Dr. Michael Sutkamp MD Patient Reviews

  • Internal Medicine Louisville, KY

Overall Rating

4.4
  • 34 patient ratings
  • 7 comments

Last 12 months:

no change

34 Patient Reviews

  • Excellent
    76%
  • Great
    9%
  • Good
    6%
  • Poor
    0%
  • Bad
    9%
  • Wait Time 14.3 minutes
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

3.0 of 5
March 11th, 2016
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Personable and knowledgeable
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
November 3rd, 2013
Negligent Care
Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
My Dad was diagnosed with prostate cancer about 14 years ago at the age of 79. Dr Sutkamp referred him to a urologist because his PSA was elevated. A biopsy determined Dad had early signs of prostate cancer and it was still confined to his prostate. It was treatable at that time, but the urologist told Dad that at his age he would most likely never have problems with the cancer since it was slow growing. Therefore no treatments were done, but the urologists examined Dad every 6 months and monitored his PSA. Several years later, a complete body bone scan was done showing that the cancer had not spread to his bones, even though his PSA had risen to a very high level. At that point, the urologist told Dad that he did not need to see him again. During this whole time, Dr Sutkamp was well aware of Dad's cancer yet he did not insist that Dad see a cancer specialist or get treatment. Dr Sutkamp knew when the urologist released Dad and he knew of Dad's very high PSA level (over 50 compared to a normal reading of 4 or below), yet he did not even check Dad's PSA or complete any other tests to monitor Dad's cancer growth over the next 3 years. In that time, Dad's PSA reached over 500 and the cancer spread throughout most of his bones. After much pain over several months about a year ago, a pain management doctor discovered Dad's prostate cancer had spread extensively to his bones and he referred him to a cancer specialist. They are treating his cancer to reduce the pain, but it is incurable now. Dr Sutkamp attributed Dad's pain to arthritis and did not pursue any in-depth examination, even though he knew Dad had prostate cancer. Dad's life will no doubt be cut short because of this, when it could have been cured when discovered in the early stages. I blame Dr Sutkamp for that and believe he has been negligent in the primary medical care of my Dad. A primary responsibility of a primary care doctor is to ensure their patients receive the best medical care available and Dr Sutkamp failed miserably. We no longer see Dr Sutkamp as we have lost all confidence in him!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
November 13th, 2012
Model Physician
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I've been a patient of Dr. Sutkamp since he started practicing. I've found him to be a caring person who listens to his patients. By doing this he is able to pick up subtle issues that help him make an accurate diagnosis. He asks the right questions and understands that the patient knows his or her own body better than anyone else. I credit him with saving my life by making a diagnosis based on a casual remark I made concerning what I thought to be a minor health issue. God bless him.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
August 18th, 2011
Tired of bad and mean doctors
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Sutkamp is a very caring and articulate Dr. He took me in as a patient in 2004 when I had no Insurance. He volunteered for a program called "Get Care" back then that gave me care for a $12.00 Co Pay. My last Dr's office wouldn't even refill my blook pressure medicine because I had $65.00 outstanding bill. Dr. Michael W. Sutkamp is a caring Dr. that wants to help people. He has been my Dr. for 8 years and I have never had a bad appointment experience. So if you hear something negative about him, they are lying or tried to get something over on him. I can vouch for Him 100%. He was a God send for me.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 23rd, 2011
A Terrific Primary Care Physician
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I could not ask for a better doctor. My only problem has been access to his office by phone. If you call during office hours, you're routinely put on hold, although the staff handles you well when they get around to you. If you call after hours, you encounter a bewildering computer answering machine which is confusing, offers no useful help, and does not even allow leaving a message. If they just fixed the phone problem, this would be the perfect doctor's office.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
January 4th, 2011
Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Good doctor, but his receptionist is hurting the practice. She turns the answering machine off up to fifteen minutes after the office is open and always puts you on hold, even if you are the first call through. The answering machine is turned on fifteen to twenty minutes before the office closes. Dr. Sutkamp is probably unaware of the patients he is losing because of this practice.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
November 15th, 2008
Dr. Sutkamp saved my life.
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
With his accurate assestment and quick action Dr. Sutkamp made the rightdecisions that saved my life.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 15th, 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
December 23rd, 2016

1.0 of 5
November 8th, 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
October 26th, 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
October 6th, 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Michael Sutkamp, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Louisville, KY.