Dr. Nelson Hernandez MD Patient Reviews

  • Psychiatry Fort Myers, FL

Overall Rating

3.6
  • 19 patient ratings
  • 6 comments

Last 12 months:

3.0 (-0.6)

21 Patient Reviews

  • Excellent
    58%
  • Great
    5%
  • Good
    5%
  • Poor
    0%
  • Bad
    32%
  • Friendly Staff
  • Promptness
  • Wait Time 10.8 minutes
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Bedside Manner
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Easy Appointments

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

1.0 of 5
September 20th, 2016
Run, run, & run
The one thing that stands out that I remember is the fact that he yelled at me not once, twice, but at least three times! He's an arrogant, know all. Everything is black & white to him, nothing in between! He screamed at me saying I was a lie, which not the case at all. If ur IN a facility & ur assign to him, do ur self a favor ask 4 another DR. He bounced my meds around like a ball!! Such a joke .Drs like him that give psychiatry a bad name!!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
July 8th, 2016
Mr.
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
the overall care was very good and he was able to switch medications as I have an addiction to opioids. I would highly recommend gabapentin and he always made sure the medications were not hurting me. He was prompt and his staff was so good, they recommended lunch places to me to make at times a hard day much easier. I ended up taking an overdose of medication and was in intensive care and he was there and helped me through. I no longer am addicted to klonopin and his staff was very helpful. They even went the extra mile with the pharmacy and my insurance company.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
December 30th, 2011
An excellent, caring medical professional
Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
One of the most difficult things I had to do in my move to Pennsylvania from Florida was to move away from Dr. Hernandez! He correctly diagnosed me on the first appointment, switched my medication, and I went from a crying, nervous wreck to actually enjoying life as soon as the next day! I was his patient for in excess of four years; he was so caring and comforting after my father died. I just can't say enough good about him.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
June 2nd, 2011
Dropped Patient During Treatment
Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
My family member was seeing Dr. Hernandez and felt he was helping them, he then dropped them suddenly as a patient when they had a reaction to medicine he prescribed. They were still in need of treatment, this set them back on their recovery.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
January 17th, 2011
Wonderful/Caring Psychiatrist
Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I was apprehensive when my former psychiatrist retired and referred me to Dr. Nelson Hernandez. Dr. Hernandez is truly concerned about my total health (physical/psychological). A very caring physician! Highly recommend him.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
March 13th, 2008
Wrong diagnosis
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Misdiagnosed my family member with bi-polar disorder, despite the results of several screenings and exams that said otherwise. Continued to treat with heavy-duty medications designed for acute bi-polar even after he learned my relative was not bi-polar. Abruptly dropped my relative from patient load after claiming they "missed" appointments. In reality, these appointments were legitimately cancelled and rescheduled. To make matters worse, he refused to see them after hospitalization, claiming they were no longer his patient. In reality, he was still responsible for this patient for 4 additional weeks. Then refused to recommend another area physician.

4.0 of 5
July 18th, 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
July 18th, 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
November 15th, 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes No

3.0 of 5
May 25th, 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 26th, 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 25th, 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Nelson Hernandez, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Fort Myers, FL.