advertisement
Browse Health
Dr. Patrick Graupman, MD
Surgical Specialist, Neurological Surgeon
15 years of experience
Accepting new patients

Patient Reviews

Patient Reviews ?

Overall Rating:
2.5
  •  
Total Ratings

31

Total Reviews

10

Ratings
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star
Ease of Appointment:
  •  
Promptness:
  •  
Courteous Staff:
  •  
Accurate Diagnosis:
  •  
Bedside Manner:
  •  
Spends Time with Me:
  •  
Follows Up After Visit:
  •  
Average Wait: 14 minutes
Ease of Appointment:
  •  
Promptness:
  •  
Courteous Staff:
  •  
Accurate Diagnosis:
  •  
Bedside Manner:
  •  
Spends Time with Me:
  •  
Follows Up After Visit:
  •  
Average Wait: 14 minutes
Some ratings provided by DrScore.
Write a Review
  •  
You may save your child a lifetime of unnecessary pain and misery by avoiding this doctor show details You may save your child a lifetime of unnecessary pain and misery by avoiding this doctor
by Chuck on May 28th, 2016

First of all, if you are told that your child needs surgery, get 4-5 opinions from different places. You may find out that your child does not need the surgery at all. Also you may discover a problem that you never knew existed. Never trust Gillette's one opinion, and this doctor's in particular. You'll be doomed and absolutely married to a miserable way of life, if you do. Take a look at what Gillette's neurosurgeon did to a boy from Texas on KARE11 "Medical Miracle or Medical Torture" My daughter was almost victimized the same way by Dr.Graupman. At Gillette, they have a method of aggressively putting a patient in hospital by offering an immediate surgery (including unnecessary). When exposed, the doctors blame parents for their own malpractice. In the TX boy's case the mother was blamed for "duping" the doctor into performing multiple unnecessary surgeries on her 9-year old son. In our case, the mother was blamed for not consenting to an unnecessary cord detethering surgery on a spinal cord that was not tethered and for getting additional opinions that exposed Dr.Graupman's con. In the TX boy's case the NS did not look at the boy's medical record. In our case, Dr.Graupman made his "diagnosis" without reviewing the MRI that he himself had ordered. In his pursuit of multiple higher-paying elective surgeries that would have secured our child as Gillette's patient for years to come, Dr.Graupman did not tell us that the child had a brain tumor. We had to find that out from Boston Children's neurosurgeons. There is a good reason why Gillette is not nationally ranked in neurosurgery. This hospital promotes surgery for money. It sweeps complaints about its doctors under the rug, and takes part in medical records alterations to cover up for its doctors' malpractice. AG of MN supports this hospital no matter what. Dr. Graupman is untouchable by virtue of his connections. If this doctor hurts your child, you will have no recourse. You may save your child and yourself a lifetime of unnecessary pain and misery by avoiding Dr.Graupman's "services".

Mark as Helpful  | 4 people found this helpful Report Abuse
  •  
Do Not Recommend show details Do Not Recommend
Sep 7th, 2015

Surgery-happy. The only thing he wants to do , even in the absence of symptoms. High likelihood of misdiagnosis: means to obtaining consent for unnecessary surgery.

Mark as Helpful  | 6 people found this helpful Report Abuse
  •  
Review posted on March 17 , 2015 show details Review posted on March 17 , 2015
Mar 26th, 2015

Hmm..Amazing doctor Graupman? We already know that you think you are amazing. Not that there is anything wrong with healthy self-esteem, but it does not seem right that you should sign your self-review with someone else's name. Likewise, it does not seem right that you should remove reviews written by people who experienced your amazing services, from other sites. Finally, congratulations on having a son of your own - that had to be really something.

Mark as Helpful  | 5 people found this helpful Report Abuse
  •  
Amazing show details Amazing
by Shannon Walker Perry on Mar 17th, 2015

He saved my life. Amazing. Cannot that him enough. I now have my own son.

  •  
not touching my child show details not touching my child
Jun 6th, 2014

wow thanks everyone. I was going to take my daughter to this doctor. Sounds like a real jerk I cancelled appt. He definitely is not operating on my daughter!

