The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Nicholas Barna Is this you?

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Nicholas Barna?

Ratings and Reviews

35 Ratings with 9 Comments

  • Excellent
    17
  • Great
    2
  • Good
    2
  • Poor
    0
  • Bad
    14
  • Excellent
    17
  • Great
    2
  • Good
    2
  • Poor
    0
  • Bad
    14

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments
Wait Time
36.1 min

Showing 35 Ratings with 9 Comments

1.0 Rating

August 2nd, 2017

Glasses, eyelid surgery

Had an eye exam for glasses. Big mistake, I have a pair of glasses that I can not see out of. Very ignorant treatment. They would not take glasses back. When I complained they offered money back with a 30% restocking fee. After all the complaining I thought that would be the right thing to do. Another mistake they sent my glasses to my home and told me not to come to the office. I have the glasses sitting a drawer as I cannot use them. Also had eyelid surgery. Did not help any, I have red eyes all the time and dry eyes. I will not visit this doctor again. He is only interested in money.

Wait time
60 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

March 11th, 2016

Ex-patient

This doctor can be skilled in his routine eye procedures but he certainly doesn't instill a patient's confidence in him. Besides, you feel you are on a conveyer belt of lined up patients waiting for usual eye work. One gets the impression he would perform two at a time, if allowed, one with each hand. He's very greedy to do cosmetic work--very expensive and you need to pay cash in full prior to the work. Then, he's been known to bill your insurance company for his facilities and services for any follow up work. After cosmetic procedure.You can be left home over the weekend without a response to a phone call for help. Sad that patients are treated as a revenue source rather rhan a feeling person. He controls his staff for their loyalty--or else. It's obvious a number of them don't respect him, and some of those who follow his dictates can be just as cold and uncaring as he is. He's good but no good.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

4.0 Rating

October 19th, 2015

The only problem was that no appointments were available after 3:00 pm. The end of the work day for a lot of people.

Wait time
25 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

August 6th, 2015

LASIK

I have never had any time of surgery prior to my experience with Dr. Barna, and all I can say is that I would have never imagined feeling so reassured from start to finish. I was taken care of. That's the easiest way to put it. All of Dr. Barna's staff were also a delight. He even continued to call me post surgery to ensure I was doing OK and happy with my results. I believe he went above and beyond while most doctors are fine with the status quo. Wonderful experience.

Wait time
25 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

March 26th, 2014

Ignorant

I feel his staff was cold and ignorant, so worried about collecting the co-pay and insurance. I felt he was curt and cool, and he chagres over what insurance covers.

Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

April 8th, 2013

Eye lid surgery

It has been 5 years since I had surgery on my eyelids and I still curse Dr Barna everyday, my eyes are red and dry, they itch all the time, I thought it would go away in time but no such luck. BIG MISTAKE! Also you can see where every stitch was placed. It was FAR from a cosmetic procedure for me, I look worse now than I ever did.

Wait time
45 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

October 23rd, 2011

eye lid surgery

Dr. Barna preformed eyelid surgery on me 2 years ago and I have had nothing but problems since then. Biggest mistake of my life!

Wait time
60 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

June 24th, 2011

Dr. Barna is one of the best. All around great experience, from the time I walked in the door until I left the office. Everyone in both the Kingson office & in Hazleton were A+. Very kind and considerate every step of the way. Thanks for making an 'uneasy' kind of day more relaxing than I thought it could be.

Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

February 25th, 2010

Blephoplasty

Dr Barna recommended I have the excess skin on my eyelids removed, saying it was "No big deal" , I would have the surgery on Thursday and be back to work on Monday. I was so swollen on Monday I could not even wear my glasses. I was black and blue for a month. It was a nightmare, I would never recommend him to anyone!He is rude and very arrogant!

Wait time
55 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

August 19th, 2017

5.0 Rating

August 19th, 2017

5.0 Rating

March 21st, 2017

  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Nicholas Barna is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Hazle Township, PA.

  • Dr. Deepak Dave

    Dr. Deepak Dave

    Ophthalmology

    Hazleton, PA 1.24 mi

    5.0
    (2)
    47
  • Dr. Karen Dacey

    Ophthalmology

    Hazleton, PA 1.36 mi

    4.4
    (9)
    17
  • Dr. David De Rose

    Dr. David De Rose

    Ophthalmology

    Hazleton, PA 1.37 mi

    4.1
    (22)
    24