Patrick C Graupman, MD
Surgeons
13 years of experience

Accepting new patients
Mt. Airy
Gillette Children's Specialty Healthcare
200 University Ave E
Saint Paul, MN 55101
651-291-2848
Locations and availability (3)

Patient Reviews ?

Overall Rating:
2.5
  • Currently 2.5 of 4 stars
Total Ratings

24

Total Reviews

8

Ratings
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star
Ease of Appointment:
  • Currently 2.2272727272727 of 4 stars
Promptness:
  • Currently 2.6666666666667 of 4 stars
Courteous Staff:
  • Currently 2.2272727272727 of 4 stars
Accurate Diagnosis:
  • Currently 2.2272727272727 of 4 stars
Bedside Manner:
  • Currently 2.2272727272727 of 4 stars
Spends Time with Me:
  • Currently 2.1363636363636 of 4 stars
Follows Up After Visit:
  • Currently 2.0909090909091 of 4 stars
Average Wait: 11 minutes
Some ratings provided by DrScore.
  • Currently 1 of 4 stars
 |  not touching my child  |  show details
Jun 6th, 2014

wow thanks everyone. I was going to take my daughter to this doctor. Sounds like a real jerk I cancelled appt. He definitely is not operating on my daughter!

Mark as Helpful  | 1 person found this helpful Report Abuse
  • Currently 1 of 4 stars
 |  Why is he a doctor?  |  show details
May 15th, 2014

This doctor does not recognize universally accepted ideas of right and wrong.Will try to get what he wants by hook or crook. Vindictive. Has no problem with lying and shifting blame. Will do harm to patient for his own personal gain. Acts bored and tired of his job. Shows absolutely no interest in pediatric patient. More interested in flirting with women. During consultations acted like he was either on drugs, or suffered from a severe hangover. Get him excited or upset, and you will see his right arm shake the arm that he will use to operate on your childs brain or spine. Shows no compassion, uses cruel language, cannot relate to children. Does not keep good records. Does not believe in patient education. When asked questions, gave very brief one sentence answers with heavy emphasis on background knowledge that most parents do not have. Very pushy, egotistical, and dictatorial personality, with a big and whats new - fragile ego. Always has an instant answer to everything, never questions himself. People who see him as nice must not have asked him any in-depth questions, which he resents and treats as an insult. Do not even ask him to go over the MRI with you. He will resent that too. Aggressive pusher for unnecessary surgeries. Not a trustworthy diagnostician.Websites always give inflated numbers of doctors years of experience, in which they include all the years of training in residency and fellowship. Independent experience begins after graduation from fellowship.

Mark as Helpful  | 1 person found this helpful Report Abuse
  • Currently 1 of 4 stars
 |  Worthless Doctor  |  show details
by Laura on Apr 3rd, 2014

Dr. Patrick Graupman is the worst doctor we have had to deal with. My son was seen by him when he was a year old for a tumor he had in his 3rd ventricle in his brain. We went with him at the time because we trusted him. Once we got to the hospital him and his staff were the rudest people we had ever met. Very unprofessional. Talked to us like we were stupid and didn't understand anything. He went in and removed the tumor and before the surgery he told us that it was unlikely he would need a shunt placement that his hydrocephalus would just naturally flow down the ventricle once the tumor was removed. We were very thankful that the shunt was not needed. We spent the first week in the hospital for recovery and again his staff (nurses) and another doctor were very rude and disrespectful the whole time. The night before we were suppose to leave our son started crying so hard and pulled his bandage off his head and we discovered a huge lump on the top of his head. It was fluid build up. He went in that night for a emergency surgery for shunt placement. When we walked down to the emergency area with our son the nurse that transported him was very rude and was flying down the hallway with our son not caring that he was in so much pain. When we met Dr. Graupman down in the surgery room he looked to be on drugs and chewing on his gum really fast. While in the waiting room by ourselves because it was the middle of the night we heard a baby scream. Once our son was out of surgery we asked if that was him that was screaming and he quickly said no. Kind of hard to believe since we were the only ones down there and there were no other patients getting surgery in the middle of the night. The nurse then transported him back to the ICU and was once again flying down the hallway with him and ran his bed right into the wall. We told her to slow down and she laughed at us thinking it was funny that she did what she did. Once we were in the ICU we told the nurses up there what had happened. They also left all the pink itchy scrub all over his face didn't even clean him up after surgery. The next week was as horrible as the first week. He has no respect for his patients or the parents. He is out there just looking for the paycheck. We complained to the public relations and hospital about him and our experience and they didn't do anything about it. We had a follow up with Dr. Graupman at his office about a week after we went home and he didn't even know what kind of shunt he put in his head. Not only that but we then found out his shunt was malfunctioned. How does a doctor not test out a device that there going to place into some one's brain? It's been 6 years now and another doctor had to go and fix his mistake and he's on his 3rd shunt now. Also just found out that he has nerve damage in his brain due to the surgery and his left eye is very bad. Someone that looked at his scans told us that the nerve damage was done while the tumor was removed so he cut something in his brain to cause the nerve damage. I would NEVER recommend this POS doctor. I don't get how the Children's Hospital can keep such a scumbag doctor like him around to care for such innocent children. It's a shame! I wish we could give him no stars for this review but I guess they want you to at least give one star.

