Dr. Michael Van Allen MD Patient Reviews

Overall Review

4.1
  • 39 patient ratings
  • 13 comments

Last 12 months:

4.9 (+ 0.8)

13 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    62%
  • Satisfied
    15%
  • Neutral
    5%
  • Dissatisfied
    8%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    10%
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Wait Time 11.6 minutes

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

5.0 of 5
January 17th, 2016
Dr. Van Allen is a great doctor
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Wonderful doctor. No problems at all. Probably the best surgical experience I have ever had, check ups were quick and I was given lots of information. Dr. Van Allen is extremely knowledgable and I now understand why he is considered the best in his field.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
April 14th, 2015
Not for me.
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I canceled tomorrow's surgery for trigger finger today when I discovered accidentally that I would be given general anesthesia for a 10 minute procedure that I have had twice before on different fingers, with local anesthesia. No consideration was given or even asked for about my previous problems with my blood pressure after general anesthesia. I was not contacted by the surgical center until today concerning my medications or prep for the surgery. When they told me to stop taking aspiring and fish oil because they promote bleeding, I reminded them that the surgery was tomorrow. I called Dr. Van Allen's office and was told that he only does surgery under general anesthesia. I have called off the surgery and found another doctor who considers individual differences in patients before he operates. I will not be seeing Dr. Van Allen again.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
February 21st, 2015
currently seeing him
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
The best doctor ever thanks so much
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 14th, 2014
Fixed my hand when others failed!
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Van Allen is an excellent Surgeon and Diagnostician! I had been to several Doctors around town and no one could figure out exactly what was wrong with my hand....within minutes Van Allen was on the right path and my surgery was successful! He is the best! Very smart and professional!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
February 15th, 2013
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Van Allen is the best, most skilled hand surgeon in Oregon. His clinic is very busy as I would expect from a top surgeon. There is a bit of a wait to get in but I would rather wait for the best doctor than be the only patient at another doctors office and get in ASAP. Surgery is too important to go for convenience. I would highly recommend him just as my orthopedic doctor did.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
May 31st, 2012
.Still in practice....Scary!
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
In 2002 I had surgery on my left hand. Was in a cast for a long time. A lot of pain & swelling started but Vanalleen ignored me. I knew nothing. Stupid, you know if you have been to him. As it turned out, I had developed RSDS. Thank God my rheumatologist got me away from him when he found out Vanallen did not know what RSDS was or how to treat it. To this day I still have problems with my hand.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
February 26th, 2012
Efficient but impersonal
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
If you want quick & fast, this is the doctor for you. If you want someone who will call you will address you by name, keep looking. Good pre op & surgery. Post op not so great. I would NOT recommend his surgery center.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
December 27th, 2011
Looks After The Company with regards to on the job injuries.
Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Worst doctor I have ever had the miss fortune of seeing, was injured on the job, almost lost my entire left hand, sent me back to work full duty after two weeks, When my hand was re-injured five years later. My personal doctor ex-raid the area and discovered that dr. vanallen had left the staples in to hold things together my personal doctor said that this should not have been done that is the reason that the now problems I am having can not be repaired. dr. vanallen did the repair to my left hand in this manner so that he could get a kick back from the company I worked for and strike out on hi own, I Do Not Recommend Anyone To See Him For Any Reason.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
October 25th, 2011
Pathetic
Wait time
25 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
My husband was in the office to find out about his surgery that was going to happen in 2 days. Unlike our first appointment where it took almost a half an hour for him to even get into the room (we showed up on time or 5 minutes early), because we showed up 15 minutes early this time we only had to wait 20 minutes in the room this time. The doctor breezed in, didn't bother to shake my hand and barely acknowledged me. He was quick and hardly explained anything, speaking as if it was pointless to explain anything. In fact, when my husband asked what muscle fascia was he actually told us he couldn't explain what it was. Thankfully I know what it is so I was able to say. How difficult is it to take 3 minutes more to explain a freakin term?! I am very uncomfortable with the thought of my husband having surgery with this jerk. He is a prime example of one of those doctors who don't get a dimploma when they graduate, but get Jesus sandals instead. I wasn't with my husband during his first appointment when he talked to him as I sat in the waiting room, so I can only hope he was better. My husband is the sort who forgives all wrongs.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
October 8th, 2011
Very poor office staff
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
tammy (sp?) in the front office is very rude and demeaning. If not for the reputation of Dr. Van Allen I would have gone somewhere else. I can't believe that someone with his skills would tolerate this person in his office.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
September 16th, 2011
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Very busy office. The best usually are. Great experience
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
November 11th, 2010
Office staff needs work!
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I know and respect Dr. Vanallen and his family; that being said I was completely put-off by the unprofessional manner of his office staff. Having Michael preform a procedure on my wrist some time ago and then being treated the way I was is completely unacceptable! Great Doctor and surgeon; terrible, inconsiderate, and unprofessional staff. Stay away if service is important to you.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Michael Van Allen, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Tualatin, OR.

Doctor

Dr. Mark Weston

25 years experience

4.6 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Alexander Ching

14 years experience

4.4 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Timothy Keenen

37 years experience

4.7 of 5