The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Michael Bowers Is this you?

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Michael Bowers?

Type 2 Diabetes

Type 2 diabetes is a chronic disease in which your body is unable to maintain a normal blood sugar (glucose) level.

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Michael Bowers?

Ratings and Reviews

24 Ratings with 10 Comments

  • Excellent
    10
  • Great
    2
  • Good
    0
  • Poor
    2
  • Bad
    10
  • Excellent
    10
  • Great
    2
  • Good
    0
  • Poor
    2
  • Bad
    10

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments
Wait Time
12.7 min

Showing 24 Ratings with 10 Comments

1.0 Rating

February 21st, 2017

Horrible when telling him about all the recent doctors I have been to and not even looking at my test results he told me to see a physiatrist, which offended me and I will not be coming back. No doctor should ever talk to a patient like that and he's always rushes you out the office without explaining tests or treatment. Horrible doctor !

Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

October 27th, 2015

He is a disgrace to the medical profession. I left in the middle of my appointment. I came to him cause I have had various tests from other doctors and he told me without looking at the tests or results on my first visit with him (3 minutes in) that I need to see a psychologist if the tests didnt show whats wrong. I was so offended. Zero bedside manner. I will never return.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

January 27th, 2015

Rude, inconsiderate. He is in a rush and has no time for his patients. If you have any problems forget it. He complained that my issues were difficult. The things he said were rude and hurtful. He entered the room negatively with an unkind comment not even saying hello.

Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

January 13th, 2014

Dr Bowers is the worst doctor I have ever seen. No eye contact, and he let me explain my symptoms for about 5 seconds before he cut me off. He told me he sent in a prescription to a pharmacy and left the room so quickly I thought he was called away due to an emergency. Well guess what, he was done with me and never had the courtesy to say so. Eventually a nurse came in with my paperwork. Thanks Dr Bowers for making me more sick than I already am.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

June 8th, 2012

Dr. Bowers is a very personable and caring physician.

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

April 27th, 2012

For 10 minutes that Dr Bowers saw me, about 5 minutes he was typing feverishly on his laptop. After that, he finally looked at me and answered all my questions "I dont know".

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

July 30th, 2011

too rushed to. check drug side effects

We saw dr bowers after my daughter had a large kidney stone. Upon reviewing her meds, he immediatel said none of my daughters mess would give her kidney stones. Yet another dr we saw later said indeed one of her meds has a high incidence of kidney stones. He is too rushed to give good care. To make matters worse, the office gave us an innacurate list of lab addresses, so we had to go to two. When we read he'd lab number 2 and waited an hour, we found out dr bowers didn't process the order for the blood work! No problem there, as we wont be going back.

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

2.3 Rating

July 26th, 2011

Chain is only as strong as the weakest link

Dr.Bowers seems to be a nice person but for some reason seems incredibly rushed. The wait time is agonizingly long and if you add up the wait time outside at the reception and wait time within the exam room its a good 30 minutes or more. This with the rushed conversation with Dr. Bowers doesn't seem something worth the wait after all. Anyway my point is the staff is sub par and although Dr.Bowers means well, his rushed approach further diminishes the patients will to wait for this kind of service.

Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

2.3 Rating

June 30th, 2011

There isn't anything wrong with Dr. Bowers, but he always seems rushed and I feel like my questions irritate him or are a waste of time. I think he's ok at treating symptoms, but not the cause. I've been seeing him off and on for years and my biggest complaint is about this practice. It is the WORST. The staff are sub par and I leave feeling worse than when I came in. I agree with the other review about this being a factory. Because of the lack of professionalism, I can't understand how this practice has stayed open.

Wait time
20.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

January 10th, 2011

Great Doctor - But Factory Medical Care

Let me start by saying how great Dr. Bowers is. Compassionate, caring, and easy to talk to. If you are looking for a doctor to just prescribe your pill of choice then look somewhere else. He actually tries to solve your problems not medicate them. The only down side to the Fairfax Family Practice Center is the factory type approach to medical care that this practice has implemented. They cram so many patients into a day, if you dont demand the attention you deserve, you could get a doctor that will just wham, bam, thank you for your co-pay and send you on your way. So request Dr. Bowers by name.

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

May 30th, 2017

1.0 Rating

June 28th, 2016

  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Michael Bowers is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Reston, VA.

  • Dr. Nathan Tran

    Dr. Nathan Tran

    Family Medicine

    Reston, VA 0 mi

    4.7
    (14)
    15
  • Dr. Augustine Dolcich

    Dr. Augustine Dolcich

    Family Medicine

    Reston, VA 0 mi

    4.5
    (17)
    26
  • Dr. Andrew Harding

    Dr. Andrew Harding

    Family Medicine

    Reston, VA 0 mi

    4.3
    (5)
    32