Dr. Myrna Ortega MD Patient Reviews

  • Obstetrics and Gynecology Annapolis, MD

Overall Rating

4.1
  • 91 patient ratings
  • 18 comments

Last 12 months:

no change

91 Patient Reviews

  • Excellent
    70%
  • Great
    2%
  • Good
    7%
  • Poor
    4%
  • Bad
    16%
  • Friendly Staff
  • Promptness
  • Wait Time 23.1 minutes
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Bedside Manner
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Easy Appointments

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

4.0 of 5
January 18th, 2017
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Good Dr. knows her job.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
September 19th, 2016
Mrs.
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Warm, friendly, listens to patients and is almost always prompt with her appointments.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
December 15th, 2015
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Ortega has terrible bedside manners, and performs tests that aren't needed, and some tests need a chain of custody and they don't seem to know this.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
November 3rd, 2015
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr Ortega is the best love love love her
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
October 30th, 2015
Excellent Doctor
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I just want to make a statement regarding the bad reviews. If your not comfortable or feel uneasy about a doctors comment, or diagnosis and the women who waited 5yrs to write a review about her child being born with a half heart. You knew at 20 weeks the ultra sound wasn't clear you was not satisfied with the Doctor's response so why didn't you switch doctors?? I'm considered high risk with all my pregnancies and currently pregnant with my 3rd child if I ever feel uncomfortable I'm switching doctors. The point I'm trying to make is you can't always point the finger because she's a "Doctor" find another one that makes you feel comfortable. In my personal opinion Ortega is a great OB and I haven't had any complaints so far but guess what if I feel uneasy in any shape, form or fashion I'm changing doctors period. I give Ortega 5 stars
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
June 7th, 2015
best gyn doctors around
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr ortega is a very good doctor and she doesn't give up she finds what's wrong and listens. Not like other doctors I've been to that just ignore your symptoms if they cant figure it out.they pretty much tell you your fine. Thank goodness for dr. Ortega found my serious illness feel much better after surgery.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
January 29th, 2015
OBGYN FEMALE
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Very smart, caring doctor

1.0 of 5
July 1st, 2013
Wait time
25 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
When I began going to Dr. Ortega I was 17 and on birth control for period issues. Ive been going there for 2 years and she has only seen me personally 2 times. My appoitments were schedualed wrong 3 times by her secretaries. When told of this she became un perfessional and proceeded to say well maybe you just shouldnt have sex?!?!? We were told I needed a preocedier done then Dr. Flores said I didnt need it done. The communication between doctors was terribly confusing. I am now looking for a new doctor.

5.0 of 5
April 9th, 2013
Best Obgyn hands down
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Hands down one of the best obgyn's ever. I went to her for my first child about 4 years ago. She made me feel completely comfortable and had this motherly touch to her that put you at ease. I had a c-section with my first child and she was there every step of the way. I have reffered 3 of my friends to her and they all say the same thing. I am currently pregnant again and going to her and i couldnt be more happy with my choice. I recommend any woman who is pregnant and looking for an obgyn to go to her. You wont regret it.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.3 of 5
January 28th, 2013
Wait time
45 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Her bedside manner really left something to be desired. There were plenty of times where I waited over an hour to be seen. She showed little to no empathy when I suffered a miscarriage. She was not supportive through my next pregnancy. I often felt rushed through visits. If I were to have another baby, I would not see her again.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
June 16th, 2012
nice doctor but horrible if you need a sonogram and you have Medicaid
Wait time
30.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I've waited 5 years to post this review somewhere because it's taken me that long to move past the poor care that I received when I pregnant with my daughter, now 5. I switched to Dr.Ortega when I was about 20 wks pregnant and I regret that. I had to practically beg for a sonogram (had no sonogram yet) and I asked to have everything checked out to make sure Natalie was okay. Finally after many weeks she agreed for me to have one scheduled but she was very reluctant because in her words "I do not like to have sonograms scheduled and overused for Medicaid patients". That made no sense to me. I had the sonogram and the tech noticed that the photos of Natalie's heart where not clear. Once i had my next visit with Dr.Ortega I asked about this issue and she blew me off. Being a happy go lucky "oh everything is probably okay" mom I let it slide. Natalie ended up being born with half of a heart and no one diagnosed it. The hospital (Anne Arundel Medical Center) even sent her home completely undiagnosed. Our newborn could have easily died. That is not being dramatic. I can honestly say that I do not recommend that hospital or doctor. Unless you know the PRECISE questions to ask you can't possibly be given the opportunity to be the best advocate for your newborn if severe heart defects aren't caught in time while in their care. Thankfully MD now requires pulse oximetry to test newborns to screen for critical heart defects so please make sure that the little "ET light" gets used on your new baby. Congenital Heart Defects are the #1 birth defect. It's very serious.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

3.7 of 5
March 1st, 2012
Wait time
20.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Ortega delivered my daughter in 2011. She was an advocate of VBAC, but since I had a second breech child, agreed with me on another Csection. She let me deliver at BMWC rather than AAMC, since it was closer to my house. Wait times were usually short, unless she was stuck in traffic or delivering a baby. The office staff was great and would let me know if she would be late.
Was this review helpful? Yes No


Nearby Doctors

Dr. Myrna Ortega, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Annapolis, MD.