Dr. Patrick Chang MD Patient Reviews

  • Internal Medicine Chandler, AZ

Overall Rating

2.7
  • 57 patient ratings
  • 33 comments

Last 12 months:

2.0 (-0.7)

33 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    35%
  • Satisfied
    5%
  • Neutral
    4%
  • Dissatisfied
    4%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    53%
  • Wait Time 27.7 minutes
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

5.0 of 5
May 20th, 2017
Great Dr have been under his care for almost 20 years and he is fantastic. Some people thinks he runs to many test but is a preventive Dr and recommends only the best specialists . He has been listed in Phoenix Top Docs magazine many tims over the years. I am 79 and going strong. I first went to him in 1998 and needed a heart by pass he sent me to a fantastic surgeon they did a six way by pass and today you can hardly see the scar. Had Prostrate cancer 7 years ago now clean no side effects
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Highly Recomend! If you don't want a preventive Doctotor he is not for you. If you care about your health he is the best
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
June 28th, 2016
Good doctor
Very professional Doctor , solve my problems in one week!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
June 17th, 2016
Horrible Doctor
I worked for this doctor for a few months hes horrible i definitely would not recommend anyone send there loved ones to him. All of his medication is expired, his rocephin and allergy serum are all watered down. He uses insulin needles to give injections in the deltoid. Hes all about money not the patients. He cant keep employees cuz hes so cheap thats why he loves using students and his wife she sits at home and watches the cameras all day to see who is coming in and out of the office talk about patient privacy and watches what the employees are doing. The office manager shes a joke shes just as money hungry as the doctor shes rude to everyone who walks in. I feel bad for the patients when they have to pay so much money for stuff they dont even need or paying 25.00 dollars for an injection thats either expired or watered down and he makes them come 3 times a week for it and they pay 25.00 each time. His flu injections were not a full dose either. He needs to be shut down. Before more patients die under his care.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
June 7th, 2016
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I have worked for Dr. Chang for almost 3 months. This Provider is so rude. He charges a full dose of injections and we only administer half. He tells us not to use gloves when giving injections. A co-worker I worked with had incontinent issues and he asked her to provide her own toilet paper. Such a cheap Dr. I would not see him for any of my health issues..
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
August 9th, 2015
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I am a new patient of Dr. Chang's at the Palo Verde Clinic. He is very thorough and was the only physician that was able to diagnose my problem and prescribe the proper treatment. I would highly recommend Dr. Chang.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
December 31st, 2014
Wait time
45 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Unprofessional staff on so many levels.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
October 3rd, 2014
Experienced Physician
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I have been a patient in this office for 4 years. I have brought my family to Dr Chang and Byers PA. They are respectful and thoughtful people. Dr Chang does not have reading glasses. He wears glasses all the time so I am not sure about the other reviews accuracy of their issues. Staff was friendly and helpful. I do have a high deductible plan (which sucks) but I do have to pay each visit anywhere I go. I have never waited long in the lobby to get weighed and back to a room. they do type into a computer but this is normal for all places now with electronic health records. my concerns and questions were answered. I believe they are doing a great job.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
July 17th, 2014
Cannot recommend
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I should have left months ago. Maybe it was when they gave me the wrong vaccination. Or the time he checked the wrong box and I almost underwent the wrong (and a highly uncomfortable) diagnostic procedure. Or the time his med student from U of A looked at my lab report and diagnosed my real medical condition in five seconds, minutes before Chang explained the wrong condition to a different student. Maybe it was the time during a circulatory test given by a nurse-like person, when one of my arms did not show up correctly on their system, and she told me it's OK, it doesn't matter. Or perhaps being charged more per visit than was on my insurance card, being told it changed; I checked, and it hadn't. Hopefully he can fix whatever is broken in his practice.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
July 1st, 2014
Please Find another Doctor!
Wait time
45 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I still have nightmares about his care for me while I was in the hospital. He typed my diabetes incorrectly, and subsequently couldn't control my blood sugar. He starved me for two weeks - I had to beg for a PICC line to get some nutrition. He couldn't properly diagnose me. RUN!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
November 26th, 2013
Very disappointing experience with a supposed "Top Doc"
Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I, too, wish I had read these reviews before going to see Dr. Chang. I thought I had done my homework picking a 'top doc' from a good school, but apparently that doesn't guarantee competent service. For starters, the front office staff seemed both indifferent and confused. The young lady who took my blood pressure & weight didn't look like she knew what she was doing, and probably said 10 words total to me the entire time. The desk clerk was apparently concerned about wrinkles - I couldn't even coax a smile from her. The wait time wasn't excessive, but it wasn't good either.. I figure I was there at least 45 mins after my sheduled appt time before seeing Dr. Chang. Before seeing the doctor, I was required, as a new patient, to take two tests which had absolutely nothing to do with my present health complaints. I realized soon that since the equipment was in-house, this was just a convenient way of getting every patient he saw to help pay for it. Bone density test & circulation test... for a early-40s male with no such complaints???? Nonsense. I owe my insurance company an apology for seeing this guy. When I did finally see him, he was short, and even somewhat sarastic (I told him I had driven 30 mins to see him based on his rep, and he said in a negative tone "Well, I guess we should be honored".) He then asked me to describe my problems, but never looked me in the eye, too busy typing data into his computer. He didn't ask any questions, so the only information he received was what I volunteered. As my health problems had been going on for quite some time, I had documented them in a detailed timeline. When I handed this written description of my problems to Dr. Chang to read, which better described my issues than I could ever do in words, he reluctantly put on h is reading glasses, spent about 10 seconds reading a sentence or two, and then handed the two pages back to me without saying a word. When I asked if he'd like to keep a copy to review later (& for my records), he said he didn't need them!!! When I described my problems, which included both sinus & gastro issues that started at exactly the same time and worsened / improved in unison, he refused to acknowledge the fact they could be related. When I pressed the issue and insisted they were, in some way, related, he said "One thing at a time", and at one time even got angry saying rudely "Well, I'm the doctor, and my diagnosis is xxxxxx". Keep in mind I had been nothing but courteous & respectful the entire time. In the end, his 'fix' for my problem didn't work, which is not surprising, since he wouldn't listen to what I tried to tell him and refused to read the timeline I had spent so long creating for the benefit of an accurate diagnosis. This is the first, and hopefully the last, time I've ever written a negative review of a doctor. I don't make a habit of it, even though I've seen plenty who weren't the best. Trust me when I tell you - STAY AWAY.

5.0 of 5
October 13th, 2013
professor
My husband and I both go to Dr. Chang. He is a kind and very smart physician. Hard to find a brilliant Dr. in this area... But he is one of the few. We love Dr. Chang. He truly cares about our health.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
July 29th, 2013
Best doctor
We love Dr. Chang. He's been our family doctor for many years. He has a heart to take care of people!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Patrick Chang, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Chandler, AZ.