advertisement
Browse Health
Family Practitioner, Primary Care Doctor, General Practitioner
33 years of experience
Accepting new patients

Patient Reviews

Patient Reviews ?

Overall Rating:
3.5
  •  
Total Ratings

18

Total Reviews

12

Ratings
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star
Ease of Appointment:
  •  
Promptness:
  •  
Courteous Staff:
  •  
Accurate Diagnosis:
  •  
Bedside Manner:
  •  
Spends Time with Me:
  •  
Follows Up After Visit:
  •  
Average Wait: 10 minutes
Ease of Appointment:
  •  
Promptness:
  •  
Courteous Staff:
  •  
Accurate Diagnosis:
  •  
Bedside Manner:
  •  
Spends Time with Me:
  •  
Follows Up After Visit:
  •  
Average Wait: 10 minutes
Write a Review
by Mike on Jul 9th, 2015

I wanted to first off thank you for your time, I entered our meeting quite apprehensive but you immediately helped me feel at ease, I'm not sure I have ever felt as comfortable in that kind of a situation before. I'm not quite sure how to articulate what I experienced with our meeting, I can say it felt like a life altering experience. For years I have struggled with feelings I could not explain and being classed as an addict when abstaining from alcohol seemed very easy to me, was very confusing. I felt for the first time that someone, you, where able to peg me (for lack of a better term) quickly and accurately. Everything we discussed in that meeting made sense to me, it all seemed to fall into place. Bad self image, low self esteem, failed relationships, using alcohol to mask that or to fit in, it all made perfect sense. When we discussed the various therapists I had seen you nailed it again, I'm a people please'r you said and I gave them what they wanted, I was cured! I cant tell you how spot on that was! Dr Levy I want thank you, you made such an impact on me and I am so grateful that our paths crossed. I left thinking, how can I see this guy again, you made such a positive impression on me. Thanks again, you have been a true inspiration!

by LISA on Jun 17th, 2015

I was addicted to herion, very sceptical when I saw Dr Levy, but he was very caring and professional at my appointments. I love his staff they can be firm but always pleasant, they really do care. i am 5 years sober and owe it to Dr Levy and Staff for the care ans support they gave me. I did read some of these review and it amazes me they negativity makes you wonder if they did not stay clean and blame the doctor. sad

  •  
Incompetent show details Incompetent
by Worst "Dr" I have ever met in my life on Dec 25th, 2014

I would never recommend "Dr" Levy to anyone with an addiction. If you are addicted to opiates, all he will do is give you suboxone and charge you 360 dollars for the first visit for it and then only give you enough for one or two weeks before you have to cough up another 160 dollars for every visit thereafter to get your next prescription refill. It does not seem like he is very knowledgeable at all about addictions. He does not seem to really care about his patients. He wants to substitute the pills you were addicted to, to another of the legal kind (suboxone). Suboxone made more money in sales last year than viagra. But I digress.... Why does he want you to see him every two weeks to get a prescription? Seriously, nothing happens in the five minutes/160 dollars that you are meeting with him. He writes your script, maybe asks how you are doing, and is just generally unpleasant. He is a DO and really does not have any credentials to treat addiction; I believe he just decided one day that addiction is where the money is at and decided to become an addiction "specialist". I would guess his success rate of people going through his program and actually staying clean to be very very low. My guess would be lower than 5 percent. He comes across very egotistical, rude, and extremely unpleasant. He talks down to you and comes across like he is always accusing you of something or other, even if you have nothing to hide and are a truthful and honest person. It is just weird. I have never met a doctor like this in my life. I do not normally write reviews but this man is horrible and seems to be incompetent.

Mark as Helpful  | 1 person found this helpful Report Abuse
  •  
sub patient show details sub patient
by omar on Aug 28th, 2014

My initial impression of Dr. Levy was that of a shrewd man who was blowing things out of proportion. I didnt realize how much the chemicals had consumed me. I'm college educated in pharmacology, and have spent 100's of hour reading medical journals and testimonials about addiction. I had very little faith in this treatment as I had been off from all substances for 6 months last year, however the cravings never did stop. And just like the lays slogan I'll bet you cant have just one, so was true with the substances I ended up back on em again for almost a year before seeking help. His treatment program has improved the my quality of life significantly and has brought back hope. And in retrospect it was my denial rather than his attitude which was the problem.

