advertisement
Browse Health
Dr. Eleanya Ogburu-Ogbonnaya, MD
Pain Management Specialist, Anesthesiologist (pain control), Neurologist (brain, nervous system)
28 years of experience

Patient Reviews

Patient Reviews ?

Overall Rating:
2.0
  •  
Total Ratings

35

Total Reviews

21

Ratings
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star
Ease of Appointment:
  •  
Promptness:
  •  
Courteous Staff:
  •  
Accurate Diagnosis:
  •  
Bedside Manner:
  •  
Spends Time with Me:
  •  
Follows Up After Visit:
  •  
Average Wait: 60 minutes
Ease of Appointment:
  •  
Promptness:
  •  
Courteous Staff:
  •  
Accurate Diagnosis:
  •  
Bedside Manner:
  •  
Spends Time with Me:
  •  
Follows Up After Visit:
  •  
Average Wait: 60 minutes
Write a Review
Jul 21st, 2015

This office is not organize at all. No one answer there phone. Theresa makes ugly faces as you come in. She lets some people pay next time but other she wants to fuss. The billing manger is real rude and she hung up in my face. The staff in the back are nice but the nurse with the big eyes is rude and doesn't listen . They new lady can never do my pa right. I have called a million times. The other nurse in the corner is sweet. She help me complete my paper work. I was a new patient and I just want another dr. The dr there is excellent and listens to every need. He told me my plan I need and I'm going to follow it. Some people need a new attitude there

  •  
The worst show details The worst
Jul 3rd, 2015

Very rude and presumptuous. Does not take time to listen Staff has her poor customer service. If I didn't already pay the initial fee I'd go to another dr. It's been an awfulb4 month experience the worst in all of my 48 years

by Regina Haigwood on Jul 2nd, 2015

Great staff!! I have been coming here for 4 years and really have been treated great... I have fibromyalgia and although my symptoms change month to month, they are ready to listen and either provide me with test and/ or meds.

  •  
sister show details sister
by patty mattingly on Jun 29th, 2015

true long waits the place is packed could be cleaner but he helped my sister way more than the new dr in Batesburg ,I watched her suffer after leaving this dr,so he may not be perfect but way worse is out there,staff is overly rude btw.

  •  
Poor Patient Empathy show details Poor Patient Empathy
by Barbara on Jun 29th, 2015

I am writing on behalf of my sister who has dementia along with some pretty server hand/arm pain. She had an appointment for 11:00 AM on 6/29/15. I got her to the office at 10:30. We left the office around 4:30 PM. She had about 2 hours worth of nerve testing and about 10 mins were spent supplying a urine sample. The remaining 4 hours were spent waiting, first in the in-cneck waiting area, then in the back room where the testing was done, again in tne waiting area, and another trip to the back room. This is unacceptable. We were prepared to spend about 3 hours, as that was about the time we spent on her last visit, but 6 hours for a person who had not eaten, was in pain, and confessed about the wait, shows that this practice is clearly out of touch with the needs of its patients. I would love to know what happened on 6/29/15 to cause my sister to spend 6 hours in tje drs office, and when she left, jer prescriptions were not even ready. Now we have to make another trip. Also, the office was filled with loud children and babies (clearly against posted policy), causing more confusion for my sister. Please remember drs and staff that your patient's time is just as important as yours, and we (they) need to be treated as if you do, in fact, know tnat. Will take it futher.

