ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr

The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Michael Carella Is this you?

Filter Reviews

39 Ratings • 19 Comments

2.6
  • 10
  • 1
  • 5
  • 6
  • 17

Quality Rating

Neutral

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
19.8 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Michael Carella?

Showing 12 of 39 Ratings

REALLY?!?!

Posted on October 27th, 2017

The level of disrespect, lack of even pretending to be interested, etc. is stunning. The patient is apparently not allowed to ask questions, let alone expect an answer. Disappointing, frustrating, and frankly ridiculous experience. After 3 visits I have had less than 10 min. face to face. I actually haven't gotten any help or info from this, just prescription renewals. A complete waste of time. And still feeling lousy. Thanks for nothing.

Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

No Time for Patients

Posted on October 25th, 2016

My most recent visit was an upsetting one. After trying for over a month to get an appointment I was eager to discuss my struggles and ask questions of Dr. Carella. I had prepared a list of things to share (symptoms, challenges) and questions to ask in advance. On previous visits I experienced him to be rushed, but he seemed genuinely interested in me and what was going on. On this visit he whisked into the room and began with rapid-fire questions during a (very) brief exam. He could not have been present for more than 2-3 minutes. Mid-sentence he walked out of the room leaving the door open. He did not return. When the nurse came in she said I was all set. I asked if he was done and she said yes. I couldn't believe it. I asked her to have the doctor return since I had not had a chance to share certain relevant information with him and because I had questions to ask. She gave me a pointed look and said I could ask her. I politely requested to speak with the doctor. I had less than 3 minutes of facetime and had not been able to raise any questions for discussion regarding my care. She exited and returned with a sheet of paper and said she would write down my questions. Again I asked for the doctor. Far from being sympathetic or at all understanding the nurse was downright rude. The doctor did return and was very defensive when answering my questions regarding my condition. He seemed to blame me and my general physician for not investigating my condition further even though I was at Dr. Carella's office because I have a diagnosed auto-immune disorder and was looking for guidance on self-care. I felt as though he had no interest in my suffering nor an investment in my health and well-being. I was incredulous at the treatment, the lack of professionalism and the unwillingness to partner with me in finding a cause and a solution for my symptoms which have disrupted my quality of life significantly of late. If you value a doctor who cares, who actively participates in your healthcare, and who will spend more than a cursory few minutes with you than this is not a doctor I would recommend.

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Very excellent Doctor!

Posted on July 29th, 2016

My experience with the Doctor are excellent. He didn't hurt me during the biopsy. Also for those who say that he can't pay attention to you. It is because he can't wear his hearing Aids all the time. I'm also a aid wearer and he was constantly asking me about my pain, etc. Excellent!

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Three Stars

Posted on May 4th, 2016

I haven't had a lot of appointments with Dr. Carella but I have been frustrated by the lack of time he seems to have to discuss my issues with me. I don't usually get time to ask any questions. My appointments seem to be about 5 minutes - he talks to me, asks a couple questions, and leaves.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Horrible Dr

Posted on March 4th, 2016

He was rude and told my wife that "it must be in your head" when talking about pain and discomfort. tested her thyroid and said she was fine...come back in a year, even though test showed abnormality. We got a second option, and ended up getting thyroid removed. Guess what? Pathology found 2 different types of CANCER. She is currently undergoing treatment. Dr Carella's license should be taken away!!

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Never go to him

Posted on September 4th, 2015

Worst doctor we've ever seen. Doesn't have any kind of bedside manner, scares the heck out of you and seems to like that. Won't spend time with you explaining results of a scan, etc. Actually told us we would have to make another hour appointment to go over all my questions. Seriously, a horrible doctor. Please listen to this!

Wait time
35 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

One Star

Posted on March 25th, 2015

The staff is confused, he runs off they can't find him. They put in correct info in my chart, billing incorrect. MMP is screwed up

Wait time
40 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

One Star

Posted on June 27th, 2014

I have been sitting in this waiting room for 2 hours . Let front desk know I have another appt and still waiting. This office does not show any value for their patients time. They are inconsiderate of their patients , and would suggest that you look for another doctor before even walking into this office to have your time wasted.

Wait time
56 minutes
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Don't waste your money on this doctor...

Posted on May 15th, 2014

He certainly gets through his appointments quickly...because he doesn't take any time with his patients. Doesn't listen, rapid fires questions and then makes a lightning decision on treatment even if you point out problems with his "verdict". An example of one of his issues: He failed to order a certain type of lab test to be done, which when done by another doctor pointed out the real culprit in my health issue. When I sent the lab to Carella he completely dismissed it. The second doctor prescribed a medication and voila, the problem was corrected.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Patient

Posted on January 21st, 2013

Been with the doctor for about 8 years now, took some getting used to but actually like the speed he works at, be prepared to tell him everything you need to in the first 4 minutes, when he leaves the room he will not return. His nursing staff cannot keep up with him and the receptionists are terrible. If you want the best Endocrinologist there is this is the guy, but he will not hold your hand, he is quick but he does care and will give you top rated care.

Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

WOW. Just WOW!

Posted on July 17th, 2012

My first appointment (pre-bloodwork, etc) was very educational. Dr. Carella explained to me in detail what he thought was going on, etc and so forth. Post-bloodwork and second appointment, he gave me the dx, told me he'd be right back with a script, and then his nurse returned with it and I never saw him again. WHAT! Didn't come back in to see if I had any other questions or ANYTHING. Wasn't given any additional info on how to eat with the medication or anything..just slapped it on me and that was it. Forget their on-call doctor after hours...nobody ever returns the call.

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

One Star

Posted on June 9th, 2012

This doctor was rude and yelled at me when I returned to his office after radition treatment because I was unable to swallow. He actually told me I was wasting him time and because of me he was not getting his lunch. He walked out of the exam room leaving my husband and myself very confused when his nurse came in and said we could leave. Very Sad! He acted as though I should already know the answers to my questions! He was unwilling to help we understand my hyperthyroidism and was offended when I told him I wanted to get a second opinion before radition treatment. Perhaps he was overwhelmed with patient care, but after talking with another endocrinologist, I truly believe I was misdiagnosed by Dr. Carella as having Graves Disease. My life has forever changed after dealing with him. If you do have to see this man, get a second opinion without hesitation!

Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Michael Carella is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Lansing, MI.