Dr. Paul Beals MD Patient Reviews

  • Family Medicine Washington, DC

Overall Rating

4.0
  • 34 patient ratings
  • 19 comments

Last 12 months:

4.1 (+ 0.1)

34 Patient Reviews

  • Excellent
    59%
  • Great
    18%
  • Good
    6%
  • Poor
    3%
  • Bad
    15%
  • Friendly Staff
  • Promptness
  • Wait Time 12.8 minutes
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Bedside Manner
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Easy Appointments

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

5.0 of 5
August 10th, 2017
Finally, a doctor who cares.
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I just saw Dr. Beals for the first time yesterday. Have had untreated Lyme disease for 9 years. Screaming headaches, knees and hips getting so bad I was concerned about walking, neurological problems. He has offered hope. My first 2 positive and 3rd negative test came from my neurologist 9 years ago. She went with the negative and ignored the positive tests. Been on massive amounts of seizure meds for 9 years for the screaming headaches. Tension, migraine, occipital neuralagia. Could all be from the Lyme.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
June 26th, 2017
Smart and knows all about Lyme!
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr Beals treated me for Lyme disease in 2010 for a couple of years. He is fast thinking and really knows his stuff when it comes to Lyme and the coinfections. I had to come back for further treatment due to re- infection by a tick bite and he was able to help. I was glad to see he had updated his treatment with supplements and herbal protocols. He has a well rounded program. Very helpful, staff has always been wonderful!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
June 26th, 2017
Smart and knows all about Lyme!
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr Beals treated me for Lyme disease in 2010 for a couple of years. He is fast thinking and really knows his stuff when it comes to Lyme and the coinfections. I had to come back for further treatment due to re- infection by a tick bite and he was able to help. I was glad to see he had updated his treatment with supplements and herbal protocols. He has a well rounded program. Very helpful, staff has always been wonderful!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
June 19th, 2017
He is wonderful!
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Can't say enough about him. He has treated me for Lyme disease with great results! He has also treated me for a serious thyroid problem and adjusted my female hormones to natural ones. Don't believe the bad review. He is great. If you have a problem just call the office. He will get back to you
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
May 28th, 2017
Cured from lyme
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I was treated by Dr Beals for lyme in 2013 and 2015. I was bitten by a tick in 2013 and developed a bulls eye rash. Dr Beals put me on several months of antibiotics. The symptoms disappeared, but returned a little over a year later. I went back and was put on another dose. I have been symptom free for 2 years now. I believe he saved my life.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 7th, 2017
Finally seeing light at the end of the tunnel.
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Until I met Dr Beals I had completly given up. I was in a wheelchair, in constant pain, high fevers, horrible headaches, burning in my feet legs and arms. He never gave up and continued to help me. After going to so many drs and them telling me that there is nothing wrong with me, it was so nice to have a dr listen understand and treat my symptoms. Lyme is a real disease and a horrible one. I am so thankful to God for putting Dr Beals in my life. It has been a long road but I am finally starting to walk again. I am getting married in September and so excited to walk down the aisle. If you are looking for a dr you can trust, a dr that will listen to you and help you, Dr.Beals is the dr for you.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 1st, 2017
compassionate caring doctor
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
friendly staff

2.0 of 5
October 5th, 2016
Unsatisfactory treatment
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Beals treated me for 6 months for Lyme disease and 6 weeks for heavy metals. He gave me no information about the chelation--and either little or contradicting information through his staff. When I asked in-depth questions, 3 different staff members told me on what ended up being my last visit that I was done with chelation--when I had previously been told I would need at least 2 or 3 rounds. Beals also prescribed blood pressure medicine that was unnecessary and red yeast rice for high cholesterol while I was being treated for Lyme. Since my strength had been declining and I had not seen any improvement, I had another doctor review my case who said to stop taking the red yeast rice immediately. Three other supplements I was charged for were either ineffective or caused adverse reactions. I still do not know if my Lyme disease has been cured and Beals never addressed my repeated concerns about getting progressively weaker (to the point where I have difficulty walking and standing and doing self care). Staff members were also unprofessional at times. DO NOT use this doctor unless you do your homework very carefully and ask plenty of questions!!! Although he did return one call to clear up some confusion about the antibiotics he prescribed, he appears to be more interested in charges than the health of his patients.

5.0 of 5
September 1st, 2016
Dr. Beals is the epitome of what a family doctor should be.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
February 22nd, 2016
Wait time
25 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr Beals is an excellent practitioner who diligently follows current research and questions guidelines from various organizations He was doctor # 8, and the only one who has treated me effectively.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
January 27th, 2016
Mortgage Banker
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Appropriate Follow-up
When my son was first diagnosed with Lyme Disease the typical treatment with every doctor was a 10 day supply of Antibiotics. These Antibiotics only gave some relief to symptoms but once finished the disease would come back only harder. After 3 different doctors and statements like these " you will have it the rest of your life" or "if you take the required Antibiotics you should be fine"! I decided to grasp at straws and look into doctors who challenge what others in their field consider "Alternative Medicine". Dr. Beal's name came up, so I researched him, and yes you will find that the Medical Board had problems with him as well as other associations. But his outside of the box treatments has been awesome in helping my son. The medical system doesn't want this issue cured its a money making field that's why they Witch Hunt doctors like doctor Beal. At the end of the day the Antibiotic Program and Supplements have saved my boys way of life. He also looked at my sons rashes within seconds said "he has Bartonella Disease a strand of the Lyme's Virus.......he concluded it based on stretchmark like worm scaring all over my son's body. As I have researched this disease he was spot on.......not one nimwit doctor ever approached it or concluded it from the 50 voles of blood they drew. I highly recommend Dr Beal.....you just need to be open minded and listen to him!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 29th, 2015
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I took my sister to Dr Beals after two years of deterioration and negative Lyme tests. She finally started responding to treatment after three months with Dr Beals, and continues to improve, now in the ninth month of treatment. She could hardly walk from knee arthritis, had cognitive impairments, psychiatric symptoms, balance problems and speech deficits. Her weight loss resulted in moving from a size 12 to size 6, secondary to chronic nausea/vomiting. Dr Beals has been patient and consistent, and, fortunately, knowledgeable. Unfortunately, provision of competent treatment for chronic lyme and associated diseases carries risk of harassment from medical boards in various states, including Maryland. The CDC is way behind on this issue.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Paul Beals, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Washington, DC.