The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Mitchell Stashower Is this you?
  • 40
  • 0
  • 1
  • 3
  • 13

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
18.3 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Mitchell Stashower?


57 Ratings with 38 Comments

1.0 Rating

September 21st, 2017

Awful experience

My daughter was prescribed an acutane treatment. The prescription is overseen by the FDA to ensure that women take precautions to avert becoming pregnant. Each month (treatment usually lasts approximately 6 months) - 1. join a service that administers a monthly test; 1. take a blood test 2. see the doctor; 3. get a monthly prescription; 4. have the nurses call the positive blood test and test from the service to the pharmacy; and, the prescription; 5. pick up the prescription at the pharmacy. All of these steps must occur within 7 days or the procedures must begin from step 1, including having blood work redone. Let's talk about #4. Each and every time my daughter has had to deal with the nurses they have screwed up the sequential procedure MULTIPLE TIMES. When confronted, sometimes they apologize for their error. Other times, they distort information about their errors (e.g., not confirming that the tests have been done or not confirming that the blood work has been completed), forcing the 7 days to elapse. To boot, in the last go round, 1 month prior to finishing the treatment), they fraudulently misrepresented the facts in their medical record (dates); so bloodworm has to be drawn again. Please be aware that the services received through this medical practice have been awful. We will never use them again.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

July 28th, 2017

Excellent Doctor, Highly Recommend

Nothing that I say can adequately convey my gratitude and appreciation for Dr. Stashower, Dr. Strahan and their amazing staff. My first appointment was in March 2017 for a skin check. I had been watching a small indent on my lower eyelid for about a year and was finally convinced I should have it checked. This little spot would go through a cycle of getting red, scab, and then look completely normal. On the day of my visit, it of course looked completely normal. Dr. Stashower listened and examined the spot very closely, then called Dr. Strahan over for a quick consult. Based on their experience and knowledge that skin cancer can be sneaky, we decided to err on the side of caution and biopsy the spot. Both doctors went over the biopsy procedure with me in detail. I had my biopsy three days later. Skin cancer. 20 years of long distance running without sunglasses had earned me an unpleasant surprise. Dr. Strahan went over the MOHS procedure with me in detail. He is one of the best doctors that I’ve ever encountered and the only one I’ve ever met who leads with asking me what questions I have for him. I’m three months post-surgery and you can barely see my scar. Dr. Strahan is truly a skilled surgeon. In addition to the impeccable care, this doctor’s office actually runs on-time, like clock-work. They must be scheduling geniuses because I’ve always been seen on time or early and have never felt rushed. This is an amazing practice and I will be a patient for life.

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

August 30th, 2014

Wonderful doctor! He is very smart and kind. He found my skin cancer very early! I'm a very lucky person!

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

February 24th, 2014

un-necessary biopsy and vague diagnosis?

I went to see Dr Stashower for two brown itchy patches on my belly and back. He said he must do a biopsy. After that he diagnosed me as having Morphya, but the symptoms did not match it. I saw another doctor whose diagnosis totally disagreed with his. The scar tissue due to his biopsy is very itchy and sometimes bleeds. Attention, some dermatologists may be inclined to prescribe expensive treatments and medications,

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

February 17th, 2014

Hides behind required legal release

I recently visited Dr. Stashower for a routine checkup as part of my annual physical. While the checkup was uneventful he did say he could easily get rid of the rosacea on my face with 2-3 laser treatments. While I was not even aware of or initially concerned about this condition, he was convincing in the fact that he would make me "look better". As a result, I completed 2 treatments costing approximately $600 each with no change in the condition. At that time the doctor decided to try a topical gel, which also did nothing. When I contacted the doctor to discuss my frustration, his office manager said she would be the person to discuss this situation. In our phone conversation while acknowledging the unsuccessful treatments she refused to give even a partial refund on the $1,200 and stated "you signed a release which states we do not guarantee results". I explained that I am a consumer who paid a significant amount of money for basically nothing. She stated "she understands, but we cannot do anything". Bottom line is that the doctor could do something, but will not. Since this doctor obviously will not stand behind his work, I suggest not using his services.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

December 26th, 2013

Worst Dr. Ever

This Doctor is completely rude and ignorant, he needs to actually take time with the patient and not just ASSume he knows what it is = take a biopsy and send it off to the lab - Don't just guess what it is!!!!! Misdiagnosed my skin cancer for many months. Very irresponsible Doctor- not sure how he can call himself an actual doctor. If you read up on this Doctor, there are many removed reviews. Wonder why that is? This system would not allow me to not rate this doctor-so I had to give him stars, but I certainly would not give him any stars.

Wait time
45 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

April 24th, 2013

Incompetent

He is rude, selfish, incomptent and a not a good Dr!

Wait time
35 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

August 21st, 2012

I came into see the Dr because of a bump on my leg, and he diagnosed it in no time. I felt safe in his care and i would reccomend him to my friends and family

Wait time
25.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

July 19th, 2012

The Best Dermatologist in Virginia.
Wait time
5.0 minutes

5.0 Rating

July 16th, 2012

Ive had pretty severe acne ever since I was a teenager. It is embarrassing having acne as an adult. Dr.Stashower cleared up my face and I only wish I had gone to see him in high school.

Wait time
20.0 minutes
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

July 12th, 2012

Must Get a Skin Check Here!

Dr. Stashower finally cleared my face of acne! I have had acne seems all my life. As an adult I was so frustrated trying everything. I have seen him a few times now over the last year and will continue to go for check ups. Truly recommend! Love my results and I'm telling everyone!

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

July 9th, 2012

I have been seeing Dr. Mitchell Stashower and his staff for over 5 years and the quality of service and care provided has been second to none. I have a complicated port wine stain hemangioma and Dr. Stashower has treated me both with lasers and with surgery (excisions). He works well with insurance companies (have had 3 in my time with that office) in explaining the medical need for the care provided and takes the time to provide quality dermatological care. The staff is always friendly and helpful and has been flexible in working me into their hectic schedule. I highly recommend Dr. Stashower to anyone in the Washington DC area, especially those with port wine stain birthmarks or port wine hemangiomas.

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Mitchell Stashower is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Fairfax, VA.

  • Dr. Brenda Dintiman

    Dr. Brenda Dintiman

    Dermatology

    Fairfax, VA 0 mi

    3.9
    (19)
    32
  • Dr. Reem Tadros

    Dr. Reem Tadros

    Dermatology

    Fairfax, VA 0 mi

    5.0
    (4)
    21
  • Dr. Kathy Tieu

    Dr. Kathy Tieu

    Dermatology

    Fairfax, VA 0 mi

    4.8
    (8)
    11