Browse Health
Family Practitioner, Neurological Surgeon
8 years of experience

Patient Reviews ? Write a Review

Overall Rating:
3.0
  • Currently 3 of 4 stars
Total Ratings

28

Total Reviews

16

Ratings
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star
Ease of Appointment:
  • Currently 2.75 of 4 stars
Promptness:
  • Currently 2.75 of 4 stars
Courteous Staff:
  • Currently 2.5 of 4 stars
Accurate Diagnosis:
  • Currently 2.75 of 4 stars
Bedside Manner:
  • Currently 2.75 of 4 stars
Spends Time with Me:
  • Currently 2.75 of 4 stars
Follows Up After Visit:
  • Currently 2.6875 of 4 stars
Average Wait: 25 minutes
Some ratings provided by Judy's Book.
  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  Best Doctor  |  show details
by Lynette on Nov 16th, 2013

Whoever is saying about this doctor is not true... Truth is if he yelled at you that means you did something wrong... you might have been reported, came up dirty on your drug test, using illegal drugs and the worst is you have the rudest attitude ever and there is no way to please you wherever you go... Dr.Kaiwi is the only doctor who cares about the aina and the people, he hates druggies and he will help you come off the dependence without harming yourself or anybody... If you don't know him and he is not your doctor better be quiet than judge him... He is knowledgeable in what he does and competent... He is straight forward about your health and does not want to hear about the crap of your life which is suppose to be in every doctor straight health and medical... Staff are firm as well and follows the law but very helpful and gets things done.... so if you are a druggie he is not the doctor for you...

Mark as Helpful  | 2 people found this helpful Report Abuse
  • Currently 1 of 4 stars
 |  PhD  |  show details
Oct 29th, 2013

This man is crass, neglectful and harassed my elderly mother. She was seeing him for pain management because of her severe, chronic disorder, and he would accuse her of lying about her pain, inform her that he feels no pain, so she shouldn't either (she's 60 yo with sympathetic reflex dystrophy- and medical condition that IS pain!), and finally he fully yelled at her in the middle of his clinic, threatening to call the police on her and demanding to know who she was selling her medication to, reducing her to tears and running her out of his practice. He utterly refused to listen to her, for the past YEAR, that she suffered from intense, daily pain, and that whatever he considered a "maintenance plan" was not adequate. Doctors are supposed to listen to their patients and TREAT them. This man abused his position of being one of less than a handful of doctors on the Big Island specializing in pain, and he clearly has no understanding of the biology underlying neurological pain sensation, let alone how to treat it. He has no right to his medical degree and the medical board so conduct a serious review of his skills, diagnoses and practice.

Mark as Helpful  | 7 people found this helpful Report Abuse
  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  Good man  |  show details
by Mim on Aug 12th, 2013

Dr Kawiwi is one of the most caring doctors i have ever met. He has helped me so much and yes, his staff is strict, but they have to be since he is a pain management doctor !! It is their job to keep him in business and his medical license safe from people who abide pain medication. He has helped many people stop abusing pain pills and I know of one very close to me that he got him entirely off, very safely and quickly.

Mark as Helpful  | 3 people found this helpful Report Abuse
  • Currently 1 of 4 stars
 |  complaint  |  show details
Mar 20th, 2013

very incompetent typical witch doctor operates out of maui and supposedly services big island patients 2ce a week which is a lie. no one staffs his office on big island for past 3 months. should fire someone named 'emma' who gives nothing but lip service. i fired my last pcp then got stuck with this clown. do not deal with him or his smart mouthed 'so called' staff. filing a formal complaint

Mark as Helpful  | 6 people found this helpful Report Abuse
  • Currently 1 of 4 stars
 |  review  |  show details
by varner, john on Mar 11th, 2013

terrible service. no one answers phone so cannot make appointment. i've left 3 voice messages to get refills for arthritis medicine to no avail. also had to go to urgent care 3 times last month for chrinic bronchitis and been on medical leave for 2 months and cannot getg hold of my pcp. went by his office twice and closed both times

Mark as Helpful  | 4 people found this helpful Report Abuse
  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  Heaven sent  |  show details
by Jade Alohalani Smith on Mar 6th, 2013

Dr Kaiwi has a personality that shows he understands and cares for his patients. I have been in bad health situations and he pulled me through with professional and sincere assistance. I was once pregnant with a high amount in my CA 125 test (cancer). I lost the baby. I continue to appreciate all that he and his staff does. Thank you Dr Kaiwi.

Mark as Helpful  | 2 people found this helpful Report Abuse
  • Currently 1 of 4 stars
 |  Very rude  |  show details
Nov 16th, 2012

My sister went to him and he accused her of being a drug seeker. He is wrong! He left her is tears and without any meds even to ween on.

Mark as Helpful  | 6 people found this helpful Report Abuse
  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  Great Doctor  |  show details
Jul 22nd, 2012

Very strict doctor but very thorough and knowledgeable. If you want to stay alive, go to Dr. Kaiwi. If you don't like strict, find another.

Mark as Helpful  | 2 people found this helpful Report Abuse
  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  Excellent  |  show details
Jun 10th, 2012

Got a spine epidural from Doc and the pain was relieved for 3 months. As a result, I was able to decrease the pain meds that I take. I highly recommend him. Staff is great too because they are stern yet caring.

Mark as Helpful  | 2 people found this helpful Report Abuse
  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  Dr. Kaiwi is great!  |  show details
by Joseph K. at Judy`sBook on Jun 18th, 2011 on judysbook.com

Doc very smart. Office is beautiful. Staff is competent and gets paperwork done very fast. Correct diagnosis and treatment all the time.

Read Full Review at judysbook.com
Mark as Helpful  | 2 people found this helpful Report Abuse
  • Currently 1 of 4 stars
 |  show details
Feb 16th, 2011

Was truely unhappy with your service. No time for patients needs.

Mark as Helpful  | 4 people found this helpful Report Abuse
  • Currently 1 of 4 stars
 |  Incompetent Staff!!  |  show details
Nov 22nd, 2010

He was my doctor for 2 months.It took only on the first visit to realize how many chronics go to this doctor for their fix! His staff is the ones that operate his office! They are so insincere and treat everyone who comes in for a visit like drugies! I knew this was NOT the doctor for me!I wish i checked out this website b-4 made the decision to choose him as a regular doctor!BEWARE for the stable people who are looking for a genuine doctor..He is not the one for you!

Mark as Helpful  | 1 person found this helpful Report Abuse
  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  He's a pain management specialist  |  show details
Oct 22nd, 2010

Did you also know that he is one of a handful of doctors on Maui who can prescribe suboxone and help people get off of the pain meds. He's helped get me off pain meds. The fact that theguy actually cares and is willing to help people with their pain issues makes you angry? You act like he's Conrad Murray . I'm on ssdi can't afford to see a shrink & a pcp he works with me I've had converdsations for upwards of 45 min with him. I'd like to see some proof of him beiiing involved in these 3 Maui deaths?Letsee how bsd is bad email it let's seedeskdude93257@yahoo.comlet's see it? Bactv up your words you wrote it. Other than that my doc seroqiil/Xanax seeverebi polar .&l schitzoprania so far so goof I got his back

  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  Man of God  |  show details
May 5th, 2010

Just a great Doctor

  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  show details
Feb 20th, 2010

Bottom line is he Cares period

  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  show details
Sep 2nd, 2009

The best doctor you could find in the Island of Maui...Takes really good care of his patients... check out his office...