ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr

The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Michael Gelb Is this you?

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Michael Gelb?

Bipolar Disorder

Bipolar Disorder

Get the facts about bipolar disorder, including the different types and symptoms of each.

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Michael Gelb?

Ratings and Reviews

14 Ratings with 5 Comments

  • Excellent
    5
  • Great
    1
  • Good
    1
  • Poor
    0
  • Bad
    7
  • Excellent
    5
  • Great
    1
  • Good
    1
  • Poor
    0
  • Bad
    7

Quality Rating

Neutral

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments
Wait Time
8.8 min
Appropriate Followup

Showing 14 Ratings with 5 Comments

1.0 Rating

April 25th, 2015

Paid thousands of dollars for nothing

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

August 22nd, 2013

Dr. Gelb should not work with patients but rather in a lab writing for medical journals. During a crisis he is more interested in CYA of his notes than helping the patient!

Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

November 14th, 2011

Dr. Gelb is the best psychiatrist I've ever been to. I appreciated how much time he spent with me. I moved and have been trying to find a new psychiatrist in my area, but haven't met any one as good as him.

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

August 4th, 2011

For 2 months I agonized being on Geodone. It was destroying my life and instead of taking me off of this horrible drug, he kept insisting on increasing my dose. I ended up in the hospital and it took me another 2 months to recover. I finally made it back to work and have been more than functional for the past 1 1/2 years. Dr. Gelb was more interested in working with my boyfriend than in helping me. My boyfriend became irritated in the way he totally disregarded my care. I ended up only using Dr. Gelb for my medication referral. I would never recommend his service. He is more impressed with medication than in truly helping patients.

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

December 18th, 2009

I was unable to find any other psychiatrist who both took my coverage and was within a mile of my home; I literally called 30 doctors and all were either booked out two months or not accepting new patients (I later heard from a few sources in the psychiatric community that there is quite a shortage of MDs in Portland). Dr. Gelb was available about a month out, so I took the appointment. In the interim, my depression greatly worsened and I was hospitalized. I hate to say it, but he might've intentionally "thrown the interview" when he found out that I had pretty severe depression because he didn't want to deal with a more difficult case. He was arrogant, humorless, patronizing, impatient, and negative--he didn't bother to shake my hand or in any way attempt to make me feel welcome. Quite the contrary: he said in the first five minutes: "let's get this straight: if you're not seeing this therapist, I WILL NOT work with you," without even giving me a chance to express my excitement about working with said therapist. I left there quite depressed and a bit angry about some of the things he had said. I only saw him once, but that was quite enough; perhaps he's pleasant enough once you get to know him, if you don't need complicated care; I certainly can't comment on his competence, either. But it seems to me that bedside manner is of utmost import if you're a shrink--if you can't even be nice to your new patients, I really think it's time to throw in the proverbial towel. Perhaps I should've anticipated sub-par service since he was the only shrink psychiatrist available, when all of his peers were busy. Dunno.

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

4.0 Rating

July 24th, 2017

5.0 Rating

December 17th, 2015

5.0 Rating

March 20th, 2015

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

1.0 Rating

February 6th, 2015

5.0 Rating

February 4th, 2015

1.0 Rating

February 3rd, 2015

1.0 Rating

August 23rd, 2014

  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Michael Gelb is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Portland, OR.

  • Dr. Ronald Pfeiffer

    Neurology, Psychiatry

    Portland, OR 0 mi

    5.0
    (3)
    44
  • Dr. Barry Oken

    Neurology, Psychiatry

    Portland, OR 0 mi

    5.0
    (2)
    35
  • Dr. Amela Blekic

    Psychiatry, Neurology

    Portland, OR 0 mi

    5.0
    (1)
    27