Internists, Hospice & Palliative Specialist
14 years of experience

Accepting new patients
Clairton
South Western Health Center
500 N Lewis Run Rd
Ste 105
West Mifflin, PA 15122
412-460-1111
Locations and availability (2)

Patient Reviews ?

Overall Rating:
3.0
  • Currently 3 of 4 stars
Total Ratings

46

Total Reviews

31

Ratings
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star
Ease of Appointment:
  • Currently 2.6279069767442 of 4 stars
Promptness:
  • Currently 2.6666666666667 of 4 stars
Courteous Staff:
  • Currently 2.8181818181818 of 4 stars
Accurate Diagnosis:
  • Currently 3.0238095238095 of 4 stars
Bedside Manner:
  • Currently 3.1951219512195 of 4 stars
Spends Time with Me:
  • Currently 3.1190476190476 of 4 stars
Follows Up After Visit:
  • Currently 3.0769230769231 of 4 stars
Average Wait: 33 minutes
  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  best doctor in the world  |  show details
by RoxAnne Robinson on Mar 25th, 2014

Caring compassionate knowledgeable doctor. Love him to pieces.

  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  great dr  |  show details
by Eric Coffman on May 26th, 2013

I had a failed spinal fusion and it took many doctors before I found Dr.Hearndon.He treated me like a paitient from start till his arrest.I hope he gets out and does the same thing he did before.HELP PEOPLE with chronic pain. A great man in in my book.Good luck at getting help from any pain clinic.Everyone is afraid to write an rx to help you because they had to make an example of him.My prayers are with you Doctor.

  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  you new what u were going for and thats y u went mal practice bull crap  |  show details
Nov 28th, 2012

There was nothing wrong with this man he was compationate and cared about his patiants yes he may of over prescribed, but he actually helped,and cared and my prayers go out to his family and him you helped me and my grandfather and i have actually been black balled from physcians for this and its unfair you are and will allways be a wonderful doctor.Thank you

Mark as Helpful  | 1 person found this helpful Report Abuse
  • Currently 3 of 4 stars
 |  Wayne from Bon Air?  |  show details
Aug 30th, 2012

Didn't he just get busted with like 400 bags of dope? Lolz. Later dude! I heard they wanna give him 5-10 years. My cuz works for the Atn Gen for Alleg County.

  • Currently 1 of 4 stars
 |  he deserves whatever he gets  |  show details
Mar 19th, 2012

I was a patient of this Dr for more than 2 years. In the beginning he was a good Dr but for about a year now things changed. His office became packed with young people with no signs of injury or health condition. They all where there getting opanas oxycodone and xanax in high doses. I confronted the Dr about this and he assured me he was doing nothing wrong and was not under investagation. I'm paralyzed and now no Dr or pain clinic will help me because i was his patient. I call them and they tell me they do not take his patients whether I need help or not.

  • Currently 1 of 4 stars
 |  Arrested  |  show details
Mar 12th, 2012

In case there are any legitimate patients looking at these reviews like I did, this doctor has been arrested on federal charges of illegally distributing oxycodone and oxymorphone. There were pharmacists who testified & undercover agents who obtained the drugs without any exam. His DEA license has been revoked. So, if you truly need an internist in this area, be advised.

  • Currently 2 of 4 stars
 |  Great  |  show details
Mar 4th, 2012

Writes the script for Dave & sells the opana to his neighbor Wayne in Bon Air. Thanks Dr Herndon! If it wasn't for you giving me all those opana I couldn't have sold them for $60 a pop and gone on vacation!!

  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  Miracle Worker  |  show details
Feb 25th, 2012

I have been to several pain specialist, this doctor was the only one who actually listened to me and did not try sticking me with pins or injections. I have never felt such relief in my lower back and spine. He is a great caretaker and man and wish him the best in all he does and future endeavors.

  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  I see stupid people  |  show details
Feb 21st, 2012

Wow, I'm lost for words. It's insane how ridiculously stupid people are. Coming here to request callbacks? Giving out your names and phone numbers? Do you realize this is public to the world, and the doctor's office will never see this? The obliteration of the English language on here is fantastic. "apritiate" and "radiace" are just classic. I gotta write some of these phone numbers down for drunk dialing. We'll make some appointments!Dumb people Internet = Great entertainment

Mark as Helpful  | 1 person found this helpful Report Abuse
  • Currently 1 of 4 stars
 |  show details
Feb 16th, 2012

HE DID NOT HAVE TIME TO TALK TO ME ABOUT MY DIEING WIFE. HIS STAFF SAID HE'S BUSYHE SEEN /- 85 PATIENTS FROM 10 AM TO 4 PM SIMPLE MATH WOULD BE HE SAW A PATIENT EVERY 3 MINS. IT'S HARD TO SAY HELLO & GOODBYE IN 3 MINS. HIM & HIS STAFF WOULDNOT EVEN RATE A ZERO IN MY BOOKS. ALL HEWAS INTERESTED IS WRITING SCRIPS. HE MAY NEED TO SEE A DR. FOR CARPAL TUNNEL. DOCTOR HE IS NOT ALL THE DOCTOR'S I'VE SEEN FOR MYSELF & FAMILY MEMBERS HAD TIME TO DISCUSS WHAT EVER THE PROBLEM WAS. A DOCTOR HE IS NOT.

