Dr. Michael Yen MD, PHD Patient Reviews

  • Hematology and Oncology Santa Cruz, CA

Overall Rating

3.6
  • 16 patient ratings
  • 7 comments

Last 12 months:

5.0 (+ 1.4)

16 Patient Reviews

  • Excellent
    50%
  • Great
    6%
  • Good
    13%
  • Poor
    13%
  • Bad
    19%
  • Friendly Staff
  • Promptness
  • Wait Time 22.8 minutes
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Bedside Manner
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Easy Appointments

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

4.0 of 5
June 24th, 2016
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I really appreciate the care I get from Dr. Yen. He is very knowledgeable. He has a good sense of humor and although he is very busy, he takes the time to talk to me and answer all the questions I have.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.3 of 5
November 15th, 2013
Do your own research
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
As a cancer patient, I strongly urge those of you who choose this doctor to do your own research. I would recommend that you choose a different practice altogether, if possible, or at least a second opinion. This doctor did not bother to read the postop pathology report and therefore, was making recommendations based on inaccurate information. In addition, his drug knowledge was not up to par. He has poor bedside manner and very poor follow up. At best, he is mediocre.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
August 19th, 2013
Excellent care!
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Yen received a call from my primary care physician and took the time to walk over to the hospital where I was having some tests done to discuss my situation. I visited his office with a friend who took notes; he was thorough in his presentation of my condition and took the time to answer all my questions thoroughly. He is caring and personable and bright...in follow up visits he continued to be informative and concerned. After the first visit I complained about his office staff, and it turned out it was the receptionist's last day...every visit after that was dealt with efficiently by the office.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
June 1st, 2013
Great doctor
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Extremely efficient, right on time, excellent care. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
April 3rd, 2012
doesn't believe in nutrition
Wait time
45.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. said to eat all the candy and drink all the coffee you want because it doesn't matter. Hmmmm, I wonder if that is what he tells his kids to eat.Doesn't this guy know about the immune system? How nutrition plays such a huge part in our lives, from the food we eat to the chemicals we use? How about just tell people you don't know anything about nutrition and instead of "it doesn't matter." He wanted to start his drug on my father when he was anemic too. I feel like he is in a hurry to make his money off my dad's cancer theropy instead of worrying about my dad. Not impressed. When we questioned him about nutrition the visit was clearly over and he was done with us. Don't call him with questions because you may not get an answer for some time. Just not impressed.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
February 28th, 2010
Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
My impression is that he is very sharp. He has taken whatever time is necessary on my visits and has been thoughtful in plotting my treatment.

5.0 of 5
December 1st, 2009
Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
most impressive doctor I've come across in years
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
February 23rd, 2017
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 27th, 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 30th, 2015
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No

3.0 of 5
April 12th, 2015
Wait time
55 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No

3.0 of 5
March 24th, 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Michael Yen, MD, PHD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Santa Cruz, CA.