Dr. Paul Black MD Patient Reviews

  • Family Medicine Gate City, VA

Overall Rating

3.5
  • 19 patient ratings
  • 7 comments

Last 12 months:

4.0 (+ 0.5)

19 Patient Reviews

  • Excellent
    42%
  • Great
    11%
  • Good
    11%
  • Poor
    16%
  • Bad
    21%
  • Friendly Staff
  • Promptness
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Bedside Manner
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Easy Appointments
  • Wait Time 17.5 minutes

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

5.0 of 5
July 21st, 2017
I had 5 family members going to Dr. Black.Had no problems.Now one of my sons has left the the group since Dr. Black Left.My Husband & I are thinking about it.I still have another son & his wife that hasn't decided yet.We were very disappointed that things went the way they did,because we didn't know there was any problem.Couldn't find out anthing.It was really a shock to us.
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
December 31st, 2014
Competent and caring
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Black is an extremely caring physician who spends quite a bit of time with each patient, and he is thoughtful in his dealings with patients, or at least I have found him to be so. He is oriented toward natural remedies, which is why I sought him out; I think most people are overdrugged these days. He has a background as a chiropractor, which gives him a dimension of knowledge that most medical doctors lack. I doubt he will win awards for bedside manner, but most of that, I think, is a cultural difference. Dr. Black is not from the South, and his manner reflects that. I'm much more interested in competence and caring, however, as I have gone to too many physicians in this area who are wonderfully sweetnatured and are also pushing pills at every opportunity. Dr. Black is a very good person, I think, but he is not saccharine or phony, and my impression is that phonies do quite well around here. I'd suggest ignoring any reviews of his bedside manner and focusing on what he actually does for you. He is the real article, not a phony.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
September 2nd, 2013
Non caring doctor...Paul Black
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Again, another visit to Dr. Black. As usual he acts if he doesn't, care or listen to you. He can never look you in the eye. He is always typing and most of the time, can,t repeat back what you said. He is trying to incorporate his chiropractic crap with his medical field. I have found out he knows very little about either field. Wish Dr. Wolfe would come back and practice again. Guess I will have to find another Dr. Again, the staff is so stressed out because he takes his anger out on then. If he is having a bad day, watch out staff, he screams at them. His nurse Linda is sooo stressed and walking on egg shells from all his outrage. I"m gone to another Dr.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
August 2nd, 2013
Paul Black
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
He doesn't listen. He types as you talk and then cant repeat back what you said. He will over talk you. Has said that everything is related to weight and foods, even if you just have a cut on your finger. I am thinking about leaving this office. He treats the staff like crap. Dr. Wolfe would crap in his britches if he knew his business is going out the window. Paul Black, get your act together or get out of Gate City. They are real doctors out there that would love to move right in. Good Day !!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

3.7 of 5
April 4th, 2013
Get fit
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I took Dr.Blacks advise, got more exercise and gave up soda and wheat products. Lost 30 lbs and feel better than I have in years.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.3 of 5
October 26th, 2012
poor prpfessional conduct
Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
takes side in family fueds, unintrested i8n true facts, accuses family members without necessary investigation of rumors. rude and uncaring
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.3 of 5
December 8th, 2011
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Doctor blames everything on the fact that your weight is not where it should be. If your head hurts it's because your overweight. If your big toe hurts it is caused by weight.

4.0 of 5
June 7th, 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
April 30th, 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 26th, 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
October 29th, 2016
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
July 6th, 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Paul Black, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Gate City, VA.