  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  love dr.nerndon  |  show details
Feb 16th, 2012

i have been seeing nim for 6 years. he nas nothjng but my respect

  • Currently 3 of 4 stars
 |  woundering  |  show details
Feb 14th, 2012

why is everyone posting private info on this site? everything from names and phone numbers asking for a response!! do people not know that this is not his webpage and more than likely will never see these postings?

  • Currently 1 of 4 stars
 |  show details
Jan 27th, 2012

dr herndon is a pill dr. he is shut down.good for you ya started alot of junkies

  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  How hard is it to take new pat. i,n people need his help  |  show details
Jan 24th, 2012

I too called and explaied that me and my family would like to move to this office. I was refer to this office from a website and was told we are on a waiting list but with no luck was told thing change and hes not taking new people. So i dont understand why a limit.

  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  David E.Yerage Sr.  |  show details
Jan 24th, 2012

Dr. Herndon , my wife Lisa, my cousin Clint Lawrence, his fiance' Britany Ngen are coming down for they're regular monthly appointment Jan. 27th,2012. Also,I have a new patient (even though you are no longer taking new patients he's a very good and trustworthy friend I stand behind. Completely,),could you please schedule all of their appointments for that morning or afternoon , Thank You. Yours Truly; David E.Yerage Sr. (724-575-0193) P.S. The new patient's name is Steven R. Chill. Mr.Chill is an area manager for Hertz. He's experiencing severe lower back pain which is compromising his daily duties. His home address is 929 Old Pulaski Rd.New Castle,PA.16105Telephone number; (724)971-1604His insurance is United Health Care (provider number 1-877-842-3210) address; 740800 Atlanta, GA. 30374-0800. Would you be so kind as to call me to verify this appointment request.e.

  • Currently 1 of 4 stars
 |  show details
Jan 8th, 2012

i talked to dr herndon and thought he understood my problem and he told me that since i told him everything he would help me wrote me a script didnt take my blood pressure he was in there for two minutes set appt one month later i went in only to be let go from his practice from a nurse and i said but we talked and they said he would not see me, not that any pharmacy would feel his scripts in a 100 mile radiace

  • Currently 3 of 4 stars
 |  show details
Dec 3rd, 2011

My husband has been trying to make an appointment for a few months now at this office. They say he was on a waiting list and would get a call back within 4 weeks and it has been well over 4 weeks. He broke his ankle a few years back while he was serving overseas, and it took the military 2 years to do surgery on his ankle. He still rolls it and is in constant pain because of this issue. he was told he will always have issues, and has been to several several doctors in the area and all who do nothing for him and have NO answers. Please call to schedule him an appointment, He has all medical records, surgery records, everything needed. Thanks 760.468.0246

  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  My Family Doctor for 10 years  |  show details
Nov 22nd, 2011

Dr. Herndon is CARING and great at diagnosing you with REAL PROBLEMS. Drug seekers try and con him but guess what, hes hip to you all. There are extensive drug screenings that measure the level of meds in your urine, your DNA, cratine, and at least tests for 12-15 different drugs and if you take your meds right and nothing illegal why worry? It is pricy to have the labs done. I LOVE Dr. Herndon and will continue to go to him even if my insurance wont cover him anymore. Thank you for making a functional working professional that has 2 children and a doctorate degree. He treat people with REAL issues.

  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  show details
Oct 24th, 2011

ive seen 4 different dr. all tell me what i have is irrevesible but yet did nothing to help me . i am aware that i cant be fixed but atleast help me deal with everyday living . thank you for taking your time with me doc.

  • Currently 3 of 4 stars
 |  Great dr  |  show details
Oct 14th, 2011

I had 3 appts with Dr Herndon. I really liked him. I was so relieved I had finally found a dr that cared about me and genuinely loved what he was doing. =) The staff is not friendly at all. It feels like they look for reasons to get you thrown out. They do seem super busy, so I can understand there attitudes. On my 3rd visit I was told that there was cocaine found in my urine. (IMPOSSIBLE) I sat there in shock and I kept saying How?? Thats impossible. I am no drug addict or narcotic seeker. I would love to have a chance to speak to the dr. I would not recomment him anymore because if this could happen to me, then it could happen to anyone. Even though he is a great dr, I think there is some problems in the office somewhere. Evidently there was an error made and I got punished. Wouldn't wish this on anyone.

