ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr

The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Michael Strolla Is this you?

Filter Reviews

36 Ratings • 20 Comments

3.7
  • 23
  • 1
  • 1
  • 1
  • 10

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments
Wait Time
19.3 min

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Michael Strolla?

Showing 12 of 36 Ratings

This whole thing is a scam!!

Posted on October 9th, 2017

I saw Dr. Strolla as an evaluator for IPN. He made a diagnosis of me in 15 min, which 5 of those he spent on a phone call. He decided what medications I could take or not without calling my doctors to see if I was able to do so. He is very arrogant and think he is GOD!! You try to say something and he tells you the opposite. At the end they recommend everybody to inpatient treatment. All the people that have gone there as IPN dictated you knows this is a scam. Then they send you to they're own facilities, which are very expensive by the way!! 12,700 dollars a month. And when you try to get another facility that your insurance company covers they won't let you. I will be standing up for my rights!!

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Three Stars

Posted on August 6th, 2017

I saw Dr. Strolla few a few years. While I like him personally, he was ineffective as a addiction doctor. I became very depressed after being put on a medication that was recommended by PRN. I went to him seeking his help and expert opinion on what was happening to me. I was told "...it will get better" instead of you should go off that medicine and I will deal with PRN. What is the point of seeing a doctor that does not have my best interest at heart? It appeared to me that he is more concerned about PRN and getting more referrals. I took my business elsewhere and have been happy. Its nice to have a new provider who is on my side and believes in me. Overall, HCC has good people working there but I believe they are so tied in with PRN/IPN that they have a hard time putting the patient's interest first. I do recommend HCC overall and I was very satisfied with their IOP program. It really made all the difference. Please don't go to FRC! I'm floored that Dr. Tietelbaum gets so many accolades when he is universally loathed by patients. Only in the crazy world of addiction medicine.

Wait time
60 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on November 2nd, 2016

I saw Dr. Strolla today for an IPN evaluation. You have to understand that I have seen 3 different evaluators for IPN at this point and he is by far the best. He actually takes the time to talk to you and genuinely wants to hear what you have to say about yourself. I completely felt like he had my best interests at heart. Those of us that are involved in IPN and PRN rely heavily on evaluators as they have the power to change the course of our lives with their recommendations that are based on our, let's not forget, BAD actions. While there definitely are evaluators who have completely unrealistic expectations, Dr. Strolla is not one of them and if you have to be evaluated for this program you should do yourself a favor and go to Tampa to see him.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

One Star

Posted on June 17th, 2016

Do NOT go see this doctor if you are in an IPN/PRN program or are about to be. Just do NOT do it. You are given other options and should take them. This is an IPN/PRN mill. I am surprised that they don't sell jewelry in the lobby. No matter your circumstances you will be referred to inpatient rehab and this physician is a partner for this rehab. Here is how he does it: He recommends inpatient treatment BUT ONLY inpatient treatment that is "healthcare associated" meaning that your options are limited as to where to go and if you live in this area you will have no choice but to go there. Don't worry though, their very own sales representative will contact you. I'm serious. DON'T DO IT.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Greatest Doctor!!

Posted on March 31st, 2016

I am beyond grateful to have Dr strolla as not only my doctor but someone who cares unconditional of me not only as a patient but as a person. Always when my expectation of the impossible, due to bad last minute timing, a new insurance company rule they just put into effect last night at midnight, out of town out of luck. There he would be to the rescue. The satisfaction of having someone taking such care of you is more than appreciated. everyday is truly a betterment due to him!

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Two Stars

Posted on September 22nd, 2015

Horrible experience with this evaluator. Really only spent 10 minutes with me. Then sent me to a salesman to tell me how his facility was cheaper and better than any other near by, and that their also included food? This program is a self referral system and not an independent evaluation at all. I really wish I took my chances with a lawyer and the DOH in the beginning. I highly advise you to seek legal advise before you enter.

Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

GREAT DOCTOR!!!!

