading all these complaints his office staff has issues. My complaint will probably go unresolved, but come on Dr. Wong your reputation should mean something, please invest in your staff it will help your overall business.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
December 4th, 2014
Worst Experience Ever.
I've only seen Dr Wong twice out of the 3 times I did have appts. There. Dr. Wong Seemed To Rush Through my appts. Every time I did see him..his staff is rude especially the front desk person.. I came in on my 18wk check up and I was having some insurance issues but every office I had been to before would let me see the doctor and my insurance would would go back and help me with visits that I didn't have my insurance...well not the case at Dr. Wongs Office.. Since I didn't have updated insurance and I didn't have $100 to see the Dr. They turned me away just like that... NEGLECT!!! I only went with dr Wong becuase he was close to my home...this is my 3rd child and I have never been treated like this before... I will just stick with my original Dr. This place is horrible. The staff is horrible. they have the smallest waiting room.. Overall I will never recommend family or friends to go here..
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
October 8th, 2014
Eh.
This is my first pregnancy, and since I had just been qualified for medical at 4 months, I settled for Dr. Wong. Now I'm 9 months, and learned he's very busy, doesn't spend a whole lot of time with you unless you take initiative and ask questions or show concern. He's quick to move on to the next patient, so you need to be stern. That being said, he answers all of my questions and seems knowledgeable. I've never had an issue with his staff, most of the time they're sweet to me. Although I wish I could understand what they're saying. My appointments were scheduled 2 weeks apart, up until my third trimester, when he started scheduling me 1 week apart visits. He really started paying attention to me during my last trimester. The wait time depends on how many people were scheduled that day, and if you're on time for your own appointment. I'm usually early, then I get to see him early. The appointments are quick, but waiting for the Doctor might take a while depending on how many patients he's tackling. I don't blame him, I know he's busy. Overall, fair.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
April 28th, 2014
Worst experience! BEWARE !
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
First of all beware of the rude unprofessional staff specially Maria! After multiple calls trying to schedule an appt I finally got one. Got there over 30 mins early and still had to wait over an hour to be seen by the Dr. I had cancel the appt early on the day because I knew the procedure I needed wasn't covered by my insurance. Staff Maria called insisting for me to come in because "Dr was gonna diagnose me with something else to code it different to have my insurance pay for it"! It was a LIE!! I mentioned to my husband that i felt they just wanted us to come in to charge my insurance for a consultation and sure enough I should of have followed my gut. After waiting over one hour to see the Dr, Dr had no clue why we were there and started explaining the cost as "cash". When we explained to him tht we were there because his staff said he could code it different he said that was absolutely impossible ..... What kind of Dr is he and what kind of staff he hired that lie to patients to steal money from insurances !!!! Beware !!!!! Also all their equipment is as old as I have never seen in a dr's office.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
August 12th, 2013
I would not recommend Dr.Wong
Wait time
50 minutes
My baby came out with two abnormalities , and every visit he said everything is going good. His staff was very rude. One of our friends went to Dr.wong too, and he didn't know she was having twins after seeing her for almost 5 months, and she ended up losing her twins. Knowing how much doctors earn and knowing he's been in practice for a long time, I wonder if his effort is still there after reaching the pot of gold at the end of the rainbow. Unless he improves, I would caution expecting mothers about going to Dr. Wong.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 15th, 2013
I Love Dr. Wong
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr.Wong is the best. I had all 3 of my daughters with him. One was a month in a half early and he was always there and answered every question we had. I just found out in 6 weeks pregnant and i will go back to him for this baby. His office by my home has closed so now i will drive 20 min but he is worth it.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
November 5th, 2012
Good doctor , awful staff
Wait time
60 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Doctor Wong is a good doctor who has the worst staff in medical history. They do not write down appointment times , and over booking causing wait time of over an hour. There are so many patients in one day the doctor only can spend 5 minutes if you are luckily to see you. The rest if the time it's the nurses who simple do not have a clue. I would say do not go here.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
October 21st, 2012
Nice lil guy
Wait time
60 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Fun doctor, experienced, great with the delivery.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
August 24th, 2012
Great Doc
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I'VE HAD ALL MY FOUR KIDS WITH DOCTOR WONG. HE'S THE BEST.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
January 24th, 2012
Wonderful doctor
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
The best doctor "
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
June 17th, 2011
Would highly recommend him
Wait time
45 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
He is sensitive, caring, and very considerate of my preferences. He was the back-up doctor that was assigned to me by the birth center I was going to. Whereas my midwives kept telling me to take concoctions to bring on active labor, choosing to ignore clear evidence from an ultrasound that showed my baby was too large, I finally went to see Dr. Wong and he clearly and patiently explained my options to me. I ended up having a C-section and he was absolutely great. He came and visited me at the hospital every day after my surgery and even brought a little shirt for my baby.I am now pregnant again and did not hesitate once about having him deliver my baby. His office staff is mostly friendly, and sometimes I do have to wait a while. But this is a doctor who is always available if you go to the hospital or are in need, and who will be there when you're ready to deliver, regardless of the time of day. So, taking that into account, I understand how he can often not be there on time for my routine appointments.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
December 8th, 2010
Wait time
60 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I made an appointment at 9:15am and finally got to see the Dr. at 10:30am. I just wanted my pills, but they did all kinds of checking on me, and finally got out of their office at noon. The pills they had me was non generic which costs $250 per 3 months, so I asked them to change it to generics and it took them 2wks to figure out. NEVER. Coming. Back.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Michael Wong, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near San Diego, CA.

Doctor

Dr. Gwendolyn Henao

14 years experience

5.0 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Katharine Sheehan

41 years experience

2.5 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Dana Huskey

4.6 of 5