Dr. Michele Shimizu MD Patient Reviews

  • Family Medicine Kamuela, HI

Overall Rating

3.2
  • 22 patient ratings
  • 5 comments

22 Patient Reviews

  • Excellent
    41%
  • Great
    0%
  • Good
    14%
  • Poor
    18%
  • Bad
    27%
  • Friendly Staff
  • Promptness
  • Wait Time 25.5 minutes
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Bedside Manner
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Easy Appointments

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

2.3 of 5
September 11th, 2013
I like that she is a local doctor form the islands. She is really nice as a person. Some issues I have are keeping things confidential within the office. I didn't like how the office staff grumble about other patients after getting off the phone with them. It kind of makes me wonder what is said about me when I have concerns and questions regarding my situation. I think doctors should also disclose thoughts about a situation and problem solve with their patients in a private room, not in the waiting room.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
March 2nd, 2013
Office staff is so unhelpful
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Pass the buck doctors office. From the receptionist to the doctor. I've never been so frustrated with a doctors office. Very unprofessional.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

3.7 of 5
July 5th, 2012
Wait time
40.0 minutes
As far as an OBGYN goes, I would recommend Dr. Shimizu if you live in Waimea or West Side of the Big Island (way better than Waimea Women's Center -WWC). She is very straight forward-professional, One-on-One, doesn't spread her self so thin that she can not help you, she is very open to your concerns, and you have her direct line. Good Luck!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.3 of 5
December 12th, 2011
Poor Bedside Manner
Wait time
30.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
In my experience, Dr. Shimizu lacked the ability to calmly and kindly explain medical knowledge to me. She spoke rapidly, overusing medical terms that she didn't seem to realize are foreign to most people outside of the medical field. She showed no signs of care that her approach appeared intimidating and haute. The office is also small, and set up so patients in the waiting room can hear what is going on in private rooms. The receptionist is very warm and amicable, but her voice booms and I could hear her asking highly personal questions to patients on the phone (in addition to saying the patient's name out loud). It just isn't professional, and made me very uncomfortable. Overall, I would not recommend this physician.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
November 19th, 2010
Wait time
20.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I was having pregnancy problems and called her after hours and she said wait until the morning-I lost my child that night and she did not even deliver it, she deferred to another doctor.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
November 5th, 2015
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
October 10th, 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
June 24th, 2015
Wait time
45 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No

3.0 of 5
May 26th, 2015

5.0 of 5
March 12th, 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
February 24th, 2015
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
February 18th, 2015
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Michele Shimizu, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Kamuela, HI.