The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Michael Mellman Is this you?

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Michael Mellman?

Diabetic Hyperlipidemia

Diabetic Hyperlipidemia

Facts about diabetic hyperlipidemia, including the relationship between blood sugar and cholesterol, and who is most at risk.

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Michael Mellman?

Ratings and Reviews

75 Ratings with 21 Comments

  • Excellent
    36
  • Great
    8
  • Good
    12
  • Poor
    3
  • Bad
    16
  • Excellent
    36
  • Great
    8
  • Good
    12
  • Poor
    3
  • Bad
    16

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
21.4 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Showing 75 Ratings with 21 Comments

5.0 Rating

August 7th, 2017

Best Endo doctor in the business!

Dr. Mellman is a wonderful physician, he always has time to listen. I know that I can ask or tell him anything. He is always positive even when I feel that I could have been a better patient. His appointments run on time 99% of the time & usually its the patient running late that may delay an appointment. I have to drive 25 minutes to see him & he is worth the drive.

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

July 16th, 2017

Mrs Irene Fitlin

I find Dr. Mellman to be an Excellent Doctor. He truly is concerned with the welfare of his patients.

Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

January 29th, 2017

Graves disease

Dr Mellman has been a. Big h.elp with my Graves Disease and thyroid eye disease.

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

August 23rd, 2016

Dr. Mellman was dismissive in treating my father's diabetes. He was curt and only adjusted his insulin levels after his second admittance to the hospital in one month. He finally adjusted his insulin after the whole family made an appearance in his office. He had my father write down pages and pages of blood sugar levels to mail into the office. I am convinced no one ever looked at them. Despite this, my dad saw Dr. Mellman as scheduled and diligently continued to write down insulin levels three times a day and mail them in. He was admitted the hospital earlier this month with blood sugar of over 700. He was discharged without my family ever laying eyes on Dr. Mellman and died 6 days later. He had more than diabetes in the end the blame lies with many but I hope that in the future, Dr. Mellman recognizes that all patients are people with lives and families and deserve the respect and treatment the Hypocratic Oath is designed to provide.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

April 1st, 2016

Mr
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

1.0 Rating

January 7th, 2016

Wrong cancer diagnosis

I had a nodule on my thyroid and had it biopsied by Dr. Mellman. The nurse called me to tell me I had thyroid cancer and had to have surgery to completely remove it. I went for second opinion to UM Sylvester Cancer center and had their head pathologist look at my biopsy results. He determined that the cells were not cancerous after all. Dr. Mellman showed zero care, never bothered to call me himself or give me any suggestions as to what my other options were. Had I listened to him I would have to live my life with a large scar o my neck and without such an important organ such as thyroid.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

October 27th, 2015

Dr. Michael Mellman has been my endocrinologist for many years

Dr. Michael Mellman has been my endocrinologist for many years and although he is busy...when it's you're turn he takes time and has pa personal interest in your health.

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

January 8th, 2014

Been a patient for several years.

Dr. Mellman has always listened to my needs. He never makes me feel rushed or that i am an intrusion in his busy day. He has late office hours on Thursdays to accomodate those of us who have to work and can not take the time off. it does not matter to him if you have insurance, he is there for the purpose of his patients. i think the world of him and have referred other patients to him and will continue to do so.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

January 7th, 2014

I'm so glad I changed doctors

I went to him several years ago and just came across this site. So I wanted to add my two cents. After going to a competent doctor now, the new doc asked me if Dr. Mellman was practicing medicine in the 18th century. I am so glad I got out of the practice before he did any more damage to me. If you had no stars, that is what I would have checked. I am sure he is involved in many law suits.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

May 5th, 2013

Former Patient

I think the worst doctor I have ever had the displeasure of not being treated by. Spends less than 2 minutes with you, asks no questions, lab results are wrong, does not call when results are alarming (even if they are wrong), staff is rude, calls in wrong prescriptions, will not give you your results. My primary had to threaten to report him to get the results, and then was so alarmed by them immediately redid the tests, which produced correct and completely different results. This guy is not a doctor, he is a money machine, and incompetent. His staff is even more incompetent, if that is possible. Stay away from this guy if you are being treated for anything. I have filed a formal complaint with the State.

Wait time
5 minutes
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

April 1st, 2013

Would not believe this was possible if it did not happen to me

I have seen few bad doctors in my time, but Mellman cannot be even categorized in the same group. There is no resemblance here to any medicine, not the staff, not the setting, not the jack in the box himself. 5 minutes total was called a first visit, not asking any questions, not asking or listening to history, not offering any tests or options. The conclusion sentence verbatim: “ if your referring physician told you I can help you, they misinformed you” . That is coming from the mouse of so-called endocrinologist in relation to endocrine disorder. WOW. There are some individuals that should not be called doctors and who do not have the knowledge, the background or the morals to serve in this profession, but this person should be kept away from seeing patients by law order.

Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

February 20th, 2013

Impatient and incompetent

I was a diabetic patient for 13 years. When the blood sugar went bad so did he. Put on insulin shots which created highs and very lows, passing out. When asked for a formula for the amount of insulin to take he did not provide it or any meaningful guidance. When asked about a diabetic pump he po-pooed it for type 2 diabetics. After a year plus of this I insisted on the pump. Only at that time did he order a blood test to see what my was insulin output. The results showed my pancreas no longer worked! After my own research I got a Medtronics Mini pump. The Metronics people taught me more in 2 weeks, including the formulas built into the pump and have worked with me in managing my blood sugar. Also, got a new doctor who is competent and whose practice is engaged in your treatment. Stay away from Dr. Mellman!

Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Michael Mellman is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Boynton Beach, FL.

  • Dr. Maria Gutierrez

    Endocrinology, Diabetes and Metabolism, Internal Medicine

    Boynton Beach, FL 0 mi

    4.0
    (30)
    23
  • Dr. Vanessa Rodriguez

    Dr. Vanessa Rodriguez

    Endocrinology, Diabetes and Metabolism, Internal Medicine

    Boynton Beach, FL 0.29 mi

    4.1
    (47)
    18
  • Dr. Paul Casanova-Romero

    Dr. Paul Casanova-Romero

    Endocrinology, Diabetes and Metabolism, Internal Medicine

    Boynton Beach, FL 2.19 mi

    4.3
    (12)
    22