The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Nirmal Brar Is this you?

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Nirmal Brar?

Bipolar Disorder

Bipolar Disorder

Get the facts about bipolar disorder, including the different types and symptoms of each.

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Nirmal Brar?

Ratings and Reviews

25 Ratings with 10 Comments

  • Excellent
    14
  • Great
    2
  • Good
    2
  • Poor
    3
  • Bad
    4
  • Excellent
    14
  • Great
    2
  • Good
    2
  • Poor
    3
  • Bad
    4

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
21.2 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Showing 25 Ratings with 10 Comments

5.0 Rating

August 1st, 2016

best doctor helped with my anxiety over the years the best doctor ever he also was there when i felt lonely and i can call him at any time if i needed to talk to him great doctor and advice giver

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

June 23rd, 2016

misdiagnosed

Misdiagnosed (now corrected by many psychiatrists) and received incorrect treatment that affected my health from him. He is in it for the money, period.

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

4.0 Rating

April 28th, 2016

Very fortunate, all is great with Dr Brar.

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

3.0 Rating

April 28th, 2016

Excellent doctor. Cares for me has a patient.

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

April 21st, 2016

dr brar is a excelent dr. He gave us our son back. He was struggling with depression for last 7 years. Thanks to Dr Brar.

Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

February 11th, 2016

Excellent Doctor and staff. Arrive earlier than your appointment.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

2.0 Rating

July 8th, 2015

Leaves me feeling vulnerable and ignores

I understand that Brar is not a psychologist but he often ignores my hurting, emotional responses to his questions, leaving me feeling vulnerable and not affirmed. He is scientific and not emotional, and lacks basic communication skills of acknowledging what you say. I expect more from a doctor who works with hurting people.

Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

April 17th, 2015

patient

Dr Brar is an amazing dr. My daughter was struggling with depression over 5 years. since I brought my daughter to see dr brar, she is a whole new person. I finally got my daughter back. Thanks to Dr Brar. God Bless Him.

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

March 27th, 2013

Full of contradictions

Not only was he never, EVER on time, with wait times in his office over an hour, but he was very inconsistent with his diagnosis. After prescribing Celexa, an antidepressant, to help with anxiety, he also prescribed Methylfenidate, which causes anxiety. After finally leaving his office and seeing another psychiatrist, I realized how much more anxious I had been since seeing him. My new psychiatrist was in total awe at his choice of medicine. I would never recommend him.

Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

January 14th, 2010

Best Child Psychiatrist in the Area

I am so thankful for Dr Brar. He has walked side by side with my daughter and me as we went through a serious and scary psychiatric illness. I could reach him anytime-even in the middle of the night. He knows his field and is a wonderful, insightful, compassionate doctor.

Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

4.0 Rating

October 27th, 2016

1.0 Rating

September 30th, 2016

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Nirmal Brar is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Exeter, CA.

  • Dr. Richard Pantera

    Neurology, Psychiatry

    Exeter, CA 0.02 mi

    2.8
    (11)
    44
  • Dr. Elizabeth Tully

    Psychiatry, Neurology, Child Psychiatry

    Exeter, CA 0.02 mi

    5.0
    (2)
    34
  • Dr. Edgar Castillo-Armas

    Psychiatry, Neurology, Child Psychiatry

    Exeter, CA 0.02 mi

    4.5
    (6)
    37