Mark as Helpful  | 1 person found this helpful Report Abuse
  •  
Receptionist show details Receptionist
by Cynthia Kay on Feb 25th, 2014

I was a patient of Dr. levy Years ago when he was the only Dr. I could find to help me with my addiction.Dr. Levy did not even act as if he cared about my recovery. I hated going to see him,,it was obviuos his main concern is the money. The good with the bad is the way I saw it. Once you are I was a patient of Dr. levy Years ago when he was the only Dr. I could find to help me with my addiction.Dr. Levy did not even act as if he cared about my recovery. I hated going to see him,,it was obviuos his main concern is the money. The good with the bad is the way I saw it. After I was off no longer forking ouI was a patient of Dr. levy Years ago when he was the only Dr. I could find to help me with my addiction.Dr. Levy did not even act as if he cared about my recovery. I hated going to see him,,it was obviuos his main concern is the money. The good witI was a patient of Dr. levy Years ago when he was the only Dr. I could find to help me with my addiction.Dr. Levy did not even act as if he cared about my recovery. I hated going to see him,,it was obviuos his main concern is the money. The good with the bad is the the bad is the way I saw it.I called his office I was a patient of Dr. levy Years ago when he was the only Dr. I could find to help me with my addiction.Dr. Levy did not even act as if he cared about my recovery. I hated going to see him,,it was obviuos his main concern is the money. The goodI was a patient of Dr. levy Years ago when he was the only Dr. I could find to help me with my addiction.Dr. Levy did not even act as if he cared about my recovery. I hated going to see him,,it was obviuos his main concern is the money. The good with the with the bad is the way I saw it. The program is 100% . There are other Dr. now that can do the same thing . A dear I was a patient of Dr. levy Years ago when he was the only Dr. I could find to help me with my addiction.Dr. Levy did not even act as if he cared about my recovery. I hated going to see him,,it was obviuos his main concern is the money. The good with the bad is the way I saw it. A dear friend needed help so I got on the phone & no surprise he does not take insurance. I did find however, there are clinics that do the same thing for less than 1/2 the cost & no matter what the Dr. is like he has to have a better bedside manner than Dr. levy

Mark as Helpful  | 2 people found this helpful Report Abuse
  •  
This program saved me show details This program saved me
by Kim on Nov 17th, 2013

I am a 43 year-old mom, cancer patient, who had been taking opiate pain medication off and on since my cancer treatment. Over the past year, I was prescribed more and more percocet to control my increasing pain levels. However...I found myself taking the medication even when I didn't need it, and realized I had myself a problem. I also knew from previous experience that discontinuing opiates is a very painful process, at least the way I had tried to do it before I met Dr Levy. He was very kind, knowledgeable, and left me feeling like he really cared about me as a person. He didn't pull any punches when it came to my level of addiction, but he discussed with me in a very respectful way- he was able to convey how serious the problem was without making me feel bad about myself in any way. He prescribed the Suboxone, with specific instructions as to when to start, how often, etc. The next day, I did start to have withdrawals, which we knew would happen. The key is to take the Suboxone when you really start to go into withdrawals, and he gave me very good, detailed signs to look for. Since my first dose of Suboxone, the withdrawals have been minimal. I was able to go to work right away. Now, I had withdrawn from opiates a couple of years ago, before I knew of Dr Levy, and the experience was brutal- just like you see in the movies when people withdraw from heroin. This time, with Dr Levy's help, once I started the Suboxone I haven't felt much at all in the way of withdrawals, although I know they are happening. It has been amazing. What is most amazing is that I have been given my life back. I have had at least 5 people I know (who have no idea what's going on) ask me what's different about me, because I look so happy and great. I don't feel like I am in prison any more- before I felt like I was being held hostage by the medication. Opiate dependance can happen to anyone, and getting help from Dr Levy made possible what seemed impossible at the time. I have dealt with a lot of different doctors in my life, and most don't have good bedside manner in my experience. Dr Levy cares, and you can tell when you talk to him. His staff is very courteous and respectful. We all work so we can make money, and Dr Levy is definitely worth the money that this program costs. One small comment I have is that I wish they would bill insurance, as the program is expensive. I would love to participate in the outpatient program they have, but simply can't afford it. Not many people can come up with that kind of money, so perhaps in the future they could consider a payment plan for the outpatient program? I get so much out of seeing him, I just feel like I am missing out by not having the means to participate in the full scope of treatment he has to offer. Thank you, Dr Levy! You have truly changed my life!!!

Mark as Helpful  | 1 person found this helpful Report Abuse
Mar 26th, 2013

I read the negative review and wow I was shocked, not the experience I had at all with Dr. Levy, I am a 20 year alcoholic and am so grateful I found Dr. Levy. 2 years sober and loving my life, I did see him weekly at first and yes he is very strict but knows addicts and we have to be commited to getting better, He did recommend his 6 week treatment program or any but said I needed treatment, but i went with a outpatient program with my insurance and he was right the information I learned was amazing and has helped me this far. I would recommend him to anyone. His staff are caring and concerned the over all experience is what helped me heal.