  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  painterpitt30@hotmail.com  |  show details
Sep 29th, 2011

my wife needs help he had told my wife and i to leave his practice i dont understand because we donot do cocaine at all we are very upset and he left us high and dry with know medication my name is cynthia painter and husband william 4122776276 i would apritiate a new appointment we can discuss this we had know notification just leave the practice thank you

  • Currently 3 of 4 stars
 |  CONFUSEDP  |  show details
Sep 20th, 2011

I have been seeing Dr. Herndon for the past 5 months and have had no problems...I actually really liked him as a physician. Now, after being given my monthly refills on my prescriptions that I receive from him I have been told by several local pharmacies that they will not fill any prescriptions from him. I can't get in touch with him through his office and when a woman did answer the phone I was rudely told it wasn't their problem if I couldn't get my prescriptions filled. That confused me. How is it not the doctor's problem that a patient is being told they can't get a medication, prescribed by him as being necessary, filled? Has anyone else had this problem with this doctor? I guess I will be having to find a new primary care physician. Seems like there is something fishy going on with this practice.

  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  He is a great dr, w/ a great bedside manner, listens to you, oc  |  show details
Sep 15th, 2011

Who ever is spreading RUMORS about him is very rude, You are obvisly are trying to give him!! Please knock it off!! You have caused enough trouble.

  • Currently 1 of 4 stars
 |  show details
by CAROLINE JOHNSON on Sep 12th, 2011

I DON'T ACTUALLY BELIEVE ANY OF THOSE SO CALLED REVIEWS FROM DOCTORS ARE TRUE, BECAUSE I DON'T BELIEVE YOU CAN GET THROUGH MEDICAL SCHOOL WITHOUT BEING ABLE TO SPELL AND CORRECTLY CONJUGATE VERBS.

  • Currently 1 of 4 stars
 |  Narcotic depot  |  show details
Sep 10th, 2011

write rx's for high level narcotics for anyone at any time

  • Currently 3 of 4 stars
 |  theresa hornbuckle  |  show details
Aug 11th, 2011

dr. herdon, did i leave a bag of my meds in you office? if not i really need you to call upmc @1800-396-4139 i can get a over ride on all of my meds. all 9 that i recived yesterday. i have called your office with out respons..... thank you ps:you can call me at 412-481-1909

  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  Ms. barbara Horensky  |  show details
Jul 25th, 2011

I have been trying to schedule an appointment to have medical papers filed out and can not get a response from your office or email please contact me to schedule an appointment 724) 364-7667

  • Currently 3 of 4 stars
 |  Good Doctor  |  show details
Jul 19th, 2011

Dr. Herndon is very intelligent, has a good bedside manner and his staff are welcoming and professional. Wait time is usually under 20 minutes to be seen when you are on time for an appointment. I usually trust Dr. Herndon's medical judgement, and particular strengths of his are his organizational skills, ease in explaining complex medical issues to patients and their families, providing good references to outstanding specialists, listening to his patients and advocating for their medical needs, and following up on respective specialist recommendations. He is usually respectful of patient families and alternative therapies, although I suspect that if a family is aggressively confrontational or combative, he avoids them. When I found out how many facilities he directs, I was astounded that this man has as much time in his private practice with patients as he does! Paperwork follow through is not a strength of this office, nor are staff callbacks, so if you need anything after hours or to have papers filled out, you will usually have a considerable wait and may have to provide staff with repeated reminders via phone calls. Recently, they got a new system to field calls, and this has, in my opinion, degraded the relationships he has worked hard to build. The internet is no substitute for talking to the doctor and at least the former after hours call service got messages and responses through to the respective parties and the doctor. I do however, like the fact that you can reach the doctor directly via internet with questions and requests.

  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  GREAT DOCTOR  |  show details
Jul 13th, 2011

THIS DOCOR IS A CARING AND PASSIONATE INDIVIDUAL.HE ACCUALLY SITS A LISTENS TO MY PROBLEMS FOR AS LONG AS I NEED.

  • Currently 1 of 4 stars
 |  Avoided our family like we had the plague  |  show details
by R. Downie on Aug 28th, 2010

My grandmother (95 yrs old) was his patient at a nursing facility for a little over a month. She had a stage four bedsore, and was not recovering from surgery (for a bowel obstruction). She contracted MRSA in the nursing facility. She was heavily medicated to deal with the tremendous pain. Prior to this emergency surgery, she was in full possession of her faculties, and could take care of herself. Unfortunately, she passed away due to the forementioned complications. Dr. Herdon never once consulted with the member of our family who had a medical background despite repeated requests and assurances that he would do so. When my Grandmother passed away, he listed the cause of her death as...wait for it...DEMENTIA. Not only that, but he listed the onset of dementia as three months prior. He lied. No where on the Death Certificate did it mention that she died from an infection (MRSA) or multi-organ failure due to complications from surgery. When we called his office to ask him why, he never ever got on the phone. His receptionist was beyond rude, and hung up on us repeatedly after yelling that "He isn't going to change the death certificate, deal with it." Avoid this DR. He is TERRIBLE.

  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  Highly recommended  |  show details
by Susan Davis McIntosh on May 7th, 2008

Dr. Herndon is everything a person could want in a doctor -- professional, caring, patient, and brilliant. He has helped me go from weeks away from dying to near-perfect health. He has had to refer me to several specialists over the years and has always steered me to the best doctor for each condition. I have no question that he truly cares about my health and wants me to live a good, long life.

Mark as Helpful  | 2 people found this helpful Report Abuse