Mark as Helpful  | 5 people found this helpful Report Abuse
  • Currently 1 of 4 stars
 |  Get as many opinions as you can  |  show details
Mar 25th, 2014

Unhelpful, inefficient staff. Doctor's manner rude and unprofessional, careless towards diagnosis.Acted disinterested and tired of his job,joked about his own drinking, which his nurse found funny.Flirted with nurse throughout the visit.Review of imaging was reluctant, rushed, and incomplete. Did not go over medical history during initial visit.Did not include results of neuro.assessment in clinical notes.Provided no meaningful verbal feedback on the patients neurological status. Did not explain risks of proposed surgical procedures, provided no information on other available surgical options. Ignored requests for post-visit follow-up.Treated questions as expression of mistrust. Flew into temper easily. Engaged in display of self-pity at being wrong, rather than making attempt to analyze the situation to work out the best solution for the patient. Was caustic over other neurosurgeons opinions. Gave conflicting numbers on years of independent experience and surgeries performed: initial 200( ) in 12 years several months later became 300( ) in 20 years (the dr. was only 42 yrs.old, 10 years past neurosurgery fellowship).Diagnosed 2 conditions, that according to 7 other neurosurgeons,the child did not have. Wanted to operate on both. Later, admitted that the child did not have one of those conditions. Apologized, then lied about it in clinical notes, terminated care,leaving the child's brain tumor unattended. The tumor that he also failed to diagnose.The amount of time we spent with this dr. did not matter, as it was poor quality time-really wasted for us, though the dr.gets his $500 per visit no matter what.The scariest thing of all was that the child would have ended up with a ruined back and possibly irrepairable neurological damage, if we did not question this doctor's diagnosis and consulted other neurosurgeons.

Mark as Helpful  | 1 person found this helpful Report Abuse
  • Currently 1 of 4 stars
 |  Oh well  |  show details
Sep 9th, 2013

No interest in patient. Not thorough . Poorly prepared for the visit. Terrible choice of words in front of the child. Wrong diagnosis with a lot of medically unnecessary dangerous procedures proposed - the hospital must love this doctor. Tremendous push for surgery throughout. We could not get rid of the feeling that it was all about generating revenues for the interested parties rather than about the child's well-being .

Mark as Helpful  | 1 person found this helpful Report Abuse
  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  show details
Mar 5th, 2013

Always been very impressed with Dr Graupmann and Gillette

Mark as Helpful  | 1 person found this helpful Report Abuse
  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  Great  |  show details
Jan 29th, 2013

My daughter has been seeing Dr. Graupman since she was born in 2008. We have always been happy with the visits. He is extremely nice, professional, humorous at the right times and knowledgeable. We didn't actually choose him as our daughters Neurosurgeon, he was the doctor on call when she was born. But we wouldn't have it any other way. We have dealt with the other Neurosurgeons at Gillette, but were most impressed with Dr. Graupman.

Mark as Helpful  | 1 person found this helpful Report Abuse
  • Currently 1 of 4 stars
 |  Oh  |  show details
May 4th, 2012

Flirts with his staff too muchs in font customers

Mark as Helpful  | 3 people found this helpful Report Abuse