The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Jan Muizelaar Is this you?

Vitals cannot verify whether or not this professional is currently practicing. We recommend that you attempt to contact the provider to verify their status. Please email us at support@vitals.com if you have any additional information.

Filter Reviews

22 Ratings • 7 Comments

3.3
  • 11
  • 2
  • 0
  • 0
  • 9

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments
Wait Time
27.9 min

Showing 12 of 22 Ratings

Good experience

Posted on April 23rd, 2016

Dr. Muizelaar diagnosed my herniated disc quickly and scheduled the surgery promptly. He was easy to reach and communicate with and made sure I was well taken care of while in the hospital. I am five weeks post-opt and doing remarkably well.

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

No more quality of life.

Posted on April 28th, 2013

I'm not going to say much except that my life has been ruined by this surgeon. The story is too long to get into, but I have no quality of life, range on the pain scale between 7 and 10 all day, every day and choosing this NON-LICENSED doctor was the biggest mistake of my life.

Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Herniated disc surgery

Posted on April 10th, 2013

best surgeon ever. I would trust him with any surgery -he is world renowned.

Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Medical/Surgical Record

Posted on March 4th, 2012

You have a right to your surgical notes and you can ask for them at any time. I bet if you checked you'd find a student actually performed your surgery. The student writes the surgical report details and Dr. M approves them and signs electronically. But check the notes...You may be surprised! I do NOT believe Jan Paul Muizelarr performs ANY surgery. It's a bait and switch by him and UC Davis Medical Center and the Administration knows about it....He is a LIAR!!!!

Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

One Star

Posted on October 23rd, 2011

He is a liar, a flirt and has no integrity. Stay away.

Wait time
30.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Dr, Muizelaar's saved me and kept my life normal

Posted on October 1st, 2011

I am sorry to read bad comments about Dr. Muizelaar. I had an AVM that other surgeons would not touch. My other doctors consulted with staffs at other hospitalsand for over a month, no one could be found that would undertake this surgery. One Friday afternoon I got a call from my main surgeon describing Dr. Muizelaar and gave me a phone number to call. To my surprise, Dr. Muizelaar answered the phone, he rearranged his schedule to meet me on the following Monday. He reviewed my case, looked at x-rays, cts, and answered any and all questions we had (and we had a lot). Over the course of the next few weeks, we met, talked, I was assessed, examined and surgery scheduled. I was always able to get him on the phone when I needed him to answer questions. I reviewed his credentials, qualifications and background and felt very comfortable putting my life in his hands. HE performed my surgery and followed up with me more than I ever expected. HE IS A WONDERFUL DOCTOR!!!

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Find someone else.

Posted on October 1st, 2008

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown

Five Stars

Posted on August 30th, 2016

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown

Four Stars

Posted on July 31st, 2016

Five Stars

Posted on March 27th, 2016

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown

Five Stars

Posted on January 4th, 2016

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown

Five Stars

Posted on July 7th, 2015

  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Jan Muizelaar is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Huntington, WV.