The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Michael Whitaker Is this you?

Filter Reviews

29 Ratings • 14 Comments

2.7
  • 6
  • 2
  • 7
  • 1
  • 13

Quality Rating

Neutral

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments
Appropriate Followup
Wait Time
13.5 min

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Michael Whitaker?

Showing 12 of 29 Ratings

Fast return

Posted on November 2nd, 2017

Dr. Whitaker is super responsive, which is half the battle. He's efficient, knowledgeable, and helpful. I'm grateful!

Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Dr. Whitaker

Posted on October 7th, 2016

Dr. Whitaker is probably knowledgeable but is also dismissive and doesn't listen to important information, especially not with sympathy. In the end he seems more inclined to confirm his speedy conclusion than to find the true reason of a problem. I would not recommend him.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

One Star

Posted on February 7th, 2016

Dr.Whitaker was so rude and unkind to me when I reported my symptoms to him after my treatment for thyroid cancer that I switched doctors. It was a good thing I did because besides being mean, he was also wrong in belittling me, I was really having a reaction and needed help.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on October 27th, 2015

I saw Dr. Whitaker in the spring of 2015 for a persistent thyroid problem that I had been having followed for 3 years at home in in Colorado. I thought he was excellent. He steered me in a completely different direction than the CO doctors had, and this was by far the best result for me. He was professional, courteous, to the point, and very helpful. Once I returned to CO, he was very responsive regarding my follow-up blood tests, even though at that point I was under the care of my primary care doctor in CO. I recommend him most highly.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

One Star

Posted on September 19th, 2013

I have three words to describe my care from Dr. Whitaker. He is rude and disrespectful and insensitive.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Hyperthyroidism

Posted on August 3rd, 2013

Dr . Whitaker did an excellent job in helping me with my problem. He treated me kindly and with respect. I felt very well taken care of and have felt perfect ever since I had my treatment. Not sure about these negative reviews on here because he could not of been any more professional with me. I highly recommend him.

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

LOVE MAYO CLINIC--DON"T LOVE WHITAKER

Posted on August 14th, 2012

I would not recommend Dr. Whitaker from the stand point of what I am looking for in a Doctor. I have all of my records at Mayo Clinic, and have been satisfied so far, until now. I need more explanation, not feel rushed and as if he just wants to hurry up and get to the next patient--my questions were not answered, but I was too afraid to ask because he made me feel inferior. He may be knowledgeable in his field, however, it's difficult to know as he has horrible communication skills.

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

A Total Opposite Experience / April 25, 2012

Posted on May 23rd, 2012

I must say that I was apprehensive at first to see Dr. Whitaker due to the reviews and overall rating that his patients gave were not in his favor. So my decision to see Dr. Whitaker was based on his expertise and his 32 years of experience and to be quite honest I was raised to give the benefit of the doubt so I did. Dr. Whitaker was very kind, he explained the testing that was needed and why. He also added along the way that if I had any questions or concerns don't hesitate to ask. He actually took the time to answer those concerns without being arrogant or sarcastic. Once all tests were back he went over the results and provided recommendations & preparations to see specialist for treatment. He provided the same kindness and offered once again if I or my spouse had any other questions or concerns. Thank you Dr. Whitaker

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Arrogant, ignorant, a total disgrace!

Posted on May 11th, 2012

Dr Whitaker simply doesn't care. He's rude, arrogant, rushed and has virtually no interest in his patient's well being. He was negligent in not reading my labs correctly thereby missing a very serious endo disorder. I find it unconscionable that Mayo Clinic would have someone of his caliber on staff. A total disgrace!

Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Not Recommended

Posted on December 2nd, 2011

Dr. Whitaker is very impatient. When you ask questions to understand, he feels threatened and even yells at you. I am a thyroid cancer patient who came to him (once, which is enough). He stated that my nuclear scan (done elsewhere) was misread when it said probable metastesis. However, he had not even seen the scan himself. He stated that nuclear scans are misread all the time. So, if you are a thyroid cancer patient this is not the doctor for you. He has an overinflated ego and will cause him grave error at some point. Don't be that one patient.

Wait time
35.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Infelxible and a terrible listener

Posted on September 20th, 2011

I had done considerable, careful research on my condition prior to meeting with Dr. Whitaker. And while he did share some information with me that was valuable, he didn't want to discuss any of the research I had done and even became visibly upset, almost yelling, when I asked him about something I had read on another endocrinoligists website but was unsure of because I had only seen it in on that one website. I love Mayo Clinic in general, but this doctor I will avoid in the future. Honestly I don't think I could ever be open and frank with this man, lest he storm out of the room seething. He is definitely NOT what I'm looking for in a doctor.

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

One Star

Posted on October 27th, 2010

A doctor with very little passion for his profession.

Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Michael Whitaker is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Scottsdale, AZ.