Dr. Patrick O'Leary MD Patient Reviews

  • Orthopedic Surgery of the Spine New York, NY

Overall Rating

4.2
  • 49 patient ratings
  • 13 comments

Last 12 months:

4.9 (+ 0.7)

13 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    73%
  • Satisfied
    6%
  • Neutral
    0%
  • Dissatisfied
    10%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    10%
  • Wait Time 24.1 minutes
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

5.0 of 5
February 4th, 2017
Outstanding
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Consummate professional
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
June 18th, 2016
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
After surgery , dr OLeary does not see the patient as std procedure - had to wait $ months after surgery and when asked about recurrent symptoms --- all Dr O Leary would say " don't know - next question " Terrible doc
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
January 22nd, 2016
DO NOT GO TO O'LEARY
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
O'Leary destroyed my spine (after assurances I was a straightforward fusion case and great candidate) and I have had to endure 7 more surgeries to try to fix his mess-up. I was left WAY WORSE OFF than before with him. And if there is a mess-up, good luck trying to get information out of him--he'll rush you out of the office with mumbled excuses and cold behavior. I should have sued but didn't only because I didn't want to get black-listed by other surgeons that I needed to fix all the mistakes O'Leary made. History shows that he used to be a great surgeon, but he's too old now and he's "lost it." After messing me up, he couldn't figure out how to fix it, and only made things worse with a second surgery--that's when I left him to find someone who COULD fix his errors, but it took several more surgeries. I could write more, but bottom line--don't risk your spine and sanity with this guy.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
November 10th, 2015
First visit
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Spends Time with Patients
Very through exam
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
June 10th, 2015
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr O'Leary was, perhaps, the finest diagnostician and focused and capable surgeon I've been treated by and I've undergone 9 surgeries for different reasons/medical issues since 1973.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
January 6th, 2015
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
He was my surgeon and 14 years later, I'm perfect!!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
October 8th, 2014
Unfortunate experience
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I wanted to like him, but just can't say I had a good experience. After being referred to Dr. O'Leary by my physiatrist for a surgical consult, I was made to feel like I had no business being there. Meanwhile, they require you to submit all of your information before even booking an appointment (to ensure you're in the right place)...I came prepared to the appointment with all of the information I was told to have from my referring Dr. Then I was told he couldn't make any recommendation without a report he was missing from my referring Dr. When I asked why they didn't inform me that this was missing from my record prior to coming in, they told me that was my responsibility to take care of. I'm sorry, am I supposed to be a mind reader? I was told that it was sent over by referring MD....Charged me $500 and refused to refund half the bill considering I didn't even get an opinion out of it. To their credit they offered a complimentary follow up for the misunderstanding, however I have no interest in returning as the Dr. was terribly cold, and lacked any compassion for the pain that I am in. No suggestion that he wants to help me get better.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
July 18th, 2013
Best Dr. In the world
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
He saved my life. After I was told another surgery on my back was too chancy, Dr O'leary said he could help me, and he didn't see where surgery was that risky. He did it, and my pain is about 90%gone, I've been given a new lease on life. In addition his bedside manor was wonderful, and he is the most caring Dr. I've ever been to.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 27th, 2012
Excellent results
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Kind, compassionate and a wonderful surgeon and diagnostician

5.0 of 5
December 22nd, 2011
There are not many gifted, hard working physicians like Dr. O'Leary
Wait time
40 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. O'Leary is truly a gifted, dedicated, caring physician. There are not enough hours in the day for Dr. O'Leary to do the work he does. Sometimes this may mean a longer wait to see him. It is unavoidable. If you are able to be treated by Dr. O'Leary you are a lucky patient and should consider yourself blessed.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
July 28th, 2010
He's terrific!!!
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I sincerely cannot say enough about the excellent treatment I received at the skilled hands of Dr. O'Leary. I would trust him to operate on any of my children or grandchildren. He is a fabulous doctor and honorable man...and his Irish accent will charm you!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
June 5th, 2010
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Simply, the best! Wonderful manner, professional and a brilliant surgeon. Highly recommend him!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Patrick O'Leary, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near New York, NY.