Mark as Helpful  | 2 people found this helpful Report Abuse
Doctor's Response

Dear Barbara, Midland's Neurology and Pain Associates truly appreciates your personal review. We are constantly looking for ways to enhance our patient experience and reviews like yours help us see what areas we still need to work on. Recently we have installed a fully upgraded EMG machine to our facilities, which is used in conjunction with the nerve testing. With this new system, we are able to diagnose our patients' symptoms more thoroughly; nonetheless, we are still understanding the limitations of using this machine in house. Thank you for helping us understand in greater depth the extended time constraint our patients may be receiving recently due to this new change in our routine, since (as you stated) your last appointment was within a more reasonable time lapse. We are now looking at ways to reduce the overall time of such visits and to better inform patients of the potential length of time they should expect to wait. Again, we greatly appreciate your review and look forward to seeing you again at Midland's Neurology and Pain Associates.

by cassandra boulware on Jun 24th, 2015

This wasn't my choice of physician, but it was the only doc that would except my workers compensation claim... after dealer with this ofc for over 8 months with no type of relief, I finally decided to

Mark as Helpful  | 1 person found this helpful Report Abuse
by Charles Young on Jun 15th, 2015

Some of the staff are nice. However, you will find it amazing to try to believe that any of the nurses have any training above using a blood pressure cuff or reading a scale! DO NOT let ANY attempt to draw blood or attach IV. You will leave there looking like a hard core junkie, plus nerve damage! Stick & stick & stick..sooner or later they will hit a vein! The Very WORST part? If you are of Euro descent, The receptionist (teresa) Will treat you without any respect, dignity, & has no probloms being vocal in doing so. It becomes clear, she is VERY racist!! She mocks & makes fun of patients. She finds amusement in the suffering of patients. Be prepared for inflated & hidden fees & no one willing to explain them!Only demand from teresa that YOU PAY, or you will NOT see the dr! I witnessed this first hand. Sad..a lady trying to pay on her balance, asking to speak to someone as to why she had charges & what for. Teresa refused her money, told her she would have to pay full amount (I couldnt hear how much) Lady said she didnt have it & why wont they accept her payment? Also asked to speak to someone in regards to charges, Teresa told her no one would speak to her. I didnt hear whole conversation, but heard enough! Ive never seen a receptionist take total control, deny a patient medical care, deny a patient their legal right to speak to management & lady was angry seeing her laugh at her tears & frustration! I tried to discreetly catch her before she left...Let her know she wasnt alone, & refer her to an attorney. Patient rights are violated. HIPPA doesnt exist there. Unprofessional, poorly staffed, but I guess the students w/ failing grades in nursing school do have employment options! I drive my sick in law to appts. So I dont mind including my name.Im trying to find my family member another dr..asap!

Mark as Helpful  | 2 people found this helpful Report Abuse
Doctor's Response

Hello Charles Young, Midland's Neurology and Pain Associates would like to thank you for providing us with your personal experience at our clinic. One of our goals is to provide a "new attitude" to the way we treat our patients and our overall system of health care. While we have made successful strides to decrease our wait time, make health records more accessible to patients, and update our facility to provide better patient care and comfort, we still have more changes to make. We will do our part to speak with the staff to make sure they treat each patient with respect. After discussing with other practices about how they handle patients with large accounts, we have recently adopted a policy that refrains patients with large bills from seeing the doctor. We are currently working on ways to manage this situation in a more professional and calm manner. Although it is evident that the bad moments in your visit overshadowed the good, we are glad that you were able to have some good experience with our staff. We do hope to see you and your son-in-law again in the future as we continue to make changes to improve our office environment. Again, thank you for your honest post, because it allows us to see what areas we can improve. ---Midlands Neurology and Pain Associates

  •  
Awful service show details Awful service
by Amanda S. on Jun 3rd, 2015

The staff is so rude and literally had me in tears.

Doctor's Response

Hello Amanda S., At Midland's Neurology and Pain Associates we are currently looking for more ways to enhance our patient experience. Can you elaborate on the event that took place and the rude comments made? We would greatly appreciate more information so that we can prevent such actions and ultimately provide our patients with the best medical care we can. ---Midland's Neurology and Pain Associates

May 18th, 2015

I have only had 1 appoint as of yet, so I do not want to make any assumptions about this physician yet.

Apr 14th, 2015

They need to work on a lot.

Apr 10th, 2015

if you want to spend your whole day waiting to be seen in the room then only getting 5 minutes of the drs time then go here. If you need a prior authorization have fun they dont care whether your out of your medication or not they dont put the patients need first.

