Dr. Nicholas Mataragas MD Patient Reviews

Overall Review

3.7
  • 29 patient ratings
  • 10 comments

Last 12 months:

3.0 (-0.7)

10 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    45%
  • Satisfied
    21%
  • Neutral
    7%
  • Dissatisfied
    14%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    14%
  • Wait Time 16.1 minutes
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup

Showing 1 - 10 reviews

5.0 of 5
March 30th, 2015
SPINAL FUSION
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Second spinal fusion done by Dr Mataragus. Although I had a bad experience the first time it was do to the hospital where the surgery was done. The second time at Elmhurst hospital was a much more pleasant experience. The surgery was sucessful both times and I am on my way back to a normal life. I don't see much of the Dr himself but am very confidant with the PA's he has working with him. They make a great team!!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
March 11th, 2015
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Accurate diagnosis, skilled technique as there were no complications from surgery. Pain is gone!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
February 24th, 2015
Best spinal surgeon!!
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Dr Mataragas made me pain free! Perfect surgery, great recovery, best doctor (and his PA's)
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
November 17th, 2013
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Was dissapointed in his service. I waited for a long time each visit and then he herded me out within a few minutes every time. Went to see another doctor for a second opinion and have switched to that doctor. Just didn't feel that my best interests were being served.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 20th, 2013
Incredible surgeon!
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr Mataragas was spot on regarding my corpectomy. He explained the procedure in exact detail. He detailed my recover to the tee. I was on my feet the same day and back to work within 12 days. When this guy says a non invasive procedure, he should write the manual on the right way to do it. The best!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
June 8th, 2011
A gifted and great surgeon
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
In search of care for my mother (age 79) who was rapidly losing mobility and muscle strength because of a pinched nerve, we sought out Dr. Mataragas. His credentials are impressive; everyone we encountered speaks highly and very respectful of him. He is direct and to the point and in the case of my mothers symptoms his diagnosis was 100% accurate. His recommended treatment was also accurate with the outcome yielding better than expected results. We will never be able to repay him for the excellent treatment and care he provided but we will always remember. My mother who is recovering rapidly is exceptionally grateful for the ability to hold, touch and feel again. Dr Nicholas Mataragas is truly gifted and we are blessed to have found him.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
February 1st, 2011
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Mataragas was one of the most caring dr.s that my husband has ever seen. He spent the time to go over what we could expect from the surgery, and after care. We lived over 200 hundred miles from Chicago, so he made sure that we had his nurses personal direct line in case of any problems, we could get ahold of him right away. After the surgery he came to the waiting room and talked and waited with me till my husband was brought out of the or. My recomondation will always be the best for this man who saved my husbands back!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
November 22nd, 2009
Changed my life
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I had a three level spinal fusion when I was 31. My life was terrible before it, Dr. Mataragas did everythig he could before surgery. I had to have it. He has restored my life and made me feel at ease the entire time. Best doctor I have ever seen. I would reccomend him to anyone, anytime.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
November 13th, 2009
Thought he was great
Wait time
45 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr Mataragas was VERY good with me. He is very busy because he is a GREAT surgeon. I didn't feel rushed at all. He took his time with me and explained to me that I pretty much need surgery and we went from there. No need to bagger him with stupid questions...
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
June 24th, 2009
Spending enough time with me
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
5 minutes is not enough time to spend with a patient. When I recently saw him, he told me he had 15 more patients to see in the next hour, so booking 15 patients per hour is too much and does not allow adequate time to spend with each patient and understand their needs.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Nicholas Mataragas, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Lombard, IL.

Doctor

Dr. Andre Ivy

6 years experience

5.0 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Jack Casini

37 years experience

2.0 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Vivek Mohan

9 years experience

4.0 of 5