ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr

The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Michael Shim Is this you?

Filter Reviews

11 Ratings • 7 Comments

4.1
  • 8
  • 0
  • 1
  • 0
  • 2

Quality Rating

Highly Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
9 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Michael Shim?

Showing 11 of 11 Ratings

Very Caring Informative Doctor

Posted on March 11th, 2017

Dr. Shim went over my issues and treated me with care!

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

appointment

Posted on October 24th, 2014

I met with Dr. Shim to discuss an up coming colonoscopy. He was very nice and took a lot of time with me. I am concerned however about the operation site itself. It is in a sort of strip mall setting not a hospital. I hope it is as professionally run and sterile as I would expect from a hospital.

Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Concerns

Posted on August 23rd, 2014

Dr. Shim is a fine doctor. My concern is with one nurse. When asked, "What is a node (nodule) she said, "Look it up on your computer when you go home." There were three listings on a sheet of paper handed to me which concerned my colonoscopy; polyps, hemorrhoids and nodes (nodules). I know what polyps and hemmerhoids are, but not nodes. I didn't connect that nodes could be lymph nodes. I wanted a definition, not a flippant rebuke. I was really shocked because I've been a cancer patients and my experience with the nursing staffs at all the cancer specialists I have been a patient of have the most wonderful nursing staffs. As a retired teacher I wondered if she really didn't know the definition and I would think all nursing personnel should know what the definitions of medical terms are in the particular field of medicine they are working in. I have to go back in three years because I didn't handle the prep as well as I should have; but I wonder now if another venue would be better for me. The doctor who did my colonoscopy seven years ago has retired, and I recall the nurse assisting him was terrific. Oh well, cudos to Paulina, she was very sweet. But I think all nursing staff should know the answers to basic terminology in that office to not offend patients, even when it's very busy.

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on November 10th, 2012

The staff and Dr shim were excellent. He monitored my treatment and made sure everything was done to get to through it successfully. We beat that problem and I have an upcoming appt on Nov 12th to tackle a new one. Grateful to have Dr Shim and have complete confidence in his ability. MWO

Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Great

Posted on January 29th, 2012

Worked efficiently and was very understanding and knowledgeable about my problem.

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Didn't Listen

Posted on September 29th, 2011

Cattle call appointment.. Get them in get them out. Did not listen to a word that was said.

Doctor's Response

I am sorry you felt that way. Please let us know how we can help you more to your satisfaction.

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Excellent in all respects

Posted on July 8th, 2011

I was very pleased with Dr. Shim and his staff in every way I found his service Excellent. I had a colonoscopy and a endoscopy. I will add at 79 years.

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on April 25th, 2017

Three Stars

Posted on December 22nd, 2016

Five Stars

Posted on September 22nd, 2014

One Star

Posted on August 17th, 2014

  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Michael Shim is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Oceanside, CA.