Mark as Helpful  | 2 people found this helpful Report Abuse
Feb 1st, 2015

This place is unprofessional. No one cares about the patient. It's all money . The billing manger is really rude. She gets mad when you want to speak with her. Worse office ever. I can't put up with it . I never see the doctor only the nurse practitioner. She is not a neurologist. Looking for a new doctor. Don't be a new patient 6 hour wait time

  •  
,Good, show details ,Good,
by ,Derek Conner on Jan 26th, 2015

today was quicker than usual.

Mar 11th, 2014

Staff is very incompetent. My veterinarian's place is cleaner than this place. Oh and my dog gets polite , kind, prompt care by a staff that is kind and professional.

Mark as Helpful  | 1 person found this helpful Report Abuse
Feb 12th, 2014

Extremely long waits in a crowded waiting room. Rude receptionist with a don't care attitude. Physicians Assistant is also very rude. I was trembling in pain and she asked why I was shaking, I told her it was pain. She shook her head and said it doesn't happen that way. What a uncaring, rude &#%@$!!! Little or no compassion.

Mark as Helpful  | 1 person found this helpful Report Abuse
  •  
unprofessional show details unprofessional
by manda on Jan 24th, 2014

The staff is rude and have no professionalism at all act uneducated. Dr. Ogburuog is very rude do not listen to concerns or cheif complain all he want is for patients to try meds like a drug addict. The office manager is unprofessional and a liar all they want is money and there is no billing department so ridiculous prices are charged and services that was never rendered is always billed to patients and medicare/medicaid...the medical records is a fake unprofessional not accurate at all and patients charts are all over the building in site of all patients in the area where med records are held also blood drawing there is no lab office at all the place is run down and just awful closing down will be great

Mark as Helpful  | 1 person found this helpful Report Abuse
  •  
Worst Experience Ever show details Worst Experience Ever
by Alexis on Jul 11th, 2013

My husband had a blackout over a year ago. We were sent there by the ER and in order for him to go back to work, we had no choice but to go. The office looks like a crack house and the way they have the patients hanging around, hooked up to IV's looks like something you see in a horror movie. The staff was rude and were more concerned about money than my husband. They preformed tests that weren't needed and the doctor claimed that he needed to go through much more testing and treatment than we later found out was called for. The machines used were old and rusty and dirty. We sat there for almost 6 hours in a cold, stinky office just to hear that he couldn't figure out what was wrong. It was awful! Went for a second opinion & found out all was well after only 45 minutes. This doctor and his practice is a joke! It doesn't even deserve ONE star, but it's required so...

Mark as Helpful  | 5 people found this helpful Report Abuse
  •  
awful show details awful
Apr 17th, 2012

He was rude his staff was rude I waited to be seen all day and when given meds intravenously the needle broke in my arm my insurance was also charged for tests and proceedures never perfomed

Mark as Helpful  | 4 people found this helpful Report Abuse
  •  
Horrible show details Horrible
Sep 8th, 2011

So not helpful also charged way too much for no help

Mark as Helpful  | 3 people found this helpful Report Abuse
  •  
Patient w/ a new Dr. show details Patient w/ a new Dr.
Apr 18th, 2011

At first I thought he might really help w/ my problem. Then it seemed all he wanted to do was take my money. Charges ridiculous prices for everything. Staff doesn't return calls or adequately schedule tests. Staff is rude, unprofessional & uneducated. He ordered tests I didn't need, made me come for appts I didn't need. I sat there my LAST visit for 2 1/2 hrs. only to find he had...LEFT FOR THE DAY!

Mark as Helpful  | 3 people found this helpful Report Abuse
  •  
MR show details MR
Sep 30th, 2010

This office and MD has to be the worst doctor and staff in the country. Staff is very rude, have to wait 5-6 hours. Md does not listen to the patient about their problems or concerns. I would not take my dog there!

Mark as Helpful  | 3 people found this helpful Report Abuse