Dr. Paul Matsumoto DO Patient Reviews

Overall Rating

3.8
  • 18 patient ratings
  • 8 comments

Last 12 months:

4.5 (+ 0.7)

8 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    56%
  • Satisfied
    17%
  • Neutral
    0%
  • Dissatisfied
    11%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    17%
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Wait Time 19.5 minutes

Showing 1 - 8 reviews

4.0 of 5
April 19th, 2016
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I've been seeing Dr. matsumoto for a couple years and he is one of the most genuinely caring drs. that I have had in quite some time
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
September 12th, 2015
HMO Slaves
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Very rude , do not expect to get a specialist , test or MIR or any lab work unless you push hard , that's how this physician keeps his job in the HMO business , had a knee pain 2years ago he said everything is fine it will heal on its own , now same problem with more pain and more complications and his answer is " there is no problem just going to the specialist or doing an MRI wont show nothing everything seem fine to me , even running some lab work doesn't mean nothing , lab work is just a number , I have many patients have high numbers but actually they do not have a disease , all of this high numbers will trigger a bad cycle for you from going to specialist and doing MRI and more medications, all for nothing I'm telling you , you are fine " and he left the room and I left with my pain doing nothing.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
May 25th, 2013
Punches in & out
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I have been a patient of Dr. Matsumoto's for over 2 years. HIs demeanor/attitude has always been aloof, and while he never struck me as someone interested in his patients, he appeared sufficiently competent. With that being said, the last 2 times I did need to see him, I requested an appointment via the online system 1-2 days prior. In each case his office responds a day later to advise me to go to urgent care as his schedule is full. I have been with Sharp for 7 years - this doc is not emblematic of the "Sharp experience"
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
September 19th, 2012
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I've been seeing Dr. Matsumoto for years and have recommended him to several friends. He's very friendly and personable, and I never feel like he's trying to rush through my appointments. As a D.O. he has training and experience in more hands-on treatments, which have helped me in several cases. I've never had a problem getting in for appointments when I'm sick.I did have one situation where a medication he had prescribed needed additional insurance approval, and it took longer than it should have to get that all resolved, but that's the only issue I've ever had with this office.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
August 1st, 2012
Horrible!
Wait time
35 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
This physician was rude, condesending and overall just acted like I was wasting his time. He spent the better part of telling me how wrong I was about how I was feeling and why. I am a 45 year old female in the beginning stages of menopause. He proceeded to tell me how I was too young for such a thing that only women from about mid 40's (I did mention that I am 45 right?) are in that catagory. I will not see that man EVER again.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
July 30th, 2012
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Matsumoto is very personable and professional. He is a very knowledgeable and caring physician.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
April 27th, 2011
too long to see him
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
3 times called when i was sick unable get in for over week.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
August 6th, 2009
HMO medicine
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Matsumoto does a good job but he's not shy about saying he thinks that giving too many tests is not good medicine. Of course, the HMOs agree with him, but they think it's bad for their bottom line. So if you think you have a serious condition that a checkup shows nothing, you'll need to push for more tests. I had a knee injury, was told to let time heal it and it turned out to be a torn miniscus.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Paul Matsumoto, DO is similar to these 3 Doctors near San Diego, CA.

Doctor

Dr. Rajy Abulhosn

5.0 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Aimee Lopes

4.7 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Tova Steinhauser

13 years experience

4.1 of 5