The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Michael Canty Is this you?

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Michael Canty?

Colonoscopy

Colonoscopy

Get the facts about colonoscopy, including how and why it's done and doctors who perform the procedure.

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Michael Canty?

Ratings and Reviews

16 Ratings with 5 Comments

  • Excellent
    12
  • Great
    1
  • Good
    2
  • Poor
    0
  • Bad
    1
  • Excellent
    12
  • Great
    1
  • Good
    2
  • Poor
    0
  • Bad
    1

Quality Rating

Highly Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
46 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Showing 16 Ratings with 5 Comments

5.0 Rating

June 1st, 2013

Excellent Doctor

Since I've had colon cancer twice I have a colonoscopy every year. I started going to Dr. Canty around 1998 after my other doctor retired. Dr. Canty is very thorough. He discusses any symptoms or problems you are having. He always puts you to sleep during a colonoscopy. He prescribes a small bottle of Magnesium Citrate (laxative} and ducolax pills for the prep procedure not the gallon of stuff that most doctors have you drink. He shows you the pictures taken during the procedure and always discusses his findings and any concerns immediately.

Wait time
45 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

May 13th, 2013

Taking great care of my Mother

Dr. Canty has been a great care provider for my mother. He is always kind and informative.

Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

3.7 Rating

February 25th, 2013

Honest and to the point

I found that Dr. Canty was very truthful with me and honest when I had a colonscope run in 2011, found cancer in my colon. This was on a Tuesday. He went right to the phone after he spoke to me and our daughter, came right back and told me he got me appointment with Dr Fresse on Thursday. Seen Dr. Freese on Thursday and had stage 2 colon cancer removed on the next Tueday. So with in a week from the time I knew I had colon cancer I had my surgery and came away with out having to have any chemo or radiation done. Have been clean since. I want to thank Dr Canty for taking the fast action he did. He has told me I have an angel on my shoulder. I believe that also and hope he has one on his shoulder when he does his work everyday. Thank you very kindly Dr. Canty!

Wait time
45 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

August 26th, 2010

Extremely poor follow up and rude attitude

It is past difficult to speak with this office. Obtaining info/notes/records/follow up is near impossible. Too busy to listen to his patients. Rude and rushed is he best description of Dr Canty and his staff.

Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

3.7 Rating

May 8th, 2010

Your office staff is very RUDE!! THis is a major reflection on you as a physican

Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

February 10th, 2017

5.0 Rating

February 8th, 2017

5.0 Rating

December 13th, 2016

5.0 Rating

November 17th, 2016

5.0 Rating

March 2nd, 2016

5.0 Rating

September 28th, 2015

5.0 Rating

August 24th, 2015

  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Michael Canty is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Ashland, KY.

  • Dr. Adnan Habib

    Pulmonary Disease, Internal Medicine, Critical Care Medicine

    Ashland, KY 0 mi

    15
  • Dr. Damian Domanski

    Cardiovascular Disease, Internal Medicine, Cardiology

    Ashland, KY 0 mi

    5.0
    (3)
    9
  • Dr. Malcolm King

    Dr. Malcolm King

    Cardiovascular Disease, Internal Medicine

    Ashland, KY 0 mi

    5.0
    (1)
    31