Dr. Niccolo Della Penna MD Patient Reviews

  • Psychiatry Lutherville Timonium, MD

Overall Rating

3.1
  • 25 patient ratings
  • 12 comments

Last 12 months:

4.3 (+ 1.2)

25 Patient Reviews

  • Excellent
    36%
  • Great
    0%
  • Good
    20%
  • Poor
    8%
  • Bad
    36%
  • Friendly Staff
  • Promptness
  • Wait Time 10.4 minutes
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Bedside Manner
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Easy Appointments

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

5.0 of 5
January 13th, 2017
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Responds quickly to phone calls and emails. Very good at listening.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
February 18th, 2016
Awesome Psychiatrist
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
He has been treating me for years and he has truly changed my life around with the treatment he has given me. I don't know where I'd be without him. He is truly an amazing doctor and he genuinely seems to care about his patients.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
September 15th, 2014
The Worst Psychiatrist
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Stay away from this psychiatrist, Della Penna, completely! He is unethical, unprofessional and overcharges for services. When questioned, he makes up excuses for trumped up charges. He is used to running a con game on patients who do not question him. Della Penna cancels appointments last minute, does not submit paperwork, faxes, emails and/or return calls to insurers in a timely manner and in many instances not at all. When asked he will lie and say he did submit and respond without regard that there is documented electronic proof confirming he did not do as he stated. Then when questioned why he didn't respond back to insurer, he wrote on a plain piece of paper dates he tried to make contact. I found about these lies from the insurer. Della Penna's lack of response and professionalism caused the benefits to be denied, which was my livelihood. He stated he was a Certified Independent Medical Examiner, so he knew the importance of responding and providing dcumentation, but because he felt offended at being caught in overcharging for poor services, he purposefully did not respond. Each visit he would ask the same stupid questions and then ask if I wanted to try another medication and increase the dose. None of the medication worked and he over medicated with no regard for side effects. He prescribed a medication that causes high blood pressure and diabetes. Never mentioned these side effects, I researched it for myself and he stated that it occurs but I would only use it for a short time. The fact he never mentioned the horrible side effects is unethical. He was a complete buffoon. Do not see this psychiatrist under any circumstances. If you are ill, seek the services of a reputable and respectable psychiatrist
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
October 29th, 2013
Dr. Della Penna is by far the best doctor I have come across in the past 17 years of seeing a psychiatrist. His expertise, knowledge, thoroughness, and empathy is unmatched.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.3 of 5
June 14th, 2013
martin
Wait time
5 minutes
He has strong and weak areas. Clearly, all the extreme negative post seem biased and other motivated. The rating falls, therefore, somewhere in the mid-range. Excellent listening skills, doctor, please, more feedback and less monologue.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

3.7 of 5
May 30th, 2013
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I have been a patient of Dr. Della Penna for about 3 years now. He has been treating me for anxiety/panic, and depression. He is very prompt with scheduling appointments and returning phone calls. Very knowledgable, and takes time to listen to you and answers any questions you may have. He is a bit pricey but worth it. I would definately reccomend this doctor:)
Was this review helpful? Yes No

3.7 of 5
December 12th, 2011
Very Good Doctor
Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Appointments are easy; however, I have had an average of 4 cancellations/year and some around high-stress holiday seasons. Waiting is short, he is friendly, and accuracy for my diagnosis and problem-solving is very accurate, on-target. He is well-eduacated, Chicago Northwestern and fresh from Johns Hopkins; taking new approaches in interpretaing and diagnosing Bi-polar-Affective disorders. He was patient and the only one who consistantly and diligently worked to adjust my meds. He has worked on other various psychological challenges as well. Thank you, Dr. della Penna.

1.0 of 5
October 14th, 2011
Do not see this doctor
Wait time
20.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Misdiagnosed and ended up in hospital. I missed one appointment and he cut off services and I was unable to obtain my medications. His ethics are questionable. He is only concerned with his fees
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
September 5th, 2011
Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Della Penna said he had an interest in addictions. We left another psychiatrist to have our teenage daughter see him. He charged outrageous fees, misdiagnosed her and she ended up in drug rehab under his care while he told us she was fine. He was THE WORST. PLEASE DO NOT TRUST YOUR CHILDREN TO HIS CARE. WASTE OF MONEY. Our daughter is worse from wasting time and money on him.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
August 5th, 2011
Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Would not reccomend this doctor. Misdiagnosed - Overmedicated
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
July 13th, 2011
Great Doc.
Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Insightful w/ wide range of knowledge. Very strong results for me.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
August 26th, 2010
Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I would not recomend this physcian. In my opinion, his profesional conduct is questionable ethically. I was advised by colleagues to seek services from another psychiatist immediately when it appeared that he initiated an attempt to defraud an insurance company
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Niccolo Della Penna, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Lutherville Timonium, MD.

Lutherville Timonium, MD
4.8
Lutherville Timonium, MD
4.3
Lutherville Timonium, MD
3.7