Dr. Michael Grant MD Patient Reviews

  • Surgical Oncology Dallas, TX

Overall Rating

4.4
  • 72 patient ratings
  • 25 comments

Last 12 months:

no change

25 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    76%
  • Satisfied
    10%
  • Neutral
    0%
  • Dissatisfied
    6%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    8%
  • Wait Time 12 minutes
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

5.0 of 5
April 13th, 2017
A great surgeon
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Grant saved my life in 1997 after agreeing g to remove a lump that was suggested by Komen to be examined via needle biopsy . I had a bad feeling about it. Dr Grant said " I respect your knowledge of your body, so I agree to surgically remove it." Good call . The lump was not cancer but guess what he found all around it ? I am now a 30 year cancer survivor ! Imagine my surprise, two weeks ago , to see him in pre op while I was waiting with hubby before my husband's minor procedure . I know there is NO way Dr. Grant remembered us but he sure acted like he did . Very friendly to me and hubs. He went out of his way to wish hubby the best on his procedure . If I am unlucky enough to have a recurrence , I will return to Dr. Grant. We are lucky to have such a skilled surgeon !
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 13th, 2017
A great surgeon
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Grant saved my life in 1997 after agreeing g to remove a lump that was suggested by Komen to be examined via needle biopsy . I had a bad feeling about it. Dr Grant said " I respect your knowledge of your body, so I agree to surgically remove it." Good call . The lump was not cancer but guess what he found all around it ? I am now a 30 year cancer survivor ! Imagine my surprise, two weeks ago , to see him in pre op while I was waiting with hubby before my husband's minor procedure . I know there is NO way Dr. Grant remembered us but he sure acted like he did . Very friendly to me and hubs. He went out of his way to wish hubby the best on his procedure . If I am unlucky enough to have a recurrence , I will return to Dr. Grant. We are lucky to have such a skilled surgeon !
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
December 14th, 2016
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
He is very rude, brief, arrogant, and condescending. He provided lack of explanation with my concerns.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
October 17th, 2016
GKing
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
MD is wonderful and knowledgeable. Certain office staff rude and unprofessional on all levels.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
December 3rd, 2015
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I was fortunate to get this surgeon to do my lumpectomy. He explained my options and the follow up was great.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
December 1st, 2015
Best Cancer Surgeon in Dallas!!!!!
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Grant went above and beyond to save me and my breast and I am alive and kicking and grateful!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
June 18th, 2015
Not a fan of this doctor
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I am so glad others thought he was rude and rushed them. While I was waiting for him in the exam room I was reading a book. He came in and yanked it from my hand and started his exam. He showed me in the mirror what my breast would look like after Lumpectomy (he did not tell me what he was doing). He explained the difference between a Lumpectomy and a Mastectomy and said he would not be upset about my decision. When I made my decision he was very upset so I told him I would do the Lumpectomy and radiation and look like a freak. That also upset him. I did not like his personality or his bed side manor, thought he was very rude. Will seek a second opinion.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
January 17th, 2014
Excellence
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I have been seeing Dr. Grant for three years. He is the most caring compassionate Dr. I have ever been to. He has been my surgeon through cancer, basically he saved my life and I highly recommend him to anyone who needs a Dr. for problem concerning the breast. I thank God everday for him!!!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
July 11th, 2013
Eases my concersn
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I had an non-malignant lymph node that was larger than normal and couldn't get the answers I needed to feel comfortable. My partner an OR nurse and my doctor said let's get you in to see Dr. Grant. He didn't speak down to me, but he explained things that made it easy to understand what it was that was going on. He wanted to watch the lymph node and when it started growing again, he said let's just take it out and then we don't need to worry about it as it could turn into cancer. So we had the surgery to remove that lymph node. Then one year later in the other breast I was diagnosed with DCIS breast cancer. I couldn't have had a better doctor. I felt comfortable with him. He explained things to me where I could understand. My partner who has worked with him says that when he does surgery, he is so conscientious about how the breast looks after surgery as much as he is about getting all the cancer out. He doesn't want you to feel uncomfortable about how you look after the surgery. He has the whole of you he is concerned with -- not just getting the cancer out.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
June 27th, 2013
Wait time
5 minutes
Dr. Grant was the worst doctor I have ever experienced. He performed a mastectomy for breast cancer and told me he got it all and I didn't need any more treatment. He did not get it all and I had a reoccurrence 1 year later. I saw him and he lied about my pathology report to hide the fact that it stated that I had positive margins after my surgery. Stay Away!! He gets zero stars in my book. I had to have chemotherapy and have my ovaries removed after the reoccurrence and I would have only needed radiation therapy if he had read my pathology report after my mastectomy. He is a disgrace to his profession.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 31st, 2013
Great Dr.
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I would recommend Dr. Grant, absolutely, He was my Dr. for 5 years and he was so wonderful and pleasant. I was in the Breast Cancer Research program (Star) and my experience of hopefully helping others was a Blessing. I appreciate Dr. Grant and his work in Breast Cancer Research and cure.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
May 6th, 2013
unfavorable review
Wait time
5 minutes
I find it very bizarre that a few months ago I wrote an unfavorable review of Dr. Grant. My review stayed up for about two weeks and then disappeared. I find him short, to the point of being rude. He asks if I have questions, and then when I ask something, he will say, "Now, why would you need to know that?" or "You'd have to have a medical degree to understand the answer to that." I'm glad that he is not the only good breast surgeon around!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Michael Grant, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Dallas, TX.

Doctor

Dr. John Obrien Jr

47 years experience

3.0 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Howard Derrick III

45 years experience

4.7 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Bruce Smith

39 years experience

4.5 of 5