Posted on April 1st, 2015

The best doctor I have ever seen while in recovery!! Very easy to talk to

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Appt with Dr. Strolla

Posted on February 4th, 2015

I wish I would have read these reviews prior to going to see Strolla for an IPN evaluation. I did not have a good experience and it has nothing to do with being "in denial" or being "vindictive." First of all I was referred to see Dr. Myers and he is the person I researched and thought that I would be seeing. The most I saw of this doctor was his degrees on the wall. "Dr." Strolla actually advised me to stop taking a medication that my psychiatrist prescribed. I don't think it was his place to advise me to do so and I will be reporting him to IPN as a result. Strolla is your typical power hungry control freak. He believes that he is God and has all the answers and wants to make sure that YOU know that when meeting with him. For example he would explain something very simple to me and follow it by saying, "Do you understand what I am telling you?" To which I replied, "Yes." His reply then was,"Do you really understand or are you just saying that you do?" He made me feel so tiny (which I'm sure was his intent). He also took phone calls in the process of our meeting, which is understandable for a doctor to do...but he would say specific things about other patients which is NOT acceptable. If I have any advice for you...see another specialist. Your life, reputation, and ultimately your treatment depends on this visit; it is so important to trust the judgement of the professional you are seeing. Everyone else in this practice was very nice and helpful. However, the title of "Doctor" and "Asst Medical Director" has clearly gone to Strolla's head. He is not in this for the right reasons.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

IPN/PRN evals

Posted on November 13th, 2014

A brief comment in regard to the prior post where the writer stated it is a "conflict of interest" for the evaluator who runs a treatment center to make recommendations. Agreed, absolutely. Excellent point. Fact: It IS a conflict of interest, but that argument will fall on deaf ears... this system is utterly corrupt and morally bankrupt. All of the evaluators in Florida have some kind of controlling interest in a tx facility. Unethical? You bet. But that's the way it is. Bottom line, the experience I had with Strolla was downright pleasant compared to the experience I had with Teitelbaum and the Shands physicians. They are the worst of the worst. In my experience, Strolla is your best bet. I'm rating him well not even because I trust him or his methodology, but because the experience I had with him was so, so much better than with Shands/FRC. If you want to be treated with respect instead of degraded, Strolla is the guy you want.

Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

One Star

Posted on May 26th, 2014

I do not recommend Dr Strolla if you are going for an IPN evaluation. I believe it is a conflict of interest for a physician to be a partner in a drug rehab and to be doing these evaluations.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Recovering Addict/ Patient

Posted on February 28th, 2014

I am so grateful for Dr. Strolla and HCC. They have saved my life. I was in active addiction when I was referred to Dr. Strolla but was not yet ready to admit I had "A Problem". I resistantly did as Dr. Strolla recommended even though I didn't think I needed inpatient therapy and I am so glad I did. If it wasn't for Dr. Strolla, I would not have just lost my license but my life. Addiction is a deadly disease that tells me I don't have anything wrong. If you are being referred to Dr. Strolla or are looking for help with a drug or alcohol "problem", it is not on accident. Dr. Strolla's ability to communicate and care for patients is second to none. He is an amazingly compassionate person with a genuine empathy for his patients. His lack of ego and experience with the disease has given him knowledge that textbooks can not teach. God sent me to Dr. Strolla and I am so grateful. If you are in need of treatment for addiction, you are not alone. Just know there is help and Dr. Strolla will help you too!

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Highly Recommend!

Posted on January 5th, 2014

I have seen Dr. Strolla twice, for an initial intake eval and for a return to work recommendation. In my experience, he is a warm and gracious man who takes his time and strives to report accurate information as it is presented to him, He is direct and honest. This has not been my experience with all of the local physicians in this field; my interactions with any Shands doctors were lamentable at best. If you are a medical professional and require an eval in Florida, I would urge your to consider Dr. Strolla; he is unbiased, fair, and compassionate. I am so grateful that an evaluating physician with his integrity was available to me.

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Michael Strolla is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Tampa, FL.