Dr. Nicholas Barna MD Patient Reviews

  • Ophthalmology Hazle Township, PA

Overall Rating

3.3
  • 32 patient ratings
  • 8 comments

Last 12 months:

3.7 (+ 0.4)

8 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    47%
  • Satisfied
    13%
  • Neutral
    0%
  • Dissatisfied
    0%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    41%
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Wait Time 34.4 minutes

Showing 1 - 8 reviews

1.0 of 5
March 11th, 2016
Ex-patient
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
This doctor can be skilled in his routine eye procedures but he certainly doesn't instill a patient's confidence in him. Besides, you feel you are on a conveyer belt of lined up patients waiting for usual eye work. One gets the impression he would perform two at a time, if allowed, one with each hand. He's very greedy to do cosmetic work--very expensive and you need to pay cash in full prior to the work. Then, he's been known to bill your insurance company for his facilities and services for any follow up work. After cosmetic procedure.You can be left home over the weekend without a response to a phone call for help. Sad that patients are treated as a revenue source rather rhan a feeling person. He controls his staff for their loyalty--or else. It's obvious a number of them don't respect him, and some of those who follow his dictates can be just as cold and uncaring as he is. He's good but no good.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
October 19th, 2015
Wait time
25 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
The only problem was that no appointments were available after 3:00 pm. The end of the work day for a lot of people.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
August 5th, 2015
LASIK
Wait time
25 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I have never had any time of surgery prior to my experience with Dr. Barna, and all I can say is that I would have never imagined feeling so reassured from start to finish. I was taken care of. That's the easiest way to put it. All of Dr. Barna's staff were also a delight. He even continued to call me post surgery to ensure I was doing OK and happy with my results. I believe he went above and beyond while most doctors are fine with the status quo. Wonderful experience.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
March 26th, 2014
Ignorant
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I feel his staff was cold and ignorant, so worried about collecting the co-pay and insurance. I felt he was curt and cool, and he chagres over what insurance covers.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
April 8th, 2013
Eye lid surgery
Wait time
45 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
It has been 5 years since I had surgery on my eyelids and I still curse Dr Barna everyday, my eyes are red and dry, they itch all the time, I thought it would go away in time but no such luck. BIG MISTAKE! Also you can see where every stitch was placed. It was FAR from a cosmetic procedure for me, I look worse now than I ever did.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
October 23rd, 2011
eye lid surgery
Wait time
60 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Barna preformed eyelid surgery on me 2 years ago and I have had nothing but problems since then. Biggest mistake of my life!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
June 23rd, 2011
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Barna is one of the best. All around great experience, from the time I walked in the door until I left the office. Everyone in both the Kingson office & in Hazleton were A+. Very kind and considerate every step of the way. Thanks for making an 'uneasy' kind of day more relaxing than I thought it could be.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
February 25th, 2010
Blephoplasty
Wait time
55 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr Barna recommended I have the excess skin on my eyelids removed, saying it was "No big deal" , I would have the surgery on Thursday and be back to work on Monday. I was so swollen on Monday I could not even wear my glasses. I was black and blue for a month. It was a nightmare, I would never recommend him to anyone!He is rude and very arrogant!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Nicholas Barna, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Hazle Township, PA.