Dr. Michael Black MD Patient Reviews

  • Family Medicine Youngstown, OH

Overall Rating

3.7
  • 30 patient ratings
  • 7 comments

Last 12 months:

4.7 (+ 1.0)

30 Patient Reviews

  • Excellent
    50%
  • Great
    13%
  • Good
    10%
  • Poor
    3%
  • Bad
    23%
  • Friendly Staff
  • Promptness
  • Wait Time 9.1 minutes
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Bedside Manner
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Easy Appointments

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

1.0 of 5
March 19th, 2016
Dr black
He is the most unkind. Mean individual I've ever met. I switched to his partner. And I've actively heard him talk badly about me. And make fun of me. He's also an alcoholic. Anybody with pain problems he will tell his staff. That person is on smack. Extremely unprofessional person and not very smart either. If you had an active heart attack. I swear he would not know what to do
Was this review helpful? Yes No

3.0 of 5
February 9th, 2016
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Worst doctor I've ever been to. Completely uncompassionate. Go visit Michael Black if you want him to make you feel like a piece of dirt
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
December 19th, 2015
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
My family was very disappointed in Dr Black as a medical professional. He misdiagnosed a family member that potentially could have resulted in death. Thankfully a second opinion saved her life.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
August 11th, 2015
Highly Recommend
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
My two teenage sons and I see Dr. Black. He is personable, professional, and does much to put you at ease. He is great with my son who has autism and helpful in medication oversight. Also, his staff is proficient and blood draws are as good as they get! Dr. Black is good about answering questions but I sometimes feel a bit rushed in asking them. As a consumer, I appreciate that there is minimal wait time for my appointment - perhaps this is the trade-off for little chit-chat. If I call in with questions, I always receive a prompt and satisfactory answer.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
August 28th, 2012
Refused to see me to discuss treatment options, then screamed at me.
Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I have been on narcotic pain medications through a pain clinic for three years. Dr. Black had been my doctor for 8 years, as well. He was very familiar with my condition and my pain levels, and when I saw him last, he said he would only prescribe one month of my pain medication, to last until I was able to get to another pain clinic. He actually only gave me two weeks worth of pain medication, and when I ran out, I called and left a message letting him know. I was called back by a woman who told me that Dr. Black would not write any more prescriptions for narcotics, and that he called in a prescription for an anti-inflammatory. Anti-inflammatories are not used for my condition, because it is not an inflammatory problem. After telling the woman this, she called back again to tell me that Dr. Black still refused to give me any other options. After several more phone calls like this, I asked why I could not speak to him myself, so I could discuss my condition and other medication options. I was scheduled an appointment, and when Dr. Black walked in the door, he walked up to me, six inches from my face, and literally started screaming at me. He screamed that he would NOT prescribe narcotics, I needed to stop asking, and he went on for five whole minutes. I have never been so humiliated or berated by someone who is supposed to be caring for me. I started crying, and then he said he would send me a letter dismissing me as a patient. I'm still so upset by this... someone screaming in your face is a horrible thing to go through. I was never able to see him to speak to him about my condition and other options, before he exploded on me and made me feel like trash. Before this, I thought he was a good doctor, but now I would not recommend him to anyone - refusing to even discuss my treatment with me, and instead behaving the way that he did - that is NOT anywhere near the Hippocratic Oath.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 16th, 2011
Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
My husband and I love Dr. Black. My previous dr., I would wait 2 hours just to get into a room, then another 30 mins to see him. Then, he came up with sometime off the wall. I am never in the waiting room at Dr. Black's longer than 10 mins and never in the room longer than 10 mins before he comes in. Then, he takes his time with us, answers all of our questions, wether it's my appointment, mu husband's, or our daughter's. He looks up answers if he is unsure. Dr. Black is a wonderful doctor!

5.0 of 5
July 13th, 2010
Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
My husband & I go to him & Love him. Makes you feel VERY comfortable.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
June 2nd, 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 18th, 2017
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
October 27th, 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
May 14th, 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
October 29th, 2015
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Michael Black, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Youngstown, OH.