Mark as Helpful  | 10 people found this helpful Report Abuse
  •  
Worthless Doctor show details Worthless Doctor
by Laura on Apr 3rd, 2014

Dr. Patrick Graupman is the worst doctor we have had to deal with. My son was seen by him when he was a year old for a tumor he had in his 3rd ventricle in his brain. We went with him at the time because we trusted him. Once we got to the hospital him and his staff were the rudest people we had ever met. Very unprofessional. Talked to us like we were stupid and didn't understand anything. He went in and removed the tumor and before the surgery he told us that it was unlikely he would need a shunt placement that his hydrocephalus would just naturally flow down the ventricle once the tumor was removed. We were very thankful that the shunt was not needed. We spent the first week in the hospital for recovery and again his staff (nurses) and another doctor were very rude and disrespectful the whole time. The night before we were suppose to leave our son started crying so hard and pulled his bandage off his head and we discovered a huge lump on the top of his head. It was fluid build up. He went in that night for a emergency surgery for shunt placement. When we walked down to the emergency area with our son the nurse that transported him was very rude and was flying down the hallway with our son not caring that he was in so much pain. When we met Dr. Graupman down in the surgery room he looked to be on drugs and chewing on his gum really fast. While in the waiting room by ourselves because it was the middle of the night we heard a baby scream. Once our son was out of surgery we asked if that was him that was screaming and he quickly said no. Kind of hard to believe since we were the only ones down there and there were no other patients getting surgery in the middle of the night. The nurse then transported him back to the ICU and was once again flying down the hallway with him and ran his bed right into the wall. We told her to slow down and she laughed at us thinking it was funny that she did what she did. Once we were in the ICU we told the nurses up there what had happened. They also left all the pink itchy scrub all over his face didn't even clean him up after surgery. The next week was as horrible as the first week. He has no respect for his patients or the parents. He is out there just looking for the paycheck. We complained to the public relations and hospital about him and our experience and they didn't do anything about it. We had a follow up with Dr. Graupman at his office about a week after we went home and he didn't even know what kind of shunt he put in his head. Not only that but we then found out his shunt was malfunctioned. How does a doctor not test out a device that there going to place into some one's brain? It's been 6 years now and another doctor had to go and fix his mistake and he's on his 3rd shunt now. Also just found out that he has nerve damage in his brain due to the surgery and his left eye is very bad. Someone that looked at his scans told us that the nerve damage was done while the tumor was removed so he cut something in his brain to cause the nerve damage. I would NEVER recommend this POS doctor. I don't get how the Children's Hospital can keep such a scumbag doctor like him around to care for such innocent children. It's a shame! I wish we could give him no stars for this review but I guess they want you to at least give one star.

Mark as Helpful  | 15 people found this helpful Report Abuse
  •  
Oh well show details Oh well
Sep 9th, 2013

No interest in patient. Not thorough . Poorly prepared for the visit. Terrible choice of words in front of the child. Wrong diagnosis with a lot of medically unnecessary dangerous procedures proposed - the hospital must love this doctor. Tremendous push for surgery throughout. We could not get rid of the feeling that it was all about generating revenues for the interested parties rather than about the child's well-being .

Mark as Helpful  | 9 people found this helpful Report Abuse
Mar 5th, 2013

Always been very impressed with Dr Graupmann and Gillette

Mark as Helpful  | 2 people found this helpful Report Abuse
  •  
Great show details Great
Jan 29th, 2013

My daughter has been seeing Dr. Graupman since she was born in 2008. We have always been happy with the visits. He is extremely nice, professional, humorous at the right times and knowledgeable. We didn't actually choose him as our daughters Neurosurgeon, he was the doctor on call when she was born. But we wouldn't have it any other way. We have dealt with the other Neurosurgeons at Gillette, but were most impressed with Dr. Graupman.

Mark as Helpful  | 1 person found this helpful Report Abuse
  •  
Oh show details Oh
May 4th, 2012

Flirts with his staff too muchs in font customers

Mark as Helpful  | 13 people found this helpful Report Abuse