Mark as Helpful  | 1 person found this helpful Report Abuse
  •  
Lortab Addiction show details Lortab Addiction
Apr 13th, 2012

Dr. Levy and his staff are great, I feel he saved my life and gave me back the quality of life I was missing.

Mark as Helpful  | 2 people found this helpful Report Abuse
Jan 31st, 2012

Dr. Levy was and always has been the most professional and caring doctor in this field. He helped save my life as well as many other addicts I know. I highly recommend his services to any person in need of an addiction specialist.

Mark as Helpful  | 2 people found this helpful Report Abuse
  •  
Receptionist show details Receptionist
Dec 14th, 2011

Dr. Levy saved my marriage and husbands life through his treatment of alcohol. My husband is 1 year clean and sober. Great great doctor. I highly recommend him to anyone looking to clean up there life.

Mark as Helpful  | 1 person found this helpful Report Abuse
Aug 11th, 2010

Dr. Levy gave me an overall nervous feeling throughout the duration of our visits. I felt like he was looking down on me and gave me the arched eyebrow look when I'd disclose what I was taking and the amounts. I felt like he was reprimanding me at times and not understanding of this very personal and hard process that one goes through during a decision to get help. He charges a lot of money for the initial visit and insists that you follow up the very next day to see how the medication is working. He prescribed me my medications and told me the amounts that I was allowed to take. Well when I followed up with him and told him how I had taken the meeds, which was how he prescribed I was questioned and asked several questions about if I really needed it and told I wasn't taking it right. I found it very upsetting that he prescribed it that way and was almost testing me to see how I actually took it. He needs to understand that an addicted person doesn't need to feel victimized but supported and if he prescribes something he should expect that person to take it that way. I understand that he wants what's best for his clients and to not substitute one addiction for another but he needs to realize that I was in the very early stages of my treatment. After the 24 hour follow up I was told I needed to come back in 2 days, so in one week I saw him 3 times which was about $800, not including the very pricy medication. Then he offers a treatment program of his own which is $3,700 in full if you choose to do so. He doesn't push it on you but if someone is seeking help, it shouldn't break the bank. I am sure his demeanor may be suited for some people, but I just didn't feel compassion or understanding. I felt lectured and as if I was talking to my father and needed to face consequences of bad behavior. I have since found a new doctor and come to find out, my dosages were actually very low and he was surprised at the lecturing. Plus he's a third of the cost. Dr. Levy also makes a lot of money for only spending a maximum of 15 minutes with me. He was never disrespectful, he just made me feel nervous and intimidated and I dreaded the next appt for fear of a lecture.

Mark as Helpful  | 6 people found this helpful Report Abuse
  •  
Dr. Levy as a rehab doctor should switch to car sales... show details Dr. Levy as a rehab doctor should switch to car sales...
by A PATIENT OF HIS IN 2010 on Jun 30th, 2010

Dr. Levy is a doctor who believes he is the best in the business at what he does as an outpatient rehab doctor for alcohol to prescription pills. He talks himself up and does not delivery. He charges $3,700 for outpatient meetings that he doesn't even facilitate himself. His person assistant named Linda tries to also sell you one Dr. Levy's intensive outpatient program. She will tell you that the six month class covers all costs and you get a 6 month after care (which is basically going to Dr. Levy's outpatient meetings on Monday for one hour.) Linda will not tell you that the doctor will want and nearly force you to see him weekly at $160 and will talk to you for five minutes. He has no more care in him he has been in the business over 25 years and now seems to only care about his retirement fund. He is money hungry. I have not heard anyone personally say good things about him but I still went and he sold me on his credentials, made me sign a contract and cared less and less as each week went bye. Addicts need more help than him. Its a waste of $5,000 and on top of that he only takes one insurance. So don't expect him to take any major insurances providers because he will have to except less money than patients paying out of pocket. My experience was horrible, he didn't hold up his end of his agreement and should retire but he see's there is a lot of money to be made right now in this business and most likely won't go away for a while. Be careful and ask A LOT OF QUESTIONS IF YOU DECIDE TO SEEK HELP FROM THIS DOCTOR AND EXPECT TO PAY A LOT OF MONEY FOR AN OUTPATIENT PROGRAM.

Mark as Helpful  | 4 people found this helpful Report Abuse