The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Michael Sutkamp Is this you?
  • 27
  • 1
  • 4
  • 0
  • 3

Quality Rating

Highly Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
14.3 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Michael Sutkamp?


35 Ratings with 9 Comments

3.0 Rating

March 11th, 2016

Personable and knowledgeable

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

November 4th, 2013

Negligent Care

My Dad was diagnosed with prostate cancer about 14 years ago at the age of 79. Dr Sutkamp referred him to a urologist because his PSA was elevated. A biopsy determined Dad had early signs of prostate cancer and it was still confined to his prostate. It was treatable at that time, but the urologist told Dad that at his age he would most likely never have problems with the cancer since it was slow growing. Therefore no treatments were done, but the urologists examined Dad every 6 months and monitored his PSA. Several years later, a complete body bone scan was done showing that the cancer had not spread to his bones, even though his PSA had risen to a very high level. At that point, the urologist told Dad that he did not need to see him again. During this whole time, Dr Sutkamp was well aware of Dad's cancer yet he did not insist that Dad see a cancer specialist or get treatment. Dr Sutkamp knew when the urologist released Dad and he knew of Dad's very high PSA level (over 50 compared to a normal reading of 4 or below), yet he did not even check Dad's PSA or complete any other tests to monitor Dad's cancer growth over the next 3 years. In that time, Dad's PSA reached over 500 and the cancer spread throughout most of his bones. After much pain over several months about a year ago, a pain management doctor discovered Dad's prostate cancer had spread extensively to his bones and he referred him to a cancer specialist. They are treating his cancer to reduce the pain, but it is incurable now. Dr Sutkamp attributed Dad's pain to arthritis and did not pursue any in-depth examination, even though he knew Dad had prostate cancer. Dad's life will no doubt be cut short because of this, when it could have been cured when discovered in the early stages. I blame Dr Sutkamp for that and believe he has been negligent in the primary medical care of my Dad. A primary responsibility of a primary care doctor is to ensure their patients receive the best medical care available and Dr Sutkamp failed miserably. We no longer see Dr Sutkamp as we have lost all confidence in him!

Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

November 16th, 2012

Have been a patient for years and consider Dr. Sudkamp a great doctor
Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

5.0 Rating

November 13th, 2012

Model Physician

I've been a patient of Dr. Sutkamp since he started practicing. I've found him to be a caring person who listens to his patients. By doing this he is able to pick up subtle issues that help him make an accurate diagnosis. He asks the right questions and understands that the patient knows his or her own body better than anyone else. I credit him with saving my life by making a diagnosis based on a casual remark I made concerning what I thought to be a minor health issue. God bless him.

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

August 18th, 2011

Tired of bad and mean doctors

Dr. Sutkamp is a very caring and articulate Dr. He took me in as a patient in 2004 when I had no Insurance. He volunteered for a program called "Get Care" back then that gave me care for a $12.00 Co Pay. My last Dr's office wouldn't even refill my blook pressure medicine because I had $65.00 outstanding bill. Dr. Michael W. Sutkamp is a caring Dr. that wants to help people. He has been my Dr. for 8 years and I have never had a bad appointment experience. So if you hear something negative about him, they are lying or tried to get something over on him. I can vouch for Him 100%. He was a God send for me.

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

March 23rd, 2011

A Terrific Primary Care Physician

I could not ask for a better doctor. My only problem has been access to his office by phone. If you call during office hours, you're routinely put on hold, although the staff handles you well when they get around to you. If you call after hours, you encounter a bewildering computer answering machine which is confusing, offers no useful help, and does not even allow leaving a message. If they just fixed the phone problem, this would be the perfect doctor's office.

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

3.7 Rating

January 5th, 2011

Good doctor, but his receptionist is hurting the practice. She turns the answering machine off up to fifteen minutes after the office is open and always puts you on hold, even if you are the first call through. The answering machine is turned on fifteen to twenty minutes before the office closes. Dr. Sutkamp is probably unaware of the patients he is losing because of this practice.

Wait time
30.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

September 15th, 2009

Great doctor!
Wait time
25.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

5.0 Rating

November 15th, 2008

Dr. Sutkamp saved my life.

With his accurate assestment and quick action Dr. Sutkamp made the rightdecisions that saved my life.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

October 18th, 2017

5.0 Rating

April 16th, 2017

5.0 Rating

December 23rd, 2016

  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Michael Sutkamp is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Louisville, KY.

  • Dr. Esther Costel

    Internal Medicine, Infectious Disease

    Louisville, KY 0 mi

    5.0
    (11)
    37
  • Dr. William Schreiber

    Internal Medicine

    Louisville, KY 0 mi

    5.0
    (1)
    50
  • Dr. Charles Hornaday Jr

    Internal Medicine

    Louisville, KY 0 mi

    4.9
    (8)
    37