Dr. Michael Smitherman MD Patient Reviews

Overall Review

2.9
  • 36 patient ratings
  • 23 reviews

Last 12 months:

2.6 (-0.3)

23 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    36%
  • Satisfied
    6%
  • Neutral
    11%
  • Dissatisfied
    11%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    36%
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Wait Time 11.1 minutes
  • Appropriate Followup

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

1.0 of 5
January 7th, 2017
BIGGER PAIN THAN WHAT IS ALREADY INSIDE YOUR BODY
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
I wish I had read up on this doctor before spending my time and money to go see him. Everything written by my fellow 1 star internet friends is absolutely true. He is a giant arrogant A*hole who needs to be reported to the medical board,.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
December 11th, 2016
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I have the same experience with Smitherman. This guy is supposed to be an expert on fibro and I have seen him for several years only for him to keep prescribing more and more drugs that have terrible side effects. I seriously loath going to him. I've tried the alternative medicines only to get his condenseding attitude. He say do what I say or you won't get better. Well, I have done everything he has said including exercise (lost 50 lbs and now I'm rail thin) and am worse off now. He shows absolutely no compassion and after several years, I finally asked him for my records and referral to another doctor.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

3.0 of 5
September 21st, 2016
He does down time with me. He is very prompt. I have my post it note with bullet points for him to address. I believe this is helpful for any doctor. My Psoriatic Arthritis at present is joint swelling. On and off meds and still swollen. I just want symptom relief. I wish Dr. SMItherman would say any other questions, but he is out the door and gone. I end up calling or sending messages via the portal. Guess this isn't working.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

3.0 of 5
August 8th, 2016
Very disappointing
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I found Dr. Smitherman to be very cold and irritated.. Dr.s are suppose to help and be compassionate. He left after my exam without telling me what my follow up would be. It's been a week sine my blood has been drawn and i still haven't gotten the results. Going to find someone else.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
June 29th, 2016
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
He is an excellent doctor and spends time sitting and going over things with you.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
January 22nd, 2016
Would NOT recommend!
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Not compassionate, not empathetic, not a good listener and I did not feel he had even the slightest grasp of how I was feeling and what my symptoms were before he started pushing medications on me....muscle relaxers, Lyrica, etc that I was not comfortable taking without fully understanding what exactly they would do for my symptoms. He never explained to me what fibromyalgia even is, how it works and why these medications would be best to take. He did not have a long term game plan on how to make me feel better...just kept adding meds. I left his office in tears after he told me, "I can't help you unless you take this medication." I responded that I wasn't comfortable taking it, to which he responded, "then you can see a psychiatrist or would you rather sit here at talk to me for 30 minutes?" WHAT?!!? I will NEVER go back to see this doctor and would NEVER recommend him to another human being.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
October 23rd, 2015
Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
very rude and no bed side manner.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

3.0 of 5
August 4th, 2015
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Zero bedside manner. Very prompt though. I never had to wait and was out of the appointment in 15 minutes. Of course, that's because he doesn't make small talk at all.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 14th, 2015
Second Opinion Turns into Primary Specialist
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Needing a second opinion, I made an appointment with the doctor. This will be my only negative: the first available was weeks out, but I took it. During the appointment, the doctor listened to all details and responded thoroughly. I was actually surprised how much time he spent with me. The service was so outstanding, I will switch from my current specialist and use Dr. Smitherman.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
April 1st, 2015
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I like Dr. Smitherman. There is only so much he can do for me with my condition. I think he does the best he can.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
February 16th, 2015
Recommending Dr. Smitherman
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I find Dr. Michael Smitherman very knowledgeable, friendly and approachable for my multiple questions . He takes time not only explain the options but he is consistent with his treatment and goals.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
October 16th, 2014
Do your research before you see a new Dr.
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
If you do your research before you go you probably would not see this Dr. who probably has untreated mental problems or just wants to treat superficially and bring in the bucks.Ask questions of anyone who has knowledge of this Dr. A Dr. who treats fibromyalgia with all info out there has a great deal to offer not just one pill.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Michael Smitherman, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Roswell, GA.

Doctor

Dr. Mitchell Hecht

26 years experience

4.3 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Hunt Anderson

13 years experience

be the first to rate this Doctor

Doctor

Dr. Philip Huff

34 years experience

5.0 of 5