Dr. Michael Chmell MD Patient Reviews

  • Orthopedic Surgery Rockford, IL

Overall Rating

4.2
  • 24 patient ratings
  • 11 comments

Last 12 months:

4.0 (-0.2)

24 Patient Reviews

  • Excellent
    63%
  • Great
    17%
  • Good
    8%
  • Poor
    0%
  • Bad
    13%
  • Friendly Staff
  • Promptness
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Bedside Manner
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Easy Appointments
  • Wait Time 8.3 minutes

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

1.0 of 5
March 9th, 2017
Arrogant, in-compassionate and flat out rude.
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Showed complete arrogance at all pre-op appointments which I hoped meant he was just so good he was arrogant. No! He is just arrogant as I had to have my replacement redone by another surgeon. Does not respect his patients nor have any concern for pain. After waking from surgery, he asked me how I was feeling. I replied, "In a lot of pain, knee hurts really bad." He responded something to the effect of you'll be fine, dont be a such a baby!!! Avoid this scalpel jockey.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
October 20th, 2016
Excellent Doctor
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Chmell did surgery on my knee and will be doing the same surgery on my other knee. He is an excellent surgeon who takes every possible percussion to make sure his patient will remain infection free and get the physical therapy they must have for complete success. I would and do recommend him to any one who asks!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
April 26th, 2016
Worst Experience in my Life!!!!!
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Was referred this this "doctor" for lack of better term. Although the nurse had confirmed my meds, he was aware of them. He did not introduce himself. He barely reviewed my Xrays that he had requested nor the MRIs that I had brought. He did not look at my knees and left me crying in the room. I will never return to him - a great disappointment!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 5th, 2016
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
My overall experience with Dr. Chmell and his staff was outstanding.Preop and post op education was excellent and helpful.Everyone was professional and knowledgeable with each visit. I highly recommend Dr. Chmell and his staff.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
January 13th, 2016
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Amazing orthopedic surgeon.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
July 16th, 2015
Retired teacher
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
This was the second knee replacement I've had with Dr. Chmell. First one was successful and the second one even better. They now use a pain injection prior to closing which greatly reduces post op pain. That was greatly appreciated.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 26th, 2015
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Can't say enough good things about Dr. Chmell! He is a great dr. & has helped to improve my lifestyle tremendously.

5.0 of 5
February 26th, 2015
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Chmell is by far, the best orthopedic surgeon in the city of Rockford.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
February 24th, 2015
Feel better than ever
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I had osteoarthritis in my hips at a fairly young age. Dr. Chmell replaced first the right then the left. I got back to normal daily activities quickly!

5.0 of 5
February 24th, 2015
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Mike is not only a great surgan but he becomes your friend. He really cares. I had both knees done by him at the same time at age 74. It turned out great I am doing triathlons biking and everything I did befor e the surgery. Wait no longer go see him. You will be glad you did
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
September 10th, 2011
Wait time
20.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
This doctor came into the room where I was and looked at my knee ex rays and gave me a card to see another doctor. Never said a word to me. I dont know why he didnt accept me. The doctors assistant told me I had a torn meniscus I already knew that. I thought Dr. Chmell was a knee specialist, that is reason I choose him. I will never recommend him to anyone. The visit was a waste of my time.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
December 19th, 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Michael Chmell, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Rockford, IL.