Dr. Michael Smith MD Patient Reviews

Overall Review

3.8
  • 29 patient ratings
  • 10 comments

Last 12 months:

4.8 (+ 1.0)

10 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    52%
  • Satisfied
    17%
  • Neutral
    7%
  • Dissatisfied
    3%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    21%
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Wait Time 17.7 minutes

Showing 1 - 10 reviews

4.0 of 5
November 17th, 2015
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Very kind and thoughtful psychiatrist. I work in health care and can tell you he is extremely professional.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
August 6th, 2015
He sucks
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Very condescending and rude. Took what I said personally.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 15th, 2015
Hey, no problem
I've been his patient since 1992 or 1994 and he was the best so I selected him and it's been a long time. He's just monitoring my meds so what more could I need. If I want to talk, I could see a psychologist.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
August 25th, 2013
Great Doctor!
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Great doctor who has given me some great medication recs and is very accessible.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
August 20th, 2013
Awesome Doctor
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
After reading some reviews I was a little weary before my appoitnment. Thankfully, my experience was completley positive. Doctor Smith's bedside manner was just fine. He is a mellow guy so maybe some of the reviews were just due to misunderstanding him. I thought he was nice, attentive, gave me ample time, and was encouraging. I felt better than I have in a while after leaving his offce. Renewed hope and quite optimistic.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
August 27th, 2012
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Maybe it's just managed care but I feel as if the clock is on when you go to see Dr. Smith. Cha-ching, cha-ching, cha-ching, it feels a lot about money. He is a good doctor but needs to work on his beside manner. Seems bored with my problems.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
July 22nd, 2011
Just the Fact; Check your Emotions at the Door
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I have been a pt. of Dr. Smith since the mid 90's. These are the facts. Yes you will have about 20 or so min wait on ave. but take into consideration he is with another pt. and that tells me that pt. is getting help and not a take two aspirin and see you in a month. Fact the average Psychiatrist spends 5 minutes with each pt. Ill take the wait and the 15 min appt. This is fact. He is gentle in nature. He can be frustrating to me sometimes BUT my case is "complicated" In the 15 years I have been his pt. I know I could have died from suicide but Dr. Smith knew what kept me going.Fact whether you like his method or not he really CARES.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
March 15th, 2011
Not Caring at All!
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
This doctor made me feel much worse than before I saw him. I can't believe he's allowed to practice. He is not at all sensitive and it seems he enjoys saying things to make you feel bad about yourself. STAY AWAY! There are many more empathetic and caring Psychiatrists in Stockton than this one.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
December 29th, 2010
Stay Away this dr. is dangerous
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
This Dr. Makes up his own diagnosis, off of nothing, no proper assessment. Can not back up his diagnosis, from DSMIV I would be surprised if he knows he needs to give a proper diagnosis, or that he might have to ask you some questions. This Dr. would have been extremely dangerous in my case, If you have no Medical or Psychology background look out, I think he picks his diagnosis out of a bucket. Beware
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
June 2nd, 2010
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I met Dr Smith about 3 years ago and my initial meeting was good. I felt very comfortable with him from the very beginning. He is still my Dr and I would refer anyone to him.He is attentive, considerate and is gentle in nature,however, he is a matter of fact kind of person and that is one of the characterists about him,for me. Meet with him just once and you will see what I mean.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Michael Smith, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Stockton, CA.

Doctor

Dr. Gary Cavanaugh

3.6 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Corwin Brink

26 years experience

3.9 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Jane Fernandez

11 years experience

4.8 of 5