ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr

The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Paul Mackoul Is this you?
  • 220
  • 4
  • 10
  • 12
  • 35

Quality Rating

Highly Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
22 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Paul Mackoul?


281 Ratings with 167 Comments

5.0 Rating

October 12th, 2017

I'd rate my experience with Dr. Mackoul and the Center for Innovative GYN as excellent. From booking an appointment to all of the phone calls with the staff in the office, everything was done in a professional and easy manner. I never had to wait more than 10 minutes for my appointment or to be seen, and the location of the center was literally 10 minutes from my house. In the first consultation, Dr. Mackoul drew diagrams, spoke simply and clearly, and answered any questions I had regarding my very large fibroid. The experience on the day of the surgery was also excellent. I went in for surgery prep at 7: 15 in the morning, and by 11:30 am was already home in bed. My pain level throughout the entire recovery was very minimum, and I was able to move about with moderate ease by day two. When I returned to work, everyone was really amazed at how well I looked; they can't really believe that I was out for surgery. Though I don't wish myself or anyone to be in need of surgery, but I am very happy with my decision of going to see Dr. Mackoul and having the surgery at the Center for Innovative GYN.

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

September 14th, 2017

Incredibly patient surgeon

Dr. MacKoul spent the time to answer my questions in such detail before I scheduled my surgery. I really appreciated that.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

September 13th, 2017

Stellar results

Had a long-term struggle getting diagnosed. Finally found a specialist who knew what he was talking about and how to fix it. Endometriosis is not well understood by many doctors. Dr. MacKoul was knowledgeable and for the first time in 6 years, I am not in pain.

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

June 10th, 2017

Experienced Doctor and Amazing Surgery Center

I had a laparoscopic partial hysterectomy at Innovations Surgery Center with Dr. MacKoul a week ago and feel absolutely amazing. The fact that he is able to do this surgery as minimally invasive reduced my pain, time off my feet and put me at less risk for complications. Within the first two days I was back on my feet and able to make short trips. I traveled from Dallas to the surgery center and every part of my trip was seamless from scheduling to surgery. Dr. MacKoul took the time to answer all of my questions on the phone before my surgery and in the pre-op room as well. His staff is caring and really puts you at ease. Cannot recommend him enough!

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

May 23rd, 2017

Intelligent, direct, and very responsive

For years dr's allowed me to suffer with endometriosis. It became a consuming issue in my life. One visit to Dr. Mackoul and it became obvious the previous treatments options were a Band-Aid to a bigger issue. Within 3 weeks, my life changed forever.....

Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

September 17th, 2016

Choose a Surgical Expert!

Dr. MacKoul is a phenomenal surgeon. I dealt with fibroids for over 15 years and Dr. MacKoul relieved me of this condition in a 1.5-hour, minimally-invasive surgery. The recovery was very fast; I was driving in 5 days. I cannot say enough about the professionalism of the staff and all who were involved in my care. I initially attempted to manage my situation through naturopathic means, so I was very healthy, but my body could not figure out how to get rid of fibroids that ultimately weighed over 9 pounds. I can say two things about my experience: 1) If you are suffering from enlarged fibroids and doctors in your area don’t seem confident in what to do with you, seek out Dr. MacKoul. You will not be an anomaly to him. 2) Do your best to maintain your health – diet, sleep, exercise, supplements, etc. – as healthy lifestyle choices will help you recover optimally post-surgery. Dr. MacKoul’s surgical skill has given me a new lease on life. My experience has been life-changing. I wish you well.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

July 10th, 2016

I highly recommend Dr. Paul Mackoul and the Center for Inn., GYN Center. I had a very large fibroid tumor (over 25cm) and was able to fly home to Los Angeles, CA., 2 days after my surgery. I have not had to take any pain medication. I am extremely grateful to Dr. Mackoul and his amazing staff for giving me my life back. Highly, highly recommend them!

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

June 13th, 2016

Exceptional care

Dr. Paul MacKoul and the surgical team at GYN were simply amazing. Beyond their expertise in handling sensitive medical conditions for women, they treat patients with care and respect. An unfortunate rarity in today's healthcare system. They are compassionate and empathetic to the multitude of unique conditions they treat. Guiding patients through the physical and emotional stages while helping navigate and ease the administrative issues. I am forever grateful for their care.

Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

April 20th, 2016

Great Experience

I cannot say enough wonderful things about Dr. Mackoul and the staff at the Center for Innovative GYN Care. I had a very large, pedunculated fibroid (11 cm) located on the outside of my uterus. The fibroid started out small when first diagnosed years ago and my then OB/GYN suggested watchful waiting. While I had no pain or bleeding with this type of fibroid, I did, however, over this past year, notice that I was having some symptoms that included bloating, the appearance of a lump when laying down, and frequent urination. I heard about Dr. Mackoul while listening to WTOP on the way to work one morning. I contacted the Center and was able to get a consult appointment at the Annapolis office. Because I am 47 years old, and do not plan to have children, a hysterectomy was recommended, but leaving my one ovary. I was very nervous, but Dr. Mackoul was very reassuring and explained to me everything I needed to know. I had surgery at Holy Cross Hospital. I came home that evening and took a pain pill to help me sleep that night. When I woke up the next morning, I couldn't believe how good I felt. I only used Motrin for the next two days and returned to work six days later. You cannot even tell where my incisions were! All I can say is my experience from beginning to end has been top notch. For women that are told they need invasive surgery, you MUST make an appointment with Dr. Mackoul. You will not regret it. He is amazing.

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

March 8th, 2016

Great recovery, better than expected!

I found Dr. MacKoul via internet search and needed to schedule a last minute surgery asap. I was able to schedule a visit in Reston quickly for a consultation, then was able to quickly schedule my surgery. I was told I could only remove fibroid via vertical incision – abdominal myomectomy. Dr. MacKoul clearly explained that there was another option and answered all of my questions. He told me my recovery would be anywhere between 7 to 14 days and he was right. Recovery better than expected. I was able to have a day surgery and go home after. Recovery room staff attended to all my needs. My recovery has been great. Also I liked that someone called to check up on me twice during my recovery. Everything was better than expected!

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

March 2nd, 2016

OUTSTANDING

Very thorough. I loved how quickly I was seen and treated. I always felt like everyone was interested in my well-being and comfort. Dr. Mackoul and the nurses were outstanding! It was a lovely, peaceful atmosphere - very calming.

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

February 24th, 2016

Fastest recovery I've ever had!

I had a 19 pound fibroid, but was able to have a laparoscopic procedure! Just a few tiny incisions that I can now barely see. And two weeks of recovery... I was driving in a week!

Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Paul Mackoul is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Reston, VA.

  • Dr. Cathleen Doane-Wilson

    Dr. Cathleen Doane-Wilson

    Obstetrics and Gynecology

    Reston, VA 0 mi

    5.0
    (11)
    37
  • Dr. Gonzalo Romero

    General Surgery

    Reston, VA 0 mi

    5.0
    (1)
    56
  • Dr. Jennifer An

    Obstetrics and Gynecology, Obstetrics

    Reston, VA 0 mi

    5.0
    (2)
    8