Dr. Michael Thomas MD Patient Reviews

  • Endocrinology, Diabetes and Metabolism Raleigh, NC

Overall Rating

3.5
  • 31 patient ratings
  • 13 comments

Last 12 months:

4.0 (+ 0.5)

13 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    48%
  • Satisfied
    13%
  • Neutral
    3%
  • Dissatisfied
    13%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    23%
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Wait Time 11.7 minutes

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

3.0 of 5
August 7th, 2016
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Excellent doctor. Very good to work with.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
March 25th, 2015
ready to move on
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
The quintessential practice that will make decisions based on test results (one) in spite of overwhelming symptoms (at least in my case). My research - medical sites, not message boards - clearly indicated that the tests they ordered ARE NOT conclusive and further investigation and testing should be done if symptoms are clearly presenting. I find Dr Thomas to be nice enough and willing to answer questions, but the PA isn't as knowledgeable as I would like. Simple testing like tsh/free t4... did not order a FT4 until Dr Thomas had to tell her it was fundamental for determining thyroid function. really? I KNEW THAT. She's young and only a couple yrs out of school, so maybe that's the reason, but pretty basic stuff. In several cases, I felt that she did not confer with Dr Thomas as she stated and made unilateral decisions and I am NOT comfortable with that. I'm looking for another endo - one that will look at the entire picture and not make decisions based on the results of one test. frustrated.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
August 22nd, 2013
Excellent!
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Everyone from setting the appointment, nurses, P. A. Eileen Andres, Dr. Thomas, the receptionist, lab..everyone made me feel comfortable and welcome. Staff is very knowledgeable, Everything is under one roof and at one time! Sonogram, biopsy of the thyroid. No back and forth appointments and all within an hour! I would recommend anyone needing an Endocrinologist come here!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 7th, 2013
Really good experience!
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I'm shocked that there's actually an office around that knows how important my time is, and that I don't want to come back a hundred times for a problem. The doctor took his time with me and made sure I understand all my treatment options before making any decisions. I'd recommend this place to anyone who wants that special attention that doctors offices don't give anymore.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
December 2nd, 2012
Would not recommend - much better endocrinologists in the area
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
1) Had to wait 3 weeks for prescription refill while I was completely out of medicine. The excuse from the PA was they are understaffed at the moment. The PA also claimed they only received 1 FAX from my pharmacist, when in fact they received many. After contacting the doctor myself, it still took 2 weeks to get my prescription refilled. Any good doctor/PA would have immediately refilled the prescription.2) Does not understand Hashimoto's. PA claimed that patients typically don't have under active thyroid symptoms until TSH is over 10, which is absolutely absurd.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
October 23rd, 2012
Best for non-diabetes care in Raleigh
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
This practice doesn't do diabetes, but that's why I went there. I had a thyroid nodule and it would have taken several months to get in with another endocrinologist. But because these guys don't clog up their schedules with diabetic patients, I was able to get in within two weeks. Thank goodness too...it was thyroid cancer.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
August 28th, 2012
Unhappy patient
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I saw Dr Thomas to confirm a diagnosis from my family practioner. He gave me his opinion but did not follow-up. He told me to let my symptoms run their course. I was unhappy with his office and I thought it felt dirty.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
May 20th, 2012
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
After reading the reviews here I wouldn't send my enemies to see him, let alone go for my own health. Sounds like he needs to fire his staff and retire. Or at least learn there is such a thing as the internet and work on getting his act together.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
November 22nd, 2011
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I can't tell you how frustrating and disturbing it has been dealing with his office. If anyone knows of another Dr. in this area please let me know!!! He needs to clean house and start over again with people who can schedule appointments to see the doctor when he's NOT on vacation- and that's the least of my complaints.....
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
May 22nd, 2011
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I went to see Dr. Thomas for my newly diagnosed thyroid nodule and hypothyroidism. He acted like I was an inconvience to his schedule because his nurse practitioner wasn't able to work that afternoon due to having to go home to her baby. He didn't want to see any of his patients because of this. But I was seen and because my problem wasn't what he was doing a current study on he wasn't interested in helping me with my problem. Because of him I still haven't been able to get the nerve up to find another doctor because I am concerned that they will not want to treat my condition. Very disappointed with the practice as a whole.Not a friendly office at all.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
October 20th, 2010
Looking for a new doctor
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
The office staff is horrendous. A little politeness would go a long way, but they can't seem to be bothered. The front desk receptionists are always abrupt and dismissive. I receive better customer service at a gas station.Obtaining an initial appointment was easy. Getting in for a follow-up has been impossible. I have literally called the office numerous times... no one is calling me back.Courtney, one of Dr. Thomas' PAs, was excellent. I really liked her. But then Dr. Thomas was brought in and spent five minutes repeating exactly what Courtney had said. How is this a good use of my time (or his)?I am looking for a new endocrinologist.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
September 21st, 2010
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Slow in giving test results.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Michael Thomas, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Raleigh, NC.

Doctor

Dr. George Stamataros

11 years experience

5.0 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Khushbu Chandarana

10 years experience

5.0 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Carly Kelley

8 years experience

be the first to rate this Doctor