Overall Review

3.2
  • 23 patient ratings
  • 10 comments

Last 12 months:

2.0 (-1.2)

10 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    39%
  • Satisfied
    13%
  • Neutral
    9%
  • Dissatisfied
    9%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    30%
  • Wait Time 26.9 minutes
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup

Showing 1 - 10 reviews

3.0 of 5
October 20th, 2016
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I have seen Dr. Samson for several years, for the same hearing loss issue. He has made many attempts at finding and solving the problem (tubes, later followed by two tympanoplasties on each ear, as each one was unsuccessful the first time). After each surgery, I go to the follow-up appointment for him to find yet another perforation in the eardrum. To this, he says, "let's wait and see if it heals over." (It never has). Because my hearing was getting worse, I recently saw a different doctor at Mass Eye & Ear, and she revealed a few big longstanding issues that my ears may have had since birth. These were things that Dr. Samson never even mentioned. I'm not saying that Dr. Samson is a bad doctor, because he's not, and we were happy with our experience with him and his staff for many years. However, there's a point when enough is enough. My specific condition may have simply been out of his league, and that is something I don't know. I commend him for continuing to try to fix my ears time and time again. Nonetheless, with each appointment at his office, it seemed more and more likely that they were just looking to make money off of an "un-fixable" patient. So, based off of my experience, I would recommend Dr. Samson to those who have smaller, less complex issues that won't take years and years to solve.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
December 24th, 2015
Arrogant Dr. and staff
Easy Appointment
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I have to agree with the majority of the other bad reviews for Dr. Samson's practice in Brunswick. Just because I asked him if he was sure about my lack of diagnosis, he snapped at me and told me he'd gone to school for x amount of years, very uncomfortable situation which he acknowledged and apologized for, but it shouldn't have happened. I wouldn't go back to this guy.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
June 24th, 2013
Knowledgeable and Thorough
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
After seeing several doctors for a pulsating carotid, Dr .Sampson finally explained the possible issues in detail, and suggested a plan of action for further diagnosis. I found him friendly, and he answered all my questions, taking the time necessary.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
July 24th, 2012
wait time
Wait time
60 minutes
This office requires you to plan for "1-1.5 hr visit". I had an appointment for my two year old mind you at 2:50 and had still not seen the dr. until 4:00. I then opened our door and confronted a nurse about the wait time and continued to wait another 15 minutes. I feel that Dr. Samson and his office is very disrespectful of their patients time and care more about their needs than their clients. I believe they double book appts. and are concerned with revenue rather than care. They are quantity over quality and I am requesting I am referred to a different pediatric ENT due to this unacceptable time expectation of theirs. This type of professionalism infuriates me.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
February 6th, 2012
Horrible bedside manner
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
I never write reviews, but Dr. Sampson's bedside manner is really, really terrible. I spoke with a friend recently and told her that I didn't have good luck with an ENT; she immediately asked if it was him. She had the same experience. I could live with this if he was a fabulous doctor- not the case. I'm voting with my feet, and going elsewhere.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
February 23rd, 2011
Terrible!
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
So rude, inconsiderate. Completely misdiagnosed my ear condition. Would NEVER see him again
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
September 22nd, 2010
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
interacted well with my son /great bedside manner
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
August 29th, 2010
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
greatdoctor
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
July 3rd, 2010
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Sampson has been very helpful in treating my condition. The wait time is usually around five minutes but his on call days you do end up waiting longer but his staff apologizes for the wait. I would highly recommend Dr. Sampson to anyone.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
June 28th, 2010
TERRIBLE DOCTOR - Drive to Portland instead of going to see him
Wait time
60 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Samson is atrocious. He has horrible bedside manner. He at first refused to put tubes in my oldest sons ears which result in a Developmental Delay which required 2 years of occupational and speech therapy. He has an appalling bedside manner. Unfortunately he is the only ENT doctor in the area. He wants $15 for each of my sons to get copies of their files and HE determines what information I get. His office staff is horrendous to deal with. They are all EXTRAORDINARILY rude. They have a small staff and he is the only physician yet they say it takes 30 days to get the medical records. I hated having to deal with him, his staff and his entire operation. I am so glad that we are moving. I would tell anyone to drive to Portland and find another ENT rather than use him.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Michael Samson, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Topsham, ME.

Doctor

Dr. Charles Gasser

33 years experience

1.0 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Mace Brindley

13 years experience

4.5 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Robert Warner

36 years experience

4.8 of 5