Dr. Mitchell Bernstein MD Patient Reviews

  • General Surgery New York, NY

Overall Rating

4.0
  • 41 patient ratings
  • 16 comments

Last 12 months:

4.6 (+ 0.6)

41 Patient Reviews

  • Excellent
    66%
  • Great
    5%
  • Good
    2%
  • Poor
    12%
  • Bad
    15%
  • Friendly Staff
  • Promptness
  • Wait Time 18.5 minutes
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Bedside Manner
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Easy Appointments

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

2.0 of 5
June 2nd, 2017
Typical burnt-out robot-doc
Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Procedure guy -- not there for chit-chat nor discussion of your case. Dismissive of questions. Why do they pay a physician to do these procedures when they could hire a technician to do the same thing? At least the tech had bedside manner. Great staff and colleagues, but Dr. Bernstein's there to do his procedure and motor off as quickly as possible.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 14th, 2016
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
i cant see him anymore,my insurance doesnt cover it,but if you need a doctor..hes the very best.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
March 9th, 2016
avoid
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
A bit full of himself; hate docs who bad mouth other docs
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
November 13th, 2015
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Excellent staff. Minimal waiting time. They make you feel comfortable and explain the procedure you are having.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
February 24th, 2015
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Bernstein is very accessible.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
January 16th, 2015
Dr.Bernstine is a top quality colon rectal surgeon. His bedside manner is one to be commended. I was up and out of the hospital in 2 days. My healing process was a bit intence but the surgey and the visual appearance of my stomach are somthing to talk about . My navel looks untouched. Now if he could only perform tummy tucks ,He would be the man!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
October 8th, 2013
Wish I could give 0 stars
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Saw Dr. Bernstein for a rash I had. He ultimately told me he first didn't see anything, but on second glance, decided even though the rash was light, it was herpes. He said he was "80% sure" when I asked. He noted this was something he didn't say lightly as I was between tears. He never offered to swab the infection or do a blood test for herpes. The next day I saw a dermatologist who told me I had a yeast infection. After treatment for a yeast infection, I'm getting better. I've subsequently been tested for herpes via blood test a week later and tested negative. This guy is not a true professional.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.3 of 5
July 11th, 2013
Quick
Wait time
35 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Very quick physician. Not sure that he took all my concerns seriously. Very vague and curt explanations. Seems competent, however I wish he took more time with me. I feel unconfident in my diagnosis. Will be seeking a second opinion.

5.0 of 5
March 11th, 2013
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr Bernstein is a wonderful doctor. He asks and answers in a direct fashion which I appreciate.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
November 17th, 2012
Excellent
Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Bernstein saved my life twice by removing polyps during the colonoscopies he performed on me. NYU is a bureaucracy that I had to plow thru to make an appt. But seeing Dr. Bernstein made the plowing worthwhile. I highly recommend him.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
July 16th, 2012
Wait time
20.0 minutes
I went to see this doctor because I began to experience discomfort in my backside. I don't believe he diagnosed properly what I had and did not even prescribed a medicine. Consequently my problem got worse. Upon calling him, he was curt and told me that he could not give me anything--that he had to see me again. That's another fee for the insurance company. I thought he was unprofessional in his caring and handling of my situation.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
January 23rd, 2011
Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
i had corrective surgery this past summer - after 14 yrs of pain resulting in disability all due to surgery by this butcher! I am in need of further surgery! He as much as took my life - statute of limitations do not permit me to sue as i should have done immediately following initial surgery. I wish he were dead - he ruined my life - and what's left of it!!!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Mitchell Bernstein, